PlayStation Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 889 of over 1,178 reviews

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
PlayStation President and Chief Executive Officer Jim Ryan
Jim Ryan
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, if you focus on it(in 74 reviews)

  • "free games, fun work environment(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not very diverse or supportive of females in senior management positions(in 27 reviews)

  • "work life balance time off away(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing culture and leadership

      Oct 14, 2020 - Software Engineering Manager in Waterloo, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Senior leadership and working environment

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind. Everything is pretty good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      software developer

      May 19, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free coffee, lots of free time.

      Cons

      bad management, no direction, everything else is good

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent Experience

      Nov 8, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong team environment. Strong entrepreneurial culture.

      Cons

      Business subject to greater market conditions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Oct 26, 2021 - Software Development Engineer (SDE) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, interesting problems to solve

      Cons

      Mobility between offices is tricky

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cut your teeth

      Oct 19, 2021 - Cinematic Animator in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Projects, people and location. You will be able to apply to a huge selection of studios if you spend a few years here.

      Cons

      Contract oriented, static pay, no upward mobility or broad knowledge learned. If you want to focus on the core of being a cinematic animator, you do that here. Get in some beach time while you are at it because you may not want to wait five years to move up the ladder or get a raise. It is a well known fact in the studio that you have to leave and come back to get a meaningful raise, and you might find yourself priced out of the studio with how competitive the rest of the industry is now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      How it’s like working for PlayStation

      Oct 16, 2021 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great senior leaders. Very clear top down strategy. Very caring and considerate for employees welfare. Very competitive teams in certain specific division.

      Cons

      Just like any other mature company, slow in pace. Very less growth. Very less aggressive in adopting new technology.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      What

      Oct 14, 2021 - Student in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, nice crew and colleagusz

      Cons

      No cons while i was working

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Sep 28, 2021 - Senior Site Reliability Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to play and work

      Cons

      Nothing to blame. Great company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      My experience, and for a few others…

      Oct 8, 2021 - QA Functional Tester in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A gateway into other more permanent opportunities. Certainly gave me the power to seek something else after my experience. I made a few nice friends there.

      Cons

      Toxic Environment, Poor Training, Favouritism, Lack of Opportunities. People are toxic to one another and step over each other for permanent positions. God forbid you actually get an interview, if you’re not liked even with a lot of experience and knowledge, you won’t be getting the job. Myself and a few other colleagues experienced the poor treatment to a few of us. This usually happened when they were thinking about letting us go just before our 2 years of service under the Yoh contract. Please get rid of agencies and begin to hire your QA staff permanently. The place is too toxic with everyone too scared to be let go, and so resort to trying to obtain a permanent position in any way that they can. Even if they try, if they aren’t very popular or don’t live in Liverpool you can bet 100% they’ll be ignored. Even if they’re hardworking. Seniors do more than the managers, or so that’s how it appeared to me. People always left continously due to feeling underappreciated especially since the start of the pandemic. Where are the thank yous, gifts, and free PS5s which you gave to permanent Sony staff but not Yoh? Oh yes, and half-days, sick pay. Yoh get none of it, just 10p soda cans and a free game once a year. It’s not enough for all the hours and effort we put in for you. They’ll get rid of you if you aren’t pulling your weight, or if you are will move you from title to title with no explanation making the experience harder. Great for CV, but not for work relationships and a sense of overall purpose there. Expect your colleagues to treat you as someone under them; acting like your boss. These are usually the ones who are trying to become a senior and unfortunately it always works. They’ll be horrible and get thanked for it. Like huh? Oh, I had 1 performance review from Yoh after 2 years and it lasted 10 minutes. That’s all I get? Thankfully I handed in my notice whilst being accepted into a studio, and I couldn’t be more happier. The new place is much more welcoming, and actually cares about my progress. So please, if you’re under a temporary contract treat it as temporary and don’t attempt to stay. Unless you have old friends there, which a lot of them did. Filling the whole place with nepotism. If you live outside the area, your chances are much lower. Good luck. But I would avoid if I were you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Sep 20, 2021 - Director in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice, comfy, well, good, awesome

      Cons

      great good, fire, so, out

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 889 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PlayStation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PlayStation? Share Your Experiences

    PlayStation logo
    or