PetSmart "pets" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Employee Reviews about "pets"

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4460 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stalker or cleaning pets living spaces(in 757 reviews)

  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 362 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 385 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 223 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    love pets than the place to go

    Cons

    to much focus on grooming area

    PetSmart2019-05-21
  2. "Warehoue/merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate/Merchandiser in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management willing to accommodate hours Good co-worker Forklift training Fun environment Meet nice customers Work with pets

    Cons

    Repetitive Stocking on/off pallet Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Good job keeping staff motivated

    PetSmart2019-03-12

    PetSmart Response

    March 13, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review! It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time at PetSmart. We think being around pets and nice co-workers makes work pretty incredible! Thank you again for the review.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Leadership and HR are a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    The majority of the associates, and the salon team are good people. The pets are almost always great to interact with.

    Cons

    SL/AL/DL Leadership team are a joke. They are all yes women/men. they don't perform any duties, yell at the staff, gossip about the staff and then when they get called out on it, try to pass the responsibility down the chain. HR are supposed to be "confidential", but when discussing a serious complaint with them, I was actively mocked for asking.

    Advice to Management

    Do what is expected of you, don't just try to pass responsibilities off to associates you haven't trained to perform their role, then sit in the office chatting on your cell phone for the majority of your shift (when you actually stay for a full shift, and don't just doctor your punch hours). DL, over the last several years, you haven't even spent a total of 5 hours in our location, what is it you actually do?

    PetSmart2019-02-07

    PetSmart Response

    February 13, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We greatly value our associates and always want to ensure a positive environment. This does not align with our values, and we’d like to discuss further so we can address. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  4. "It's a retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management and senior employees handles customer interactions, so none of the bad customer interactions make it to the associates. You get to work with pets. Flexible scheduling / easy going atmosphere. Room for growth if you want to have a career, this doesn't apply to part-time employees, which happen to make up most of the hands on labour and turn-over.

    Cons

    It's a retail job. Poop, lots of it.

    PetSmart2018-12-13
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Pets are get the dogs

    Cons

    Physical demands of the job

    PetSmart2018-12-10
  6. "Floor staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Great seeing pets, great customers

    Cons

    Demanding head office, less time helping customers, more time doing things that don't help with sales.

    Advice to Management

    Benefits for part-time

    PetSmart2018-12-07

    PetSmart Response

    December 7, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing from our associates. That's wonderful to hear how much you enjoy working with pets and pet parents. We think that makes life at PetSmart pretty sweet, as well! Thank you, also, for the constructive feedback. We are always ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mil in Sudbury, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours.Learning about different pets and their needs.

    Cons

    Last minute hours available you must be very flexible in your schedule.Lots of forms and reports to fill out.Only 4hr shifts scheduled.Management is more focused on getting their bonus rather than paying attention to staff needs.Very heavy work load with no time to do it all.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on meetings and reports.

    PetSmart2018-12-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant PetsHotel Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    Getting to know pet parents and their pets. Flexible Hours Part-time and full-time opportunities Possible growth within company Great Benefits if you're full time

    Cons

    During busy seasons it's chaotic and hectic Low wages High turnover in staff

    PetSmart2018-11-17

    PetSmart Response

    November 17, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the review! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed the benefits, growth opportunities, flexible hours, and relationships with pets and pet parents. It really is what makes PetSmart so unique. Thank you, also, for the feedback on where we can improve. Again, we appreciate ...

    Show More
  9. "Current Pet Trainer, former AL. Best job ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard work pays off. Easy to get along with co workers as you can always talk about pets and learn from each other. Customer service is fun and natural to provide due to the nature of the business. Opportunities to learn lots of skills in every store. Even the most stressful days are easier to handle because chances are you will at least meet an awesome dog. Your safety and animal safety is #1 priority and it... really shows daily. Excellent employee discounts. Providing animal adoptions is really rewarding. Working with local rescues and charities.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a lot. Retail hours can be annoying but that's any retail job. Occasional difficult customers, however there are many resources available to go the extra mile to appease them. It sometimes feels like leaders are going unchecked. However in my experience a bad leader has been terminated before a staff has imploded. It can feel like it takes forever for something to be done but the right thing always gets... done, eventually.

    Show More
    PetSmart2018-10-12

    PetSmart Response

    October 15, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the review! We are thrilled to hear that PetSmart is your best job ever! You mention several things that mean a great deal for us - from career development and safety policies to our philanthropic work and employee perks. Thank you, again, for sharing your ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "New salon employee impressions < 6months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Groomer Trainee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working with people who love animals helpful and knowledgeable coworkers working with dogs employee discounts all the pets and pets stuff serving pet parents who recognize and appreciate my genuine care for their pet Grooming academy, possibility of advancement

    Cons

    Very looming corporate presence with lots of stories of terminations and social media monitoring. Metrics and meeting weekly production plans are pushed over safety, and taking time with the dog during their visit. Supplies run short and can take days if not weeks to replace. Some rude and unpleasant management

    Advice to Management

    Salons should be completely overhauled by ergonomic and health & safety consultants. Dogs over 40lbs should not have to be lifted and bending over dogs on the floor should not be acceptable. Keep min/max stock levels on salon supplies. Particularly gloves, ear protection, face masks that do not inhibit breathing, eye protection. Salon manager should be in charge of the salon, not the other store managers. ... They should be on the same level, in charge of their own budget, hiring and employees. And please stop acting like Petsmart doesnt have the money for things. The company's profits are easy to google and the dumpsters of pet food and toys and supplies that get trashed could be better utilized if money is tight. Also, I scored low on culture and values because they put up a good front, but its all bout the dolla bills.

    Show More
    PetSmart2018-10-18

    PetSmart Response

    October 19, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback. First impressions are huge, and we appreciate you sharing yours. That's great to hear you enjoy your co-workers and interacting with pets and pet parents. I encourage you to also share your feedback via the SmartCare line at 1-800-738-4693. We care a ...

    Show More
Found 4460 reviews