Pearson Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pearson Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
24 Ratings
  1. "Great work environment until they closed it down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pearson

    Pros

    This office has some very qualified talented engineers. Good to learn from.

    Cons

    The office is being shut down slowly so right now there's not much good points to look at. Generally a good though but now it's going.

    Pearson2015-03-30
  2. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Colombo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pearson for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Working from home option Great salary

    Cons

    Management may tend to create competition between co-workers to get the maximum output

    Pearson2019-08-22
  3. "Great company, great potential, great team but lack of vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Moving from a publication to a tech company. Flexibility, great peers, amazing work-life balance, competitive pay,

    Cons

    Top management lacks vision, lot of underutilized talents, poor stock performance, medical sucks compared to tier 1 companies, lot of contractors

    Advice to Management

    The company has content, talent, everything - but need to have a clear vision. Need to hire great people and be willing to compensate them. Stop hiring cheap labour.

    Pearson2019-08-06
  4. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Pearson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    goood place to learn, but has a lot of work

    Cons

    low salary, not much perks for the employees

    Pearson2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Outsourcing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative colleagues make our lives less painful

    Cons

    - The focus is always to outsource as much as possible. - Flagship products become unwieldy and difficult to maintain

    Pearson2019-07-18
  6. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great communication in team. Have great opportunity to learn. Work on multiple projects. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    They have outdated technologies which you still have to support.

    Pearson2019-05-07
  7. "Extreamly good environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Colombo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work and very friendly

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of

    Pearson2019-05-01
  8. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Colombo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stack is always up to date with latest technologies.

    Cons

    Salary is not up to industry standards.

    Pearson2019-04-01
  9. "Recommended, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson for less than a year

    Pros

    Regular hours, respectful environment, quality offices

    Cons

    previously somewhat siloed but improving

    Advice to Management

    Improvement opportunities exist for team communication

    Pearson2019-03-10
  10. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Colombo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family first, flexible hours, great culture and many more.

    Cons

    sometimes politics are there. Special favours for their known peoples.

    Pearson2019-01-18
Found 70 reviews