Phillips 66 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Phillips 66 Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 397 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Phillips 66 CEO Greg C. Garland
Greg C. Garland
232 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is definitely tilted towards work(in 12 reviews)

  • "Maybe because they are Houston based(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "it was a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Station Attendant in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Phillips 66 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it paid. never got robbed

    Cons

    it was working as a gas station. the places down the street got robbed.

    Advice to Management

    none. your doing good.

    Phillips 662019-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sometimes............"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Phillips 66

    Pros

    The Pay Scale is very good

    Cons

    Management could work with the workers more

    Advice to Management

    Take your employees word over a contractor

    Phillips 662019-08-12
  3. "Amazing company, amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well-defined culture that's marked by a willingness to get the job the done, not letting co-workers down and safety. The hands down, best medical insurance plan ever. Awesome benefits - especially 401k match

    Cons

    Slow to incorporate new technology. Salary doesn't look great on paper you need to look at the comprehensive benefits package to get the full picture of compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees and incorporating feedback. You're doing a great job of leading this company.

    Phillips 662019-07-26
  4. "Perfect job if you can handle some stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Lab Tester in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phillips 66 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, compensation is area-leading

    Cons

    Rotating shifts, work can be stressful

    Phillips 662019-07-22
  5. "Excellent Benefits, Family Feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Bartlesville, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phillips 66 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I've had the opportunity to work with! Not to mention an excellent 401k, Pension, health, etc.

    Cons

    Lots of changes going on through the company

    Phillips 662019-07-19
  6. "Stepping Stone To Greatness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Getting to go home at the end of the day. New Showcase building in the middle of west chase.

    Cons

    Silo'd managing ensures that once you are in Operations, you are there to stay. They hire outside to promote to try to stay fresh which is a literal "ticket to ride" for turnover. Nobody wants to stay at an organization that doesn't respect career longevity and promote from within. This practice of pigeon-holing Midstream Operations employees has plagued this organization for decades. They bring in managers that are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop hiring outside and promoting those individuals over the employees who have earned those positions. This practice is a disgrace to the industry and laughable when it comes to employee experience in the industy. You will continue to be the punchline not the excpetion in petroleum until you wake up about longevity.

    Phillips 662019-08-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, but if you are a great employee and stay there too long they might just lay you off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved working there. Great upper management and people. I worked my hind end off and got promoted for it.

    Cons

    I worked my hind end off and got promoted for it. As usual, some bean-counters came in and thought the company could save some money if they laid off about 15 percent of the work-force.

    Advice to Management

    In the long run, it was not the way to go. The stock price fell 40 bucks after the lay offs. Upgrade tech is a great idea. Down-sizing the people that made your company great is not.

    Phillips 662019-07-16
  8. "Can't complete with Bay Area wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    19/30 schedule 401k matching Good internship program

    Cons

    High intensity work compensation is not hour for hour Can't compete with Silicon Valley benefits and compensation

    Phillips 662019-07-15
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, If you were willing to move, there are lots of opportunities for promotion. Lots of responsibility and interesting work.

    Cons

    As in any company, some supervisors are better/easier to work for than others and are more or less supportive. The company is currently rolling out an initiative focused on leadership behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Rather than focusing so much of your efforts on younger talent, continue to develop, promote and give salary increases to long-term employees experienced employees and use their knowledge to help train the future workforce.

    Phillips 662019-06-25
  10. "bullied then lied to by management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Phillips 66 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good package for the area

    Cons

    bullied by supervisor to the point i had to resign then sent a letter which contained lies about a meeting with the BTL

    Phillips 662019-07-24
Found 397 reviews