Pembina Pipelines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pembina Pipelines Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pembina Pipelines CEO Michael Dilger (no image)
Michael Dilger
16 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Intern in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for.

    Cons

    I would love to have a full-time job at Pembina now that I am done my schooling.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-09-14
  2. "Good in a tough environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best guardrails in a downtrodden industry

    Cons

    Sometimes believe a little too much of the hype

    Pembina Pipelines2019-09-25
  3. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst 

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and corporate events

    Cons

    Too many levels of management

    Pembina Pipelines2019-06-07
  4. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits including bonus program is great

    Cons

    Culture is not progressive and gender biased

    Pembina Pipelines2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Paid the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Compensated reasonably well - Company is doing well and has a bright future

    Cons

    - Very poor culture. Long hours, very little recognition - Weak leadership. Promotions were not merit based and leadership experience in many business and service areas was shallow - Extremely political; must watch your back. Teams worked very poorly together in many cases. I hated the thought of waking up to come to work and quit for my own mental well being.

    Advice to Management

    Is Pembina a family or a business? The culture does not fit 'family', but the company keeps employees that do not meet expectations in most cases, therefore start acting like a company with strong leadership and make difficult decisions. A significant upgrade in talent is required at levels under the executive.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-05-03
  6. "Good pay, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay given industry downturn

    Cons

    Corporate culture, politics, high workload

    Pembina Pipelines2019-05-02
  7. "Pembina pipelines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great company overall.

    Cons

    Nepotism is a HUGE issue at some locations. Unless you know someone you won’t be promoted or moved around. Very low employee engagement scores.

    Pembina Pipelines2019-04-29
  8. "Power Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    Pays decent, Easy to access plant site

    Cons

    Lots of near misses & safety incidents, Plant site smells awful, some of the operators aren't very helpful, stressful work environment(lack of help in operator positions)

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people to lower the workload on the operators it will help with less incidents & rushed work. Get an actual onsite trainer who will train new operators!

    Pembina Pipelines2019-02-21
  9. "r"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time

    Pros

    stable company, decent work environment

    Cons

    ability to advance isn't based on skills, more self promotion

    Pembina Pipelines2019-01-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pays well, lacks leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pembina Pipelines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Outstanding salary and great benefits employees get along great. lots of social events, lunches etc. lots of opportunity for growth open door management everyone can talk to anyone excellent IT services incredible location - a new building, and great facilities.

    Cons

    leadership is lacking. hard to get directions politics, and old boys club is getting worse good ideas are hardly moved forward. backstabbing is has become more frequent. no one hardly recognizes your work or contributions

    Advice to Management

    Train your leaders to lead and become better managers. Recognize your staff. Remove communication barriers. Everyone should work for the same goal - not self-interest.

    Pembina Pipelines2018-12-17
Found 35 reviews