Plan International Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Plan International Canada Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Plan International Canada CEO Caroline Riseboro
Caroline Riseboro
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan International Canada full-time

    Pros

    Such a great working environment - great management and the work that Plan is doing and has been doing, is incredible!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Plan International Canada2018-10-18
  2. "Program Management at Plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan International Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work from home schedule, generous retirement savings plan.

    Cons

    Unrealistic workloads for most of the Program Management team

    Plan International Canada2019-11-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plan International Canada

    Pros

    Good benefits, vacation, sick leave, work from home.

    Cons

    Office politics, very disorganized, poisoned management.

    Plan International Canada2019-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager, Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Plan International Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are passionate about the cause and their work. Incredibly talented people. Amazing team spirit.

    Cons

    Not very highly paid considering the crazy workload - expect to work lots of overtime. If you enjoy the work though, it will be worth it!

    Plan International Canada2019-04-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Business Systems Analyst/Salesforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior BSA in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan International Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The good work that we do here to help children

    Cons

    The limitations of how much we can do to help children

    Plan International Canada2019-03-25
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plan International Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours that work with your schedule

    Cons

    Its a very tedious job

    Plan International Canada2018-11-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission, great people, huge transformation underway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plan International Canada full-time

    Pros

    A high growth org in an overall diminishing market. We’ve spent the past 2-3 years transforming from a small mom and pop mindset with the warmth but with the limitations that entails - including highly incestuous leadership, to a high functioning midsize enterprise with a clear view of our future and what we need to do to achieve it. Building on a really strong core in key areas (Eg international programs), the ... company has put in place nearly all new leadership - from the Board on down - and are starting to see the fruits of this effort. It’s not for the feint of heart - but if you like being on the the leading edge of any industry, and if you like working for a ceo with both passion and expertise, you will love working here

    Show More

    Cons

    Transition is tough. We’ve lost some good people who have decided the challenge of change is not for them. Also - it’s BUSY! This is not the place to ‘retire to’ in order to ‘give back’.

    Advice to Management

    We maybe take on a bit more than we can chew - and should focus more.

    Plan International Canada2018-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If you are professional ... do not go to work at Plan International Canada ! Waist of Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plan International Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office. nice and friendly people. Almost good benefits. Flexible working time.

    Cons

    Soooo Mess !!! Lack of management. Too many project that no one are responsible. easy lay off. Number of managers are more than employee !! lol everyone likes to be manager but they do not have team to manage them, and the manager who has team, they do not know how to manage, just try to make different type of form to organize the work load but finally nothing happen.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of be happy because of hiring many people in last few months, just check how many people has quit their job in last few month ! there should be something wrong that people do not work for many years. at least the management in my team was really awful !!!

    Plan International Canada2018-11-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Plan International Canada full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive atmosphere. Flat team structures. Collaboration encouraged.

    Cons

    Work life balance sometimes difficult to maintain.

    Plan International Canada2018-09-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not worth it - stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plan International Canada

    Pros

    The mission of the charity is fundamentally good.

    Cons

    The people that work there don't even know much about the work they are doing. All work is outsourced. I was hired as an experienced candidate and treated as entry level, given no opportunities to succeed. The salary and benefits are on the low end, even for the non-profit sector.

    Advice to Management

    The on-boarding process is awful and you shouldn't treat your employees as disposable.

    Plan International Canada2018-10-05
Found 35 reviews