PetSmart Employee Reviews about "working with animals"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
639 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals is fun, schedule is flexible(in 456 reviews)

  • "Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work(in 187 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management that did not care for the animals' safety as much as the bottom line(in 469 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 286 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "working with animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best job I’ve ever had!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart

    Pros

    Work with animals daily Co workers are amazing and easy to get along with Good opportunities for advancement Recognized for hard work Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Employees call in sick a lot but I found that to be good because I got to pick up extra hours so it’s not really a con 😏

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I love working here!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, great to work with animals

    Cons

    Sometimes it’s hard working with dogs as they can be aggressive


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Too High of Expectations and Terrible Policy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Engagement Manager in Nanaimo, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with animals, see the cutest come into the store. Learn about products that benefit many different types of animals.

    Cons

    Not allowed to be friends with coworkers. No team events/bbqs.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    January 11, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a thoughtful review and are very sorry to hear this was your experience. We want to connect with you via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can try to help, as this is not in line with our values. Thank you so much for everything you did for pets and pet parents that came into the store.

  4. "Could be better, could be worse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with animals Pays above minimum for entry positions Good way to get animal experience to break into that industry

    Cons

    Upper management puts a lot of responsibility and pressure on lower management Some deadlines for projects are unrealistic Animals in small animal department are not properly cared for

    PetSmart Response

    October 21, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention and would like to speak with you more. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you!

  5. "nice to work with pets but hard to get full time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    fun team, work with animals, work with humane society, make friends

    Cons

    pay is not too good, management wont let me go full time

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    July 21, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share and bringing your experience to our attention. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to speak further about the things mentioned above.

  6. "Company seems to be betraying its values: Disorganized, cuts hours, poor communication"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, being able to recommend proper care for animals. Friendly coworkers. Select managers were kind and encouraging.

    Cons

    Extremely disorganized management, over 4 weeks late on final pay check. Scheduling is a mess, doesn’t respect availability. Cuts hours for long time employees but continues to hire new people. Has forces people to come in when they are ill even when given appropriate notice and workers are penalized if they stand up for their rights. Does not provide actual proper knowledge and training for petcare. Does not schedule enough time to properly close petcare meaning that animals are not properly taken care of and employees are held to unfair standards. It shows that the values of the company have shifted.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so sorry that this was your experience at PetSmart. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can learn more about your time with us. We value your contributions in helping to make pet lives happy and healthy and appreciate you taking the time.

  7. "Good job that was ruined by unorganization and awful management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pets Hotel Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Surrounded by animals (if you love them). If you've had a bad day you still get to see silly, smiling puppies. 2. A proper company, never sketchy and don't have to worry about things like hours being cut each paycheck, every higher operation like payroll is by the book. 3. The people who work with animals are very like-minded and love animals, almost every employee was a joy to be around.

    Cons

    1. They throw you in without explanation, and if you make a mistake it's a dog that's at risk of the mistake 2. They leave you alone with the dogs, especially as a new employee. I was the only one around for a dog fight, I was put at fault because "how could you not know that breed has a high prey drive?" 3. Management is very aggressive, at least when I was there. 4. Management leaves you to do everything in the back, if you need help it's an annoyance (you're left walking 75 dogs, cleaning the messes they made if they puked or peed in their room which is always a lot of dogs, collecting and cleaning all the food dishes, cleaning the kitchen, hallways, checkouts, grooming, cleaning all the cats rooms, etc. within maybe 2 hours by yourself)

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 18, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. We're very sorry that this was your experience and would like to speak further about some of the things you mentioned above. Please feel free to call the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  8. "Why do you want to work at Petsmart"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in West Vancouver, BC

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to work with animals. Has full benefits for management team. A lot to learn about how to take care of an array of different animals.

    Cons

    No team building, no get togethers, or incentives. Expect you to always work a little extra without pay. Goals are unachievable yet they say you will get quarterly bonuses.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    November 7, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    I'm sorry to hear you aren't enjoying your time at PetSmart. Definitely speak with your management team or the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as both can help. We value the contributions of all our associates in helping to make pets' lives happy and healthy and would like to learn more about your experience. Thank you for taking the time.

  9. "Petsmart is a good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandsing and Inventory Leader in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with animals Flexible Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Low hours Paid weekly paid minimum wage

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    We love working at PetSmart, as well! Interacting with animals each day makes the job so special! Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled to hear it was so positive!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "ok"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to work with animals co workers are usually awesome and also animal lovers you can educate people to properly take care of animals

    Cons

    the conditions for the animals are eh, if you are an enthusiast you will get upset bad customers are at the expense of living breathing animals some of the fish available should NOT be sold at all.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    October 17, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the review. That's great to hear you enjoyed working with pets and your co-workers. Thank you, also, for the feedback. Please know, you can always share via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 454 Reviews

Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

Dog Groomer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Merchandising and Inventory Manager
Learn About the Job

Work at PetSmart? Share Your Experiences

PetSmart logo
or