Pixar Animation Studios Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pixar Animation Studios Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
Pixar Animation Studios CEO Jim Morris
Jim Morris
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and a beautiful campus(in 22 reviews)

  • "Collaborative work environment, Highly skilled co-workers, Work on inspiring content, Great benefits(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay for the bay area, especially for those that missed the stock years, is hard to make a future with(in 14 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay, and stressful at times(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not a great company if you're young and ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Wonderful people and talented graphics engineers - C++, Python shop - Great work/life balance - Really cool perks. The wrap parties are a blast and the crew gifts are lovely. - It's great working with artists and other non-engineers so closely.

    Cons

    Full disclosure: I'm young and ambitious and it took me a while to finally learn that I should probably be working at a startup instead. - Way lower pay than other tech companies. I know one software engineer who was getting paid 75k a year. - No growth. Pixar hits the holy trinity of never getting promoted: 1) Great place to work for so no one leaves 2) Company is not growing at all nor does it have any... ambitions to grow 3) Everyone wants to work at Pixar Because of that, the feeling of being stifled and underutilized is widely shared among everyone at Pixar. Even people who have been there 25 years can only move horizontally. The number of people who have been there and desperately desire leadership positions but can't get them even after 10 years at Pixar is depressing to see for someone like me. - It's very easy for engineers to simply coast. I know engineers there who are completely comfortable doing the same thing every day without growing and that behavior is actively rewarded. - Poor managerial feedback for how to grow as an employee. - There is a major fear with some teams that their engineers are going to leave for sexier teams inside Pixar which is toxic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to people for them to grow. Management tries to do so but it's challenging. Take more risks.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-08-23
  2. "The best!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every single day I felt so grateful I got to go and be apart of Pixar. I was beyond inspired, between the beautiful grounds & building, the gallery spaces, the lovely light in the atrium, the fantastic food, the amazing artists I got to call my colleagues, I just had a blast. I was only there for 18 months but I enjoyed each and every moment of everyday. I got to contribute to beloved franchises with the... best directors, producers, leadership, and team. I got to work with my heros, incredible artist and developers and an entire studio of people who have been rewarded with awards for their incredible beloved films.

    Show More

    Cons

    It ended! Unfortunately there wasn't a project to catch me and since I was a contract hire, I had to go upon completion of my project.

    Advice to Management

    I believe I had heard there had been some cuts to some long standing perks. I'd reinstate them. Don't be so quick to dismiss long time employees because of a new manager. Show loyalty and investment, it's one of your strength, it's at the heart of the studio. Once you show ruthless cutting it builds fear, and once that fear is there it become part of you culture, and then your employees will spend time and... energy being worried by every little sign or inconsistent comment or behavior and wonder what coming next. It's hard to work efficiently and do great work when people are feeling fear. That fear leads to stress and elevated levels of cortisol, it's not a recipe for health and success of your employees.

    Show More
    Pixar Animation Studios2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stakes are high at the cartoon factory!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Story Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World class staff, great campus & amazing wrap parties!

    Cons

    Long time employees have all hit the glass ceiling and spread out as they’re promoted ‘sideways’ forming a management ‘muffin-top’. The leadership formed the company when young so they still want to keep making films but it causes a bottleneck beneath them and new talent struggles to climb up.

    Advice to Management

    Pay starting salaries that equate to the cost of living in the Bay Area. Diversify the leadership more.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Still Some Culture Work to be Done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and talent. Getting to work here was a dream come true. Lots of fun to be had and nice benefits and campus perks and Disney perks. The culture here is priceless.

    Cons

    All companies have good/bad parts of the culture. I’d say Pixar is working to address their issues but has a long road ahead to fix them. Some teams seem to have more toxic work environments than others. The pay is also shockingly low for the Bay Area and for a successful studio. The attitude seems to be that they can get away with it because the demand for jobs at Pixar is high.

    Advice to Management

    Confront hard truths with the “problem employees” if you really want to take a positive shift in your work culture. And compensate your people better. They work hard for you and in this Bay Area job market the salaries offered just don’t always match up. So many need roommates or spouses to just get by.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-05-23
  5. "Fun and creative Pixar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Texhnical Artist in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great most creative crew here.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Movies, Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Get to bring great movies to audiences. Great benefits package. Great co-workers. Many people still believe in the ideals that led to Pixar's success.

    Cons

    Entrenched leadership, and too much of it. Has gotten increasingly corporate. Too many managers and technical leadership is turning into managers as well. Inability to distinguish mediocre from exceptional employees.

    Advice to Management

    Company is top heavy. Way too much middle management as well. Cut the fat.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-03-24
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful creative environment, great people.

    Cons

    Only baseline pay, challenging path to advancement

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-02-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Enlightening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pixar Animation Studios part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pixar is more diverse than I expected. Employees ( writer, producers,VIP) are treated great Fun place to work

    Cons

    Because it is so fun to work there the pay isn’t very good. In the security department there is definitely a boys club. Can be very unorganized. If you speak about things that are unfair you maybe be let go. If someone has been working with the company over 10 years they are treated like royalty and they can do no wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to everyone’s voice. Just because employees have been there over 10 years does it make what they say right.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-02-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "I feel grateful for my time at Pixar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Emeryville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best job I ever had. Amazing work, even better co-workers. Memories to last a lifetime.

    Cons

    Pay for the bay area, especially for those that missed the stock years, is hard to make a future with. There isn't much chance of owning a home on a Pixar salary no matter who you are. Upward mobility is insanely difficult since very few leave.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to help people have a future to provide and have stability for their family.

    Pixar Animation Studios2019-01-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pixar Animation Studios full-time

    Pros

    Great community. Good Benefits. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other animation studios. Slow growth opportunities.

    Pixar Animation Studios2018-11-14
Found 143 reviews