Pima Medical Institute Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pima Medical Institute President and CEO Fred Freedman
Fred Freedman
240 Ratings
Pros
  • "The culture is driven by an employee-owned mindset and on all of the campuses that I've been to, you feel the sense of family and teamwork(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and support from upper management(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are no cons to working here(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have no complaints about working at Pima(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      BEST PLACE TO WORK

      Apr 27, 2021 - Admission Support Center Specialist in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is the best. No micromanaging!

      Cons

      I don't have any cons, I love my job, management and coworkers!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Pima Medical Institute Response

      Human Resources Coordinator

      Thank you! We strive to be the best for our students and employees. We appreciate you sharing your experience as a PMI employee.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Marketing Team Review

      Apr 28, 2021 - Digital Marketing Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great pay and benefits - ESOP employee ownership program with a 5-year vesting - Lots of opportunity to be successful (because things are a mess)

      Cons

      - No structure, organization, or accountability - Everything moves SO SLOW -- bottleneck of workflow that prohibits collaboration, agility, or progress - Poor communication -- all employees/departments work in silos, all communication flows through one funnel - No planning or forecasting, reporting or analysis, or focused strategy of any kind - The culture does not value teamwork, logic, or knowledge - Many employees been in positions for 10-20 years -- no innovation, understanding of market, or drive

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Pima Medical Institute Response

      President/CEO

      We're very sorry that your tenure with PMI wasn't the positive experience others enjoy. Since we have not had departures from our Marketing team recently, it seems this may not be a new complaint. I strongly encourage you to reach out to me directly to share your concerns and suggestions for improvement. Thank you. Fred Freedman President/CEO ffreedman@pmi.edu

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful Place to Work!

      Apr 22, 2021 - ASC Coordinator in Mesa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive management, lots of opportunities for career growth, an employee-owned company. I feel like I've found a "family" at Pima Medical Institute and would recommend working here to anyone.

      Cons

      There is literally no downside to working at Pima Medical Institute.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A company that does things the right way

      Jan 19, 2021 - Instructor in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provide an excellent compensation "package". Potential employees should really take time to understand the full benefit package and not just the stated hourly rate. The HR department is excellent and upper management is very pro-employee. This family-style, employee-focused culture has remained steady since the early days of PMI. The founders of this company established this culture. The instructors I interact with in other departments are talented professionals who work very hard for their students.

      Cons

      This is not really a con, but be prepared to work hard in a different kind of way if you are used to working in a clinical environment. This is not an auto-pilot kind of job. Even seasoned instructors have to keep learning, growing and improving. It's constant. There's no other option if your intent is to be of service to our students.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Finally!

      Dec 22, 2020 - MDA Instructor in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Majority employee owned Great benefits Competitive pay scales Competent Management Opportunities for advancement True appreciation and acknowledgment. Being in the medical field for 10 years, I’ve seen the good and a lot of the bad companies out there. I’ve worked in CO for 20 years in different fields and I can honestly say that Pima is the best company I’ve ever worked for. They take care of and truly value their employees. The support and open communication from management is refreshing. The benefits are great and the 401K options are unheard of. The CEO is involved and has actually participated in company meetings and get togethers (via zoom) to introduce himself and connect with everyone. I have finally found a company I am proud and happy to say I am a part of!

      Cons

      The only con I have is, my training when I started was lacking but it was due to COVID and 5 staff left because they didn’t want to teach online. The one staff person that knew my position was one of them. But my manager stepped up and connected me with resources at other sites and did whatever she could to help me.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A solid employee-owned company

      Mar 26, 2021 - Medical Assistant Instructor in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very transparnt with employees about financial reports

      Cons

      A bit slow to innovate and adopt modern practices. Pay is also slightly imbalanced between certificate and degree programs.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Where has PMI been all my life?!

      Dec 22, 2020 - Corporate Education in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I LOVE working for PMI. This organization makes you feel truly valued. The employees are caring, considerate, supportive, and professional. Communication is very important to PMI, so you never feel like you're out of the loop. Whenever there is a project, everyone helps each other and it really feels like a team environment. My supervisor is kind and provides excellent guidance. PMI makes me feel like they are actually invested in me as an employee AND as a person. They want you to succeed! The work environment is very positive, even while working remotely through these strange times. I have never been happier. If you're on the fence about applying or accepting a position, go for it! You won't be disappointed.

      Cons

      I haven't experienced any cons!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Teamwork

      Apr 16, 2021 - Instructor, College Or University in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pima cares about their employees and the success of their students.

      Cons

      Their technology for their employees is lacking.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Pima Proud and Grateful

      Dec 22, 2020 - Career Services Coordinator in San Marcos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many years ago, I had to make a decision to either stay with my old company or take a chance on a new school that was moving into the area called Pima Medical Institute. After much research and consideration, I took the chance and made the move. Almost 5 years later I am so grateful that I made the decision to come work for Pima. What really amazes me is the integrity of our company. I love the open book management style and I always feel that I am part of something bigger.

      Cons

      None that I can list.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Always treating clients and employees right!

      Dec 21, 2020 - Full Time Faculty in Chula Vista, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pima provides the best education for students desiring to enter the medical field - across the nation! Pima has corporate and local leaders that provide constant support for their staff and faculty. 2020 has been a difficult year for so many companies, but Pima Medical Institute continues to give their students what they need, to help them become the best professionals possible, while demonstrating gratitude and respect for all of their employees. It's the best company I have ever worked for.

      Cons

      I cannot think of any negative aspects of working for Pima Medical Institute.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 322 Reviews

    Work at Pima Medical Institute? Share Your Experiences

    Pima Medical Institute logo
    or