PetSmart "working with animals" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Employee Reviews about "working with animals"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
320 Ratings
Pros
  • "99% of your customers are awesomely happy to be buying things for their pets(in 802 reviews)

  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 394 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 409 reviews)

  • "It's also hard when you haver really strong or aggressive dogs(in 248 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working with animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best job I’ve ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart

    Pros

    Work with animals daily Co workers are amazing and easy to get along with Good opportunities for advancement Recognized for hard work Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Employees call in sick a lot but I found that to be good because I got to pick up extra hours so it’s not really a con 😏

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-04-04
  2. "Company seems to be betraying its values: Disorganized, cuts hours, poor communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, being able to recommend proper care for animals. Friendly coworkers. Select managers were kind and encouraging.

    Cons

    Extremely disorganized management, over 4 weeks late on final pay check. Scheduling is a mess, doesn’t respect availability. Cuts hours for long time employees but continues to hire new people. Has forces people to come in when they are ill even when given appropriate notice and workers are penalized if they stand up for their rights. Does not provide actual proper knowledge and training for petcare. Does not schedule enough time to properly close petcare meaning that animals are not properly taken care of and employees are held to unfair standards. It shows that the values of the company have shifted.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-01-06

    PetSmart Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so sorry that this was your experience at PetSmart. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can learn more about your time with us. We value your contributions in helping to make pet lives happy and healthy and appreciate you taking the time.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good job that was ruined by unorganization and awful management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pets Hotel Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Surrounded by animals (if you love them). If you've had a bad day you still get to see silly, smiling puppies. 2. A proper company, never sketchy and don't have to worry about things like hours being cut each paycheck, every higher operation like payroll is by the book. 3. The people who work with animals are very like-minded and love animals, almost every employee was a joy to be around.

    Cons

    1. They throw you in without explanation, and if you make a mistake it's a dog that's at risk of the mistake 2. They leave you alone with the dogs, especially as a new employee. I was the only one around for a dog fight, I was put at fault because "how could you not know that breed has a high prey drive?" 3. Management is very aggressive, at least when I was there. 4. Management leaves you to do everything in the back, if you need help it's an annoyance (you're left walking 75 dogs, cleaning the messes they made if they puked or peed in their room which is always a lot of dogs, collecting and cleaning all the food dishes, cleaning the kitchen, hallways, checkouts, grooming, cleaning all the cats rooms, etc. within maybe 2 hours by yourself)

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-12-14

    PetSmart Response

    December 18, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. We're very sorry that this was your experience and would like to speak further about some of the things you mentioned above. Please feel free to call the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    Continue reading
  4. "Why do you want to work at Petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in West Vancouver, BC

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to work with animals. Has full benefits for management team. A lot to learn about how to take care of an array of different animals.

    Cons

    No team building, no get togethers, or incentives. Expect you to always work a little extra without pay. Goals are unachievable yet they say you will get quarterly bonuses.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-11-06

    PetSmart Response

    November 7, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    I'm sorry to hear you aren't enjoying your time at PetSmart. Definitely speak with your management team or the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as both can help. We value the contributions of all our associates in helping to make pets' lives happy and healthy and would like to learn more about your experience. Thank you for taking the time.

    Continue reading
  5. "Petsmart is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandsing and Inventory Leader in Medicine Hat, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with animals Flexible Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Low hours Paid weekly paid minimum wage

    PetSmart2019-08-24

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    We love working at PetSmart, as well! Interacting with animals each day makes the job so special! Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled to hear it was so positive!

    Continue reading
  6. "Pet care specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    love working with animals and i'm learning a lot about animal care and customer service

    Cons

    hours are short, hard to get promotions or raises.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-02-22

    PetSmart Response

    February 27, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. That's wonderful to hear that you've learned a lot during your time at PetSmart. Working with pets and pet parents is so special and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to work with animals co workers are usually awesome and also animal lovers you can educate people to properly take care of animals

    Cons

    the conditions for the animals are eh, if you are an enthusiast you will get upset bad customers are at the expense of living breathing animals some of the fish available should NOT be sold at all.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-10-13

    PetSmart Response

    October 17, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the review. That's great to hear you enjoyed working with pets and your co-workers. Thank you, also, for the feedback. Please know, you can always share via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Store leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with animals and people.

    Cons

    Pets and people are not the priority anymore, (They use to be). Money is all that is important.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-07-26

    PetSmart Response

    July 26, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Our primary focus is on pets and pet parents, and I can see how this could concern you. We are always looking for ways to improve, so we’ll share this feedback with the appropriate team members. Thank you, again, for taking the time. If you'd like to share more, please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good work but terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Specialist in Moncton, NB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work with animals -Lots of talking with customers about pets

    Cons

    -They do not hire full-time employees, so they do not have to give any benefits -15-25 hours/week -minimum wage

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2017-09-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Poor place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Most coworkers are great to work with. Get to work with animals

    Cons

    Company used to be a great place to work. They have made so many changes in the last year it is a terrible place to work.

    PetSmart2017-08-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 394 reviews