Paragon Security Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Paragon Security Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Ron ‘R.J.’ France
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, low employee/coworker competence, low skill level job(in 8 reviews)

  • "Promise of part time becoming full time but have heard that this does not happen(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Dispatch in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime available over 44 hours

    Cons

    Old equipments at sites which needs replacements

    Paragon Security2019-07-03
  2. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very reputable in the security industry

    Cons

    Poor management do not support employees with proper internal assessment

    Advice to Management

    Stand by your employees

    Paragon Security2019-07-09
  3. "best place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Security Officer in Toronto, ON

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      easy work good for students

      Cons

      I haven't found any cons yet

      Paragon Security2019-05-26
    • "Great first job for new comers or students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Officer in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The best thing about working for Paragon is that it is easy entry into the job market. You can get a letter of reference, good hours, and family style work environment where everyone knows you by your first name. The company operates efficiently and managers are friendly and always respect the guards. Coffee and cookies are always offered complimentary, but don"t expect anything else.

      Cons

      The wages are low, so this may be a problem for people with other financial considerations. Be prepared to supplement your income with other financial infrastructure or live at home. While there are many opportunities to grow within the company and take on more responsibility, these initiatives aren't always matched with significant pay increase. Benefits are marginal and no RRSP contributions.

      Advice to Management

      Management may consider incorporating a positive incentive approach to motivate the guards. Positive reinforcement and recognition strategies would increase employee retention.

      Paragon Security2019-06-05
    • "No work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Emergency Medical Responder in Toronto, ON

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work experience for something else

      Cons

      No work life balance 12 hour shifts with no offical break Supervisor will treat you like a child Disorganized management Management has no idea what the position should entail Massive deductions off every cheque including over $1000 of uniform you are forced to buy Work place politics that mean employees you're replacing can stalk you at work On your feet the whole shift with very little time to rest You will...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Just give up.

      Paragon Security2019-06-05
    • "not a bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time

      Pros

      Decent amount of work available. Affordable sometimes free uniform. Benefits for full time. Gives you a place to work and look for something better, go to school or gain experience to move up in the industry, while not being a horrible job.

      Cons

      Some personalities at the site level (Clients, supervisors, coworkers) hard to get along with. pay could be better. Though I believe that's the nature of the business and not Paragon's fault.

      Advice to Management

      mandatory leadership training for supervisor positions.

      Paragon Security2019-04-20
    • "S"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time

      Pros

      Excellent Security Company in GTA but no management

      Cons

      Best Staff best uniform one of the biggest office

      Advice to Management

      12345

      Paragon Security2019-04-14
    • "Professional Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Paragon Security full-time

      Pros

      They give you advance training right after hiring. It's called the Level-2 Security training. I got an awesome condo site were I get to work under an awesome supervisor. Totally recommend.

      Cons

      Not any I can think of. I personally had a pleasant experience working with them.

      Paragon Security2019-04-11
    • "It's not a bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Guard in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Paragon Security full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      If you get a good team the experience is amazing. Great way to start a job in security or policing. Desk guards have a lot of free time so if you have course work do it

      Cons

      Politics. The longer your at a site the more you"see" and it gets bad when someone decides to throw you under the bus with not 100% certainty. I have many stories on that.. If your not their type i.e able to be used they will beat on you anyway they can. Some sites are severely understaffed. My crew doesn't get our full 30 and 2 15's cause we have to cover other people's desks for their break. And that's just for...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      More security so we can break people properly and more transparency of rising through the ranks.

      Paragon Security2019-04-18
    • "Great starter security job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Guard 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Paragon Security full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Training available to guards Sites available to be posted at

      Cons

      Pay is not as high as it should considering the possible dangers one faces in security

      Paragon Security2019-04-19
    Found 103 reviews