PetSmart Employee Reviews about "animal"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 of over 6k reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
699 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals is fun, schedule is flexible(in 456 reviews)

  • "Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work(in 187 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that did not care for the animals' safety as much as the bottom line(in 469 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 286 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "animal"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Current Pet Trainer, former AL. Best job ever!

      Oct 12, 2018 - Pet Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard work pays off. Easy to get along with co workers as you can always talk about pets and learn from each other. Customer service is fun and natural to provide due to the nature of the business. Opportunities to learn lots of skills in every store. Even the most stressful days are easier to handle because chances are you will at least meet an awesome dog. Your safety and animal safety is #1 priority and it really shows daily. Excellent employee discounts. Providing animal adoptions is really rewarding. Working with local rescues and charities.

      Cons

      Not a lot. Retail hours can be annoying but that's any retail job. Occasional difficult customers, however there are many resources available to go the extra mile to appease them. It sometimes feels like leaders are going unchecked. However in my experience a bad leader has been terminated before a staff has imploded. It can feel like it takes forever for something to be done but the right thing always gets done, eventually.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Employer Branding

      Thank you so much for the review! We are thrilled to hear that PetSmart is your best job ever! You mention several things that mean a great deal for us - from career development and safety policies to our philanthropic work and employee perks. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience. That's great to hear it's been so positive!

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Could be better, could be worse

      Oct 20, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with animals Pays above minimum for entry positions Good way to get animal experience to break into that industry

      Cons

      Upper management puts a lot of responsibility and pressure on lower management Some deadlines for projects are unrealistic Animals in small animal department are not properly cared for

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention and would like to speak with you more. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you!

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      ok

      Oct 13, 2018 - Pet Care Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      get to work with animals co workers are usually awesome and also animal lovers you can educate people to properly take care of animals

      Cons

      the conditions for the animals are eh, if you are an enthusiast you will get upset bad customers are at the expense of living breathing animals some of the fish available should NOT be sold at all.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Employer Branding

      Thank you for the review. That's great to hear you enjoyed working with pets and your co-workers. Thank you, also, for the feedback. Please know, you can always share via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pet care specialist

      Feb 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      love working with animals and i'm learning a lot about animal care and customer service

      Cons

      hours are short, hard to get promotions or raises.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. That's wonderful to hear that you've learned a lot during your time at PetSmart. Working with pets and pet parents is so special and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you, again!

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pet Care Specialist, PetsHotel associate

      Jun 13, 2017 - Pet Care Specialist in Scarborough, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to play with cute animals all the time. Managers are very nice and friendly. They're flexible with your shift scheduling as well. Coworkers are all animal lovers. It's a positive environment to work at since everyone there cares about animals deeply. The pay is alright since it's a low skill labor job. It's a good experience for people who want to work with animals since you get to see the corporate culture and how they keep everything very organized. It's a good entry-level job for people who just got out of school or are still in school but just want to get more animal related working experience.

      Cons

      The job was advertised as full time, but it ended up as part-time only with around 15 hours per week. I confirmed with my coworkers that quite a lot people experienced this false advertisement issue with their job postings. I was only told about the hours after 3 rounds of interviews. I felt like I've been lied to and wasted my time. But I decided to take this job over other full time offers from small businesses I got because I want to see what is like to work for a big corporate company. It's extremely hard to secure full-time positions here. Even coworkers who have been here a lot longer than me aren't getting enough hours. However, the management keeps hiring more people while no one is getting enough hours of work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't be fooled - it's just another retail job

      Jun 16, 2015 - Pet Care Associate, Groomer Trainee, Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opening and closing with the animals is amazing. I love learning about the different kinds of critters in the Pet Care department, and I always tried really hard to make sure their standards were up to snuff - Coworkers - Animal people are usually super friendly, though I found groomers who had been there for more than a couple of years were pretty snobby - Decent discount on pet products - Solid managers (in my store anyway) - Pet Care was really on top of giving everyone their allotted breaks... Grooming salon not so much. - Adoption fairs! PetSmart does a great job on helping tackle the homeless animal problem, and I have to give them kudos for that.

      Cons

      - Lack of training. I received next to no hands-on training when I was a groomer trainee. I had a week of computer work, and was then thrown in the salon ON A WEEKEND to fend for myself. Absolutely ridiculous. They knew I had no professional dog experience (despite owning dogs) and yet I had no one to guide me on my tasks except for the OTHER groomers. It isn't a senior groomer's job to stop what they are doing (which involves kenneling or getting someone to watch their dog) to help with something that a designated trainer should be doing. Pet Care wasn't much better. If one particular employee hadn't worked there, I'm pretty sure I'd have had no training at all. - It takes ten years to fix something. We had no hot water in Pet Care for weeks, despite the reptiles needing warm water for shed baths and things like that. - Poor pay for the amount of responsibility you have in Pet Care. We're in charge of living things, yet we make barely above minimum wage. - Selling dog training classes. Why is that Pet Care's responsibility? People with dogs aren't really coming through the department, and if they are, they are there to look at the fish and move on. - Be prepared to have no one listen to your advice in Pet Care, unless you want to argue. The associates really do try to give the best care options available (especially for fish), but the majority of the customers are uneducated and don't want to learn. - Typical retail cons: long hours on concrete floors, petty people and uptight pet owners, cash register is ancient and terrible, pushy tactics for promotions etc.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      PetSmart

      Apr 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You're getting to interact with a lot of animal lovers.

      Cons

      It's impossible to get full time position at the store level.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not good

      Nov 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The animal were the only upside

      Cons

      Awful management, rude workers, lasted two weeks, not following availability

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job, bad employer

      Sep 6, 2020 - Petcare Specialist in West Chester, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Petsmart is the best place to work in terms of doing something you’re passionate about with animals. It is a rewarding job when seen as an animal care specialist.

      Cons

      This employer cares only about the retail side of the company. They don’t care if an animal dies. They don’t care if the cages are overcrowded. They will tell you to fix it but will give you no time or help doing so. They will continue to nitpick on how you smile at customers when you really need to be taking care of a sick fish. There isn’t enough time or people-power to properly take care of animals here. Pet care is a fancy word for vet tech, animal expert, retail expert, customer service expert, and merchandise stocker. This is a poorly managed company because the people on top are hoarding the money that could be used to actually pay employees. Employees that are juggling 5 aspects of the job I mentioned above are being paid minimum wage and expected to break their backs. These are adults with bills since the minimum age for petcare is 18 years old. It is impossible to hire good employees if the company doesn’t want to pay them. The animals are the ones that ultimately suffer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We'd like to discuss more so we can understand better, as this is not in line with our values. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We are fully committed to our pets and people across the organization and greatly value everyone's contribution. Thank you, again, for bringing this to our attention.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experience

      Nov 10, 2020 - Pet Care Associate in Manahawkin, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Once in awhile there are things that warm your heart like when an animal is received pregnant and you get the experience of raising baby animals. There is a lot to learn and it can be a great experience if you are open to learning.

      Cons

      There are some people who care more about sales and business than the health and safety of the pets so always make sure you advocate for the animals. The biggest con is that there is a huge disconnect between corporate and the store employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews