PetSmart Employee Reviews about "animal"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 of over 6,321 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
745 Ratings

Reviews about "animal"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    For the most part a very satisfying place to work.

    Aug 3, 2014 - Pet Care Specialist in Mount Hope, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get paid every week, which is hard to find anymore. Very clean store environment. Love working with and caring for the animals/reptiles. You get terrific perks and monthly discounts. If your an animal lover, looking at the fantastic new products being designed and put out is quite fun. Customers benefit from discounted items (40-50% off) such as discontinued hardgoods and food. Customers can benefit from trained Associate knowledge of specialty pet foods and products if you are looking for something other than Old Roy and Alpo.

    Cons

    Hours vary considerably from week to week. Hard to plan for days off because you dont know when they are going to be. Culture of this Company is to ask if the customers if they need assistance everytime an associate walks by them. Its great to offer assistance but customers, in my opinion, feel hounded at times, perhaps even stalked, because we ask if you need help as soon as you set foot in the store and we are encouraged to hunt you down in the aisles also. You may get asked if you need help at least 5 times during a 15-20 minute shopping session. I personally do not like this and avoid shopping in stores with this culture.Sometimes being left alone are what some shoppers are looking for, thats why we shop at WalMart.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A Mess with Good Intentions

    Jan 22, 2016 - Bather in Wilmington, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This review is primarily based on the grooming salon. Pros include working with animal lovers and getting to work with dogs on a daily basis.

    Cons

    1. Slightly underpaid for the work that must be done- I was vomited on, peed on, pooped on, scratched and bitten for $8/ hour. 2. I felt like I was putting my body at risk- there are supposed to be dust masks available to be worn while you are grinding the dogs' nails. Breathing all that dust on a daily basis felt really uncomfortable. We were also frequently out of earplugs and the blow dryers are so loud that I felt like I was doing damage to my ears. 3. The store managers clearly cared a lot about the company, however there was no leadership in the grooming salon- i didn't feel that things were done well enough on a daily basis. many dogs went home with bad haircuts and it never seemed clean enough in MY opinion. the other associates seem to have a lackluster approach to their job without adequate leadership 4. groomers who primarily work based on commission are frequently asked to go out into the store and tend to other tasks. i think the groomers should be payed more on a hourly basis or else not asked to do these unrelated tidying tasks.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Inconsistent management

    Nov 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will always have a good animal encounter to brighten your day. The people are generally nicer than other retail customers.

    Cons

    Their training for new employees is horrendous. They are very much a throw you in the deep end type of company. I had several years of retail experience so this was preferable to me, but to some of the hires that came after I could see that they struggled. They pay the state minimum wage, and their raises are laughable.

    1 person found this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback . We really appreciate you taking the time. That's great to hear how much you enjoyed interacting with pets and pet parents! We think that's what makes us unique, as well! I'm sorry the training was a challenge. Please know you can always share more via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    May 11, 2014 - Cashier in Littleton, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love animals, so that made it a great place to work. Obviously if you do not like handling/ interacting with animals, this is not the job for you. If you love them though you will love this job. They are very fair with pay and employees receive regular raises. The training is good and customers are generally really nice. The store tends to attract animal lovers (obviously) as customers who are generally friendly and love talking about their pets and shopping in a pet friendly environment. The training is good and there are opportunities to move to different departments and "up" if you want. The company is also good at promoting good values and supporting charity.

    Cons

    While it is great for a retail environment, it is still retail. You will have cranky customers occasionally (though less then most places). Like any retail, this is probably not a place to make a career but it is great if you like me just need a firs time job in high school (although now I think you need to be 18) or are looking for work while going through college. There are opportunities to go into dog training or grooming with the company's help with training through if you are looking for more of a carrier position.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Love working with animals, lack of training

    Jul 9, 2017 - Pet Care Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with animals is definitely the biggest pro. The staff cares deeply about the care that goes into raising them. Employees are also given quite a bit of freedom to educate customers on the proper care of animals. We are more than able to refuse a sale if we believed that the animal would not be taken care of well. I love that Petsmart truly puts the animals first and goes out of their way to make sure that all the pets go to loving homes.

