Pembina Pipelines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pembina Pipelines Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Pembina Pipelines President & CEO Michael Dilger (no image)
Michael Dilger
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes believe a little too much of the hype(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, work culture, location, work life balance

    Cons

    Family working with family

    Pembina Pipelines2020-01-15
  2. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work. People are great

    Cons

    Not enough people To do the work

    Pembina Pipelines2019-12-06
  3. "A TEAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced work hard play hard culture. Very high performing business with high performing people.

    Cons

    Fast pace can become tiresome at times but always results in tons of job satisfaction.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-12-03
  4. "Future is bright!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - making positive changes in processes as the company grows - communication to employees is important and consistent

    Cons

    - many layers of leadership - lots of business units so overlap in some services

    Pembina Pipelines2019-12-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be great, culture has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SCM Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, great peers and team work through out project teams. Great benefits, compensation, and volunteer opportunities.

    Cons

    Changes to certain groups have started creating a lot of negativity internally. Hiring practice has become suspect, with external hires as opposed to promoting within. Leadership is blind to moral issues and continue to introduce cancers to what were very strong functioning teams.

    Advice to Management

    Pembina used to be one of the best places to work in Calgary, now it has become another Nexen. The hiring practice for leadership roles needs to be re-tuned and opportunities need to be given to employees with strong track records.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-12-03
  6. "Grew much too fast, no recognition, Poor management across the board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Yearly Christmas party and golf tournament

    Cons

    Poor compensation based on industry standards and no matter how good performance is, no raise to be had. They dangle bonuses like carrots, expecting overtime, extra hours, pile on the workload without hiring any additional support. They promote from within based on who has been there the longest, no outside ideas. Management is awful, always critical and don't ever expect a kudos for a job well done unless you're part of the 'in crowd.' Company is also not diverse at all. Very few women in leadership roles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting from within, hire competent people and stop running such a lean ship.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-11-21
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Emergency Management Coordinator in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    growing company with excellent benefits and salaries

    Cons

    too fast grow and heavy work load

    Pembina Pipelines2019-10-22
  8. "A company that doesn't trust or respect their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good and coworkers are great.

    Cons

    They want to track your every move now. Track your truck, track you with a personal monitor. Everything. It's RIDICULOUS. I have no respect for a company that treats its employees like this. I will not spend an extra second putting in effort for this company.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-11-18
  9. "Good in a tough environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best guardrails in a downtrodden industry

    Cons

    Sometimes believe a little too much of the hype

    Pembina Pipelines2019-09-25
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Intern in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for.

    Cons

    I would love to have a full-time job at Pembina now that I am done my schooling.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-09-14
Found 43 reviews