Philip Morris International Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Philip Morris International Chief Executive Officer André Calantzopoulos
André Calantzopoulos
554 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working environment pleasant for innovative product development in a Pharma settings(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, good salary, relocation opportunities(in 69 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "International, scientific, breaktrough and dynamic working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International, innovative, dynamic, professionals stimulating and oriented to costumers

    Cons

    Lines of communication, double roles, not clear hierarchy

    Continue reading

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 24, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi, there. Thank you for your 5-star review! We are happy to know that you are enjoying the company transformation and that you are professionally stimulated in your role. Our people are our greatest asset, and we want to ensure we can provide them with a positive work environment and career development. We are sorry to hear that the hierarchy and communication lines are unclear. We would advise you to speak to your line manager or HR contact regarding these issues. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future career and why don't you stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

  2. "Overall Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Benefits and Growth

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Philip Morris International Response

    November 13, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hello there! Thank you for the positive 5-star review! We are very happy that you are overall satisfied with your experience at PMI. It is also great to hear that you would recommend us to your peers and that you enjoy the development opportunities we offer. Thank you again for your feedback and why not follow us on social media @insidePMI to stay tuned.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Run away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay work was always different

    Cons

    Management was all over the place. No direction

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 27, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the company benefits working at PMI, for more than 5 years. However, we are truly sorry to hear you are not happy with your overall experience and with the management. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. We wish you continued success in the future and thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  4. "Great Benefits at giant corporation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Pension Plan, Opportunities to move around

    Cons

    Big corporation, red tape, just a small pound in a big ocean, undergoing transgormation

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 9, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review — much appreciated! We're glad to hear you are profiting from many company benefits like the opportunities to relocate and the pension plan. Nonetheless, we take into consideration your comment regarding management and the company size. We try to create a strong management team that will inspire people and lead to successful change. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty.

  5. "Wouldn’t recommend working for the company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people, Fair pay, Fantastic benefits

    Cons

    Culture is toxic Unrealistic expectations on a niche product (IQOS) in Canada Silo approach to leadership/communication

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 27, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to read you enjoyed the benefits of working at PMI and the were satisfied with your colleagues, for over 10 years. However, we are truly sorry to hear you are not happy with your overall experience working at PMI and the leadership in the Canada offices. As you know, we are currently going through a massive transformation. It's a very exciting period but it does indeed come together with some uncertainties. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Overall compensation package is above average. However company culture is toxic."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Lead in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compensation is the top motivation of working for this company.

    Cons

    To succeed in this company, relationship and partisan are the two top factors.

    Philip Morris International Response

    February 7, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to read you have been enjoying the benefits of working at PMI, for over 8 years now. However, we are sorry to hear that you feel relationships are a top factor to succeed and that this is a con. We take this very seriously and encourage to speak up and report any compliance issue. Alternatively, do not hesitate to go talk to your line manager or your HR contact person. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  7. "Nepotism in the Toronto office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits to compensate for all the cons.

    Cons

    An overwhelming majority of employees working in the Toronto office have been hired on or promoted due to the fact that they are either a daughter, wife, son of, brother-in-law of another employee. Nepotism rules in this company, and if you are not related to another employee, your chances of getting hired or promoted are very slim.

    Continue reading

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 17, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you are able to enjoy the benefits PMI has to offer and that they compensate all inconveniences. However, we are very sad that you hear that you feel there is nepotism in the Toronto office, we take this very seriously and encourage to speak up and report compliance issues. Alternatively, do not hesitate to go talk to your line manager or your HR contact person. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

  8. "Change positions and get move in your expertise"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    big projects with advanced approach good remuneration

    Cons

    regulated thus limited in possibilities to promote product staying for too long in this Company will reduce your expertise to inner frames of this business

    Continue reading

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 10, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed the company benefits and feel you were able to contribute to big projects. This is one of our main goals that we aim to achieve within each department across the company. However, we are sorry to hear you feel that your expertise did not develop enough with your time with us. Furthermore, it's great to see that you would recommend us. Why not follow us on social media @insidePMI to stay tuned! :)We thank you again for your time and wish you all the best!

  9. "RBH and affiliate of PMI"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging and Graphic Design in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Tobacco and government laws in Canada are hurting this company

    Continue reading

    Philip Morris International Response

    December 30, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad that you enjoyed the company benefits. As you know, during periods of transformation, it is true that there are many uncertainties. However, we try to create a strong management team that will inspire people and lead to successful change.Once again, thank you for writing a review.

  10. "Fun company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, opportunity to be on pilot tests and projects, different initiatives and priorities every quarter. Company car, salary + bonus, 4 weeks vacation to start (3 + Christmas)

    Cons

    No financial incentive to move into a head office role. Raises are poor.

    Philip Morris International Response

    November 6, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review — much appreciated! We're glad to hear you are enjoying your time at PMI and that you find it a fun environment to work in. We are also pleased to hear you are able to enjoy the company benefits and profit from working on different projects. Nonetheless, we take into consideration your comment regarding financial incentives and the raises within the company, and we advise you to reach out to your line manager or HR. We wish you continued success and thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review and why not stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

Found 1097 reviews