    Cons

    There was a definitely a lack of training in the pet care department. If you don't know anything about caring for animals, starting work there is baptism by fire. Training lasted about a day and after that, I was left to fend for myself. I was simply expected to do the work perfectly even though I was never formally trained. Also, managers would complain about how employees did not do their pet care duties properly. But how are we supposed to perform properly if we've never been formally trained?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place to work if you like animals

    Oct 10, 2016 - Petsmart PetsHotel Associate in Southlake, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work in the PetsHotel, so I'm around dogs and cats all day. It's basically a dream job for me, since I'm a huge animal lover. I have been working seasonally (I'm a student) for about two years now. I generally work during the holidays and the summer, but the managers are really good about putting me on the schedule even if I'm in just in town for the weekend, which is definitely a plus. The best part about working there is definitely the animals, but I love the people that I work with, too.

    Cons

    I know a lot of people think that taking care of dogs and cats all day is easy work, but it's actually not. It takes a team of dedicated, hard working individuals to make sure that all of the animals are taken care of. With that being said, I do wish that we got paid more. I have had several raises, which I appreciate and am very thankful for, but the starting pay isn't that great. But in the end, I'm just working part time for fun and also for money, but the thing that's most important to me is the animals. They make me so happy and that's something I can't put a price on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not for a true animal lover honestly

    Aug 3, 2017 - Lead Pet Care Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Animals are cute, depending on the store, you'll be busy constantly making the time pass by fast. Coworkers usually really nice you can get experience in retail and animal care.

    Cons

    Customers dont always have the pets best interest in mind either. Guinea pigs grow to be about a foot big and they sell a cage "for guinea pigs" thats 2 feet. Even though politely explaining all the facts, people are selfish in the end. You can sometimes refuse a sale but when customers make a huge fit, managers just give in and give them the pet. I would cry often because of animal deaths and because i was pretty much handing them to the devil ( little kids with no sense of responsibility) Also almost impossible to get a raise, all hours are slowly being cut. Sometimes employees are over worked. They come in at 2 in the morning and because the managers really need them to finish (truck), they sometimes stay until 2 pm even though their shift ended at 10am. My pay was 9-9.50 but you're not allowed to discuss pay with others because they dont want it to "start issues". I later found out one girl that had worked there for 2 years, was getting paid 8.50

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Retail + fuzzy/scaly/feathery friends!

    May 5, 2017 - Pet Care Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love being around the animals. Other animal lovers are great to talk to and share tips and advice with. Hours aren't bad. The ability to deny a sale when we feel/know for certain that animal would not be going to a good home is great (yes, customers have flat-out told me they had no intention of actually caring for the animal they wanted to buy); management has always backed me up on those calls. In reality, PetSmart is still retail, but with the benefit of getting to pet visiting dogs and take care of small animals as stress relief.

    Cons

    Many customers don't want to hear what you tell them about the animals. (Ex: "I don't want to spend more than $50 on a lizard. Does it really need all this stuff?" or "My grandma kept a goldfish in a [one gallon] bowl and it lived just fine!"). This can be especially frustrating when the welfare of another living creature is involved. There is often a shortage of coverage during busy hours. Pay is little more than minimum wage; even at full-time status it's impossible for singles and families/those without another source of income to live on.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Your attitude makes the difference

    May 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working here! The people are all awesome. Generally animal lovers are... You get the occasional person where it's "just a job" but if you're going in with a passion for animals and helping pet parents build sweet moments and memories with their pets, then you'll do just great! I started in petcare and t was so much fun.... You have to make some tough calls at times... But it is rewarding. I'm moving into full time as a groomer soon, I love the changability this job gives you.

    Cons

    having a bad attitude generally means you're going to have a bad day. It rubs off onto every person you encounter, making them more sour towards you. So, if you want to have a good day, have a great "can do" attitude.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    So far So good

    Dec 16, 2010 - Cashier/Pet Care 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am new but so far it is about what I expected. It's retail, which I understand very well, not a shelter or a rescue facility. This is a more interesting retail experience, having the animals around, which is nice. It's a great place to gain experience and get a start in animal care, which is what I want to get out of it. The people are nice. I see alot of oppurtunity to move up if you do your job.

    Cons

    The pay is a little lower then I expected but not bad. My store is kind of old and a little smaller than I'm use too, also there is no Pet Hotel.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 41 - 50 of 186 Reviews

Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at PetSmart? Share Your Experiences

PetSmart logo
or