Penn Tank Lines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Penn Tank Lines Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Penn Tank Lines CEO Jack McSherry (no image)
Jack McSherry
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Thankful to have found home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Terminal Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Tank Lines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, relationships, values, benefits, and really so many more.

    Cons

    No cons to mention at this point.

    Penn Tank Lines2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Tank Lines

    Pros

    Family friendly atmosphere, management and employees are always willing to put in the extra effort and teach you whatever you need help with. I started here in January as a dispatcher, and I can see in the future with dedication and hard work career advancement within the company is very promising!! If you’re looking for more than just a job and want to have a career this is the place to be and you will not be disappointed!! You will always have positive encouragement and you feel appreciated everyday you come in to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Pleasure to work with Penn Tank Lines!

    Penn Tank Lines2019-08-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Cool company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 

    I worked at Penn Tank Lines full-time

    Pros

    The money is very good

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Penn Tank Lines2019-08-11
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn Tank Lines for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, great people, stable company.

    Cons

    Dispatch / Management salaries not in line with competition.

    Penn Tank Lines2018-09-05
  5. "Poor Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Penn Tank Lines full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, gain lots of experience in a short time

    Cons

    High stress, long hours, company has no real direction or long term planning.

    Penn Tank Lines2018-05-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A very good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Penn Tank Lines full-time

    Pros

    It was the second time I worked at Penn Tank Lines and it was like I had come back home.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company.

    Penn Tank Lines2018-04-02
  7. "Good company to work for. Promotes within!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Tank Lines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Feels like you're part of a family and part of a team that's looking at the "Big Picture". Great pay and benefits. Safe Company and lives by the "Safety First" that's printed on each trailer. Truly cares about the drivers! Equipment is maintained.

    Cons

    Need some newer equipment in the mix. Dental plan is less than average. Dangerous business.....hauling fuel is not a joke and this business should have a higher pay for drivers. Unfortunately the customer base doesn't see it that way. Guess that's the same challenge each trucking company has to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to ask customers to pay a fair rate for this dangerous work performed.

    Penn Tank Lines2018-01-25
  8. "A Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn Tank Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and staff at the local level is very good and is a family atmosphere. Good dispatch team that actually cares. Equipment is well maintained. Pretty decent health insurance.

    Cons

    Modified load-pay plan favors the company, not the drivers. The company demands safety while offering a pay plan that requires the driver to rush in order to make a living. You will work hours for which you will not be paid. You will work 50 to 60 hours per week. No work-life balance. The family atmosphere of the local terminal does not extend to the corporate level. It's easy to be fired for relatively minor infractions, with no opportunity to appeal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can have safety or you can force drivers to hurry and rush. You can't have both. It doesn't work that way.

    Penn Tank Lines2017-12-18
  9. "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL

    I have been working at Penn Tank Lines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Early hours and good pay.

    Cons

    24 hours and 7 days a week operations.

    Penn Tank Lines2017-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pro's and con's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead Driver Trainer in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Penn Tank Lines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benifets, good pay,and good people to work with

    Cons

    Days are usually 12 hour days

    Penn Tank Lines2017-04-20
Found 15 reviews