Pioneer Hybrid International Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pioneer Hybrid International Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Pioneer Hybrid International CEO Paul E. Schickler
Paul E. Schickler
184 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, no advancement, constant changes in head count(in 21 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations of what can be done with little resources (monetary and staffing)(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice environment awesome salry super

    Cons

    no cons good ppl super

    Pioneer Hybrid International2019-09-02
  2. "Extensive Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company had a fairly supportive working environment and encouraged continuing education. Focus on quality research and products.

    Cons

    Work life balance wasn't ideal and extensive overtime is expected. Upper management has unrealistic expectations of what can be done with little resources (monetary and staffing). Extensive change has led to instability during the recent merger and spin.

    Advice to Management

    Respect for People used to be held as a core value of the company and should be given greater focus again for the sake of employee retention.

    Pioneer Hybrid International2019-09-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Carman, MB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    fee like stress full environment

    Advice to Management

    need to create more growth opportunities

    Pioneer Hybrid International2018-02-14
  4. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Associate in Saskatoon, SK
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to grow and they will pay for school. They are very safety conscious. Most of the employees are great to work with.

    Cons

    Was laid off while on maternity leave. I had 1 month left. And kept everyone except for me. They decided to keep 4 receptionists for 2 positions.

    Advice to Management

    Read the rules on sexual harassment in work place and laying off people while they are pregnant.

    Pioneer Hybrid International2017-12-18
  5. "Account Manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Now that the merger is complete I am seeing tremendous action and energy from leadership. Compensation, benefits and vacation are competitive. Great people.

    Cons

    The number of hours of work required at times is too much.

    Advice to Management

    Having Canadian leadership present as much as they are is very positive. I like the fact I can call or email the country leader and he responds, please continue to do this. Keep us up to date on what is happening as a new company. Be prepared for the long haul that is Ag, and manage accordingly.

    Pioneer Hybrid International2017-10-26
  6. "Research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time

    Pros

    Good emphasis on safety in the company.

    Cons

    excessive overtime required, lots of pressure

    Pioneer Hybrid International2017-10-03
  7. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    during peak times have to work long hours

    Pioneer Hybrid International2017-06-27
  8. "Once a great company, now going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in Woodstock, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people to work with - Nice benefits - Very competitive salary - PTO* - Company cellphone (if you count that as a pro)

    Cons

    - Time to take PTO is very narrow. The company has many 'peak' times of the year where it's impossible to take PTO in - Management are clock-watchers. Despite the amount of overtime put in during peak periods, very strict clock-watching still happens during non-peak times when the workload is small. - The merger with Dow is causing company-wide cuts in both employees and funding - Very long hours during peak... times - Heat and humidity during summer/fall with field notes, pollination, and harvest is awful

    Show More
    Pioneer Hybrid International2017-02-27
  9. "Ag consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ag Consulting in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth with good training programs...the Dow Dupont merger will bring more opportunities....grest start for young employees to learn a multinational business environment....

    Cons

    Big company can cause loss of identity

    Advice to Management

    Always respect employees individuality

    Pioneer Hybrid International2016-08-05
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Pioneer Hybrid International

    Pros

    Great work conditions very rewarding

    Cons

    Communication between employee is not always simple. Very big company

    Pioneer Hybrid International2016-05-30
Found 435 reviews