Pier 1 Imports Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 of over 2,830 reviews

3.8
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Pier 1 Imports CEO and Director Robert Riesbeck (no image)
Robert Riesbeck
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount was really good(in 185 reviews)

  • "it is a great work environment to work at(in 117 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The credit card pushing was tough(in 367 reviews)

  • "not great hours to work as a part time job(in 126 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Give full availability, get part-time hours

      Sep 6, 2018 - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Surrounded by beautiful stuff while you work. Other staff are friendly (not competitive).

      Cons

      Had almost no say in being scheduled for part-time work, which meant you had to be available any time, but would actually end up with 10-16 hrs of work. Was not able to take the initiative to switch inconvenient shifts with coworkers. Can't say if this was my store only or company-wide.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      cashier, sales consultant

      Aug 31, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great store atmosphere, positive people. Satisfying helping customers feel good about their in store choices. Manager was very positive and even did hands on training herself. the discount was good.

      Cons

      The pay is low, and sometimes the hours were hard to come by, however i was hired for part time. Unfortunately the benefits were minimal for me.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a long term job

      May 11, 2015 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The discount is good, although products are quite expensive - Most of the staff are extremely positive and supportive of one another - As a part-time associate it is easy to request time off (personal experience, this is dependent on your managers and how long you have worked at the location)

      Cons

      - Products can be quite overpriced, therefore leading to angry/annoyed customers - At times it can be extremely slow and the job can become monotonous - Flex or on call shifts, requiring you to call in hours before your scheduled shift to see if you are needed - A lot more labour intensive than you would think (moving furniture, displays, garbage, truck duties) - Minimum wage salaries and limited room for growth within the company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      probably good to shop at...horrible to work for!

      Jul 10, 2013 - Store Associate in North Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Visually the products were nice to work around A few other staff members

      Cons

      I have since graduated University and am working an office job but prior to that I worked lots of part time retail jobs and this was the worst! I would first like to say that I was not a university student disinclined to work, nor was I entitled or reluctant to work a part time job because of the nature of eventually having a degree. I want to make that clear since that has been my experience with other students who tend to complain about work due to laziness and lack of interest in a position that does not lead to their ultimate career choice. The store manager at my location as a joke: rude, demeaning,obsessive, arrogant and offensive. They have flex shifts so you ay be scheduled 1-6 with a flex till 9 but they wont tell you until 4 if you have to stay. I was told this wouldn't happen often but it was every shift. That manager thought she was saving the world it was unreal. So much bad mouthing and drama creation to fill her time sitting in her office (which was most of the time). So rude to the staff and treated other managers and shift leaders like dirt. The delivery system was useless so there were always complaints! never enough people staffed. Unreasonable hours/breaks. I ended up walking out after a conversation with my manager on a day I had come in outside of my availability to help. I felt my personal life was invaded during the conversation, under appreciated and dis respected!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      No Wonder they went out of business!

      Nov 18, 2010 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hours are very flexible there, as expected in part-time retail. There was a lot of freedom to take on new tasks. Middle management was great -- made some great friends and learned a lot. Also, the staff discount was great. This is a good company to work for if you do not want to become invested in a career. Part time or seasonal at Christmas is the most I would do.

      Cons

      The store manager should have been let go years before I came on board. Thankfully middle-management was there to pick up the pieces for her. The store I was working for closed, partially due to the store manager, and partially due to the company doing poorly overall. This could have been a great place to work if the highers up kept a closer eye on the manager. She was ridiculous. She even kept her dog in the office where it would bark and make messes all day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pier 1 Imports Review

      Jan 23, 2021 - Retail Store Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very friendly staff and good working environmenet

      Cons

      not great hours to work as a part time job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Fun place to work

      Jan 14, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment, flexible hours, and good discount

      Cons

      Minimum wage pay, only offer part time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Jan 10, 2021 - Back Room Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always doing something, a great place to work

      Cons

      really no cons, just hard to get hours part time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not that great to be honest.

      Oct 14, 2020 - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was fun when I first started, but once corporate changed their staffing, they started to care about employees less and less.

      Cons

      Little to no employee discount, constantly understaffed making it hard to take time off, poorly managed, no benefits for part time employees, no bonuses, and very low pay compared to the standard for retail employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun part time job for variety

      Sep 9, 2020 - Sales Associate in Roseville, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun part time job for variety

      Cons

      physical work for low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 180 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pier 1 Imports Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pier 1 Imports? Share Your Experiences

    Pier 1 Imports logo
    or