Petro Stopping Centers Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 26 reviews

2.7
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Petro Stopping Centers Chairman and CEO Jack Cardwell Sr. (no image)
Jack Cardwell Sr.
11 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Okay

    Aug 18, 2019 - Diesel Technician in Reno, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make as much money as you want and as many hours as you want

    Cons

    They can’t hire anyone so it’s kinda stressful. Plus most truck drivers are entitled and constantly leave you bad reviews to try and get you fired for them having to wait in line like everyone else

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Wish I could give 0 stars..

    Aug 15, 2019 - Assistant Store Manager in Effingham, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Too many chiefs not enough Indians. Very few working managers, outrageous cockroach problem that is ignored.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    BEWARE

    Mar 30, 2017 - Deli in Kingman, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    About only pro are discounts.

    Cons

    Worked at Petro in Kingman Arizona for 2 years. Recently it has gone downhill. One of the managers does not know what she is doing. Has no idea how to make out a schedule. Talks down to employees. When talking to us she will say "Does that make sense?" I feel like she is talking down to me. No one likes her. Some co workers never have to be cashier. No matter how busy we get. There are two people who only cashier 2 times a month long enough to get the required 2 audits in. I have seen people cashier 2-3 hours alone, all because these 2 refuse to take a drawer. Everyone should be required to cashier once a week. None of us like to cashier. A few people have quit because of her. And several are looking for new jobs. Including me. Her system of working stations is not working for this environment. It may work in some food service environments, but not here. I used to like working at Petro, now I hate it. The managers are always watching our every move on camera. If she does not like you, there is no chance for you to advance no matter how hard of a worker you are. Team work and being friendly to the customers is the key to a successful business.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Terrible, no raises, no praise, all negative

    Mar 6, 2012 - Cashier - Deli in Waterloo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only reason to work here is if you're desperate or have no education other than a GED or HS diploma.

    Cons

    Communication is filtered negatively from management. Supervisor walks around with an angry look all day shaking her head. As a Deli Clerk I run the cash register, cook all of the food (breakfast and lunch), serve all of the food to customers, wait on customers for other things, wash all of the dishes, do inventory, check in the food delivery... essentially I do everything but am given absolutely no opportunity for advancement ad have been there over 2 years and haven't received a single cent for my efforts. Customers love me. I wish I could say I feel the same about the way I feel about this company. Fie;d manager was even in for an in service a few weeks ago and told employees not to call the 800 number to complain about management or issues at work and the reason being that he has to field 4 or 5 phone calls to investigate matters. In other words, he doesn't want his superiors to know how pathetic people are treated at this establishment. It's disgusting. Go elsewhere unless, as I said... you are dumb or desperate.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Stepping stone for some and career for others.

    Jan 6, 2015 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Immediate supervisors were fair and very supportive is many ways. Needed time off usually granted in exchange for covering missing staff shifts. Local place of business frequently had high praise from all visitors for service and cleanliness.

    Cons

    Hours vary greatly with staggered shifts. OT not permitted for part-time employees. Advancement often after years of training/service. Specific benefits with little choice. Territory managers value rules and profit over employees and have cut staff thus failing to meet customer needs. "Their way or the highway" attitude have lost many good employee and manager positions.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great advancement opportunities

    Nov 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Career advancement opportunities, if willing to put the time and effort into it. Fast paced. Many locations to choose from all over the US. Lots of great customers (although there can be some no so great ones too). Health benefits, 401K, and employee discounts on merchandise, food, and gas.

    Cons

    Some shifts can be extremely busy to the point of frustration. Some locations have less team-work atmosphere than others. Rarely are there set schedules. While most customers are great, there are some who are awful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great boss,,,,thats' it.

    Aug 26, 2011 - Lead Server in Monee, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my boss. If it was not for her I would not have worked there as long as I did.

    Cons

    It takes a certain person to be able to work in a truck stop so this job is not for everyone. You can make OK money because there is a high turnover of tables but it is HARD work! You run your butt off and deal w/ alot of creeps. We do get benifits so thats a plus but besides that, I'd say it's not worth it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Interesting to say the least.

    Nov 20, 2014 - Fuel Island Cashier in Ocala, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Manager is a great guy. He is flexible with the schedule. Store Discount is nice too. The discount on gas and diesel fuel is pretty good. The customers are pretty cool and you get to know them. Im not Full Time so I cant comment on the benefits.

    Cons

    The Hours. Part Time is limited to 29 hours and if you go over you get your hours cut. The customers are rude sometimes. The scheduling is out dated.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    working at Petro

    Dec 24, 2009 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a twenty four hour establishment, the ability to have a flexible schedule works for those with another job and need that type of atmosphere.

    Cons

    The flexibility of hours is a bleesing and a curse. Working holidays and weekends can be a drag and it seems some people are not made to work them as much as others even when holidays and weekends are put on their availibility portion of their application.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Kitchen Manager

    Apr 19, 2014 - Kitchen Manager in Greensburg, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay, It's way better since TA megerd. I love working there. I have a BS of nutrition science and I really do use it every day. I love the people I work with as well as local citizins and professional drivers. I've been there for about 4 yrs and won't quit until they make me. I would recommend working there to everyone.

    Cons

    Can't think of any. I would recommend all my friends. Love all management. Best FM possible.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Work at Petro Stopping Centers? Share Your Experiences

Petro Stopping Centers logo
or