PetSmart "animals" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Employee Reviews about "animals"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
320 Ratings
Pros
  • "99% of your customers are awesomely happy to be buying things for their pets(in 802 reviews)

  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 394 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 409 reviews)

  • "It's also hard when you haver really strong or aggressive dogs(in 248 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best job I ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, coworkers were awesome. Fair and realistic employers.

    Cons

    Sometimes a staff member wasn't cut out for the job and animals suffered for it. I don't reccomend working here unless you honestly love animals. It's not just a job.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-07-04

    PetSmart Response

    July 8, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We read them all and appreciate the feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the benefits and your colleagues. Our shared passion for pets is powerful! The health and happiness of our pets is our top priority. We'd love to hear from you if you had an experience that contradicted that. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to share more. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  2. "Company seems to be betraying its values: Disorganized, cuts hours, poor communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, being able to recommend proper care for animals. Friendly coworkers. Select managers were kind and encouraging.

    Cons

    Extremely disorganized management, over 4 weeks late on final pay check. Scheduling is a mess, doesn’t respect availability. Cuts hours for long time employees but continues to hire new people. Has forces people to come in when they are ill even when given appropriate notice and workers are penalized if they stand up for their rights. Does not provide actual proper knowledge and training for petcare. Does not schedule enough time to properly close petcare meaning that animals are not properly taken care of and employees are held to unfair standards. It shows that the values of the company have shifted.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-01-06

    PetSmart Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so sorry that this was your experience at PetSmart. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can learn more about your time with us. We value your contributions in helping to make pet lives happy and healthy and appreciate you taking the time.

    Continue reading
  3. "Love the animals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate in Kanata, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers are happier bc they are with their dogs, get to pet lots of animals

    Cons

    Minimum wage for a demanding job, keeping feeding and medication schedules for multiple types of animals

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-09-04

    PetSmart Response

    September 4, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your time at PetSmart and agree - working with animals is the best! We always appreciate hearing from our associates about any positives and where we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 with any suggestions. We appreciate you taking the time!

    Continue reading
  4. "Pets Hotel Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Building great relationships with animals!

    Cons

    Some animals can be hard to work with, gets very busy during holidays

    PetSmart2019-03-27

    PetSmart Response

    March 28, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate hearing from our associates. I'm thrilled to hear that your experience was positive. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to work with animals co workers are usually awesome and also animal lovers you can educate people to properly take care of animals

    Cons

    the conditions for the animals are eh, if you are an enthusiast you will get upset bad customers are at the expense of living breathing animals some of the fish available should NOT be sold at all.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-10-13

    PetSmart Response

    October 17, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the review. That's great to hear you enjoyed working with pets and your co-workers. Thank you, also, for the feedback. Please know, you can always share via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "learning curve can be steep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    15% off merchandise great people to work with got to pet puppies and see/work with various animals

    Cons

    They don't teach you enough about the animals they sell or product, very basic information is given, most info needed to do job was learned on our own time. communication was lacking in all departments, no one tells you the sales going on, or if there is something special that needs to be done in petcare not enough people in the store, in the evenings there are only three people running the store(in our store at least) 1 manger 1 petcare 1 cashier, thats it...if it got busy you can expect long lines of endless customers. lots of angry people looking for workers and sometimes we needed all three people to be on cash which left no one on the floor. it sucked big time. you see a lot of animal death especially in fish ( had to scoop dead fish out of the feeder tank daily (once in the am and throughout the day and before you close) high stress, if your in petcare there is a list you have to do each opening + a big cleaning task while you also deal with customers it is a very steep learning curve don't expect to be done it all in 4 hours if your the only one manning the floor (it does get better with time though) no real room for advancement

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-08-08

    PetSmart Response

    August 9, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We welcome all feedback and suggestions, as we tirelessly strive to create a positive and healthy environment for our pets, pet parents and associates. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to share more about your experience. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits as a full time employee

    Cons

    Polices polices polices its not about the animals ever ......just about the money the stores apprearence and how much they can sell mercandise wise and sell services to the pet parents grooming- pet hotel add ons...suites..ice cream..day care...pictures of your pets on every occcassion just $$$ hungry. No compassionate care there.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    You get to work around animals.

    Cons

    Quotas for collecting customer's emails and selling overpriced coupon books. Depending on location the animals may not be very healthy or well looked after, particularly fish and reptiles. Unhappy and often rude management. Women aren't allowed to wear shorts of any length despite the job requiring freedom of movement while cleaning or stocking.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-04-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre Job, not what I was expecting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pet Care Associate in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    To be around animals

    Cons

    I was made to believe that it was going to be mostly working with the animals but it was only like that for the first and last 15 minutes of the day

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-01-05
  10. "Pets Care Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love animals, this is the place to be. You are surrounded by a multitude of domestic animals. Within this job, you will never have the same day twice. Tasks do seem overwhelming at first but routine does become a positive way to complete daily tasks. Always have a fun time Always on the go and fast-paced

    Cons

    For the amount of work needed to be performed during shifts the pay is too little. Especially considering you are the sole caretakers for all the animals within the care of the PetsHotel. The work is also physically tasking which also does not reflect in the pay. In regards to the training, it would have been nice to have consistency between how people like tasks to be completed (other stores may vary). (store specific) Lack of diversity Noticed that the company is more concerned with making money to the actual care of the animals (the staff is better at attending to the animal care)

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2017-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 409 reviews