Palantir Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Palantir Technologies Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies Co-Founder and CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "smart people, great work/life balance(in 33 reviews)

  • "Palantir is a place makes the rest of Silicon Valley look like it is working on toy train sets(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "My work life balance definitely askew - though this is partially due to the kinds of things I chose to sign up for(in 66 reviews)

  • "tons of the usual growing pains(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Palantir review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies

    Pros

    One of the main reasons many folks, including myself, continue to work at Palantir is due to the impact that we can have on incredibly challenges problems spaces. If you spend 5 minutes with anyone here, you'll realize that the problems we're attempting to work on are important at a categorically different scale (in terms of importance and impact) when compared to other places I've worked.

    Cons

    Since the environment is so unique and empowering, it can be frustrating when you encounter bureaucrats and other low-vision counterparts on your respective deployments. That may sound like a high-ego answer, but it really can be tiring switching between different environments and having to fight red tape on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2015-06-07
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Forward Deployed Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Lots of travel Opportunity to interact with clients Standard Silicon Valley perks, even outside of Silicon Valley Everyone here is hard-working (but read below!) Extremely good marketing

    Cons

    Internal politics is difficult to maneuver across the commercial umbrella. Teams have complex, implicit structures while leadership claims that teams are flat. Emphasis is put on aesthetics and impressiveness over utility in certain teams, and especially in early teams ("pilots"). Little opportunity for software development. This is not usually a software development role. Little opportunity for analytics. This is not usually a data science role. In many teams 60 hours is the norm, not the exception. Quality and morale suffer. Palantir is not a startup -- there is no "lottery ticket", so 60 hours should not be the norm. Work is client-specific, and is not usually challenging, innovating, or exciting. There is little room for learning/growth. Certain teams could be more collaborative and open. I had to go out of my way to get constructive feedback here than at other similar companies. Many of these same teams do not have knowledge of the areas they work in, and are proud of their ignorance. Palantir insists it has a flat corporate structure. It exists, it's just implicit. The pro-bono work Palantir highlights is not indicative of the work most people do. Though Palantir is also not as evil as some people seem to think... Pay for full-time positions is below market rate.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2016-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It was really really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies

    Pros

    Lots of smart people to learn from and people are not scary. Lots of interesting work and many people have different backgrounds.

    Cons

    No cons except if you are scared of everyone then it might be bad since one cannot talk to anyone which would affect performance

    Palantir Technologies2015-01-26
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Good perks, full-time employees need to get over themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Good food Intelligent people to work with Nice space Friendly

    Cons

    Middle management is a mess. There has been many unnecessary conflicts due to incompetence in middle management. Workers are extremely full of themselves and must always emphasize that they are the "best". QE feels the need to emphasize their "importance" while devs blame their errors on others. I repeat; devs are always blaming others!!! While there are great people at Palantir, there are also cliques that like to "party hard and go drinking" and brag about it in the workplace quite obnoxiously.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2013-05-24
  5. "Good place to work for enterprise software development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    * Good and smart colleagues * Working on important problems, that makes a difference in the world

    Cons

    * Problems to work on are not always super technically challenging. It usually requires more on the communication, planning, and expectation management side.

    Palantir Technologies2020-02-26
  6. "Amazing company with amazing opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From day one you get exposed to challenging problems and you help important institutions solve them by using data. Great company mission. It's easy to move from team to team and learn about different industries. Amazing perks. Every person I have met is interesting and brilliant. I love going to work every day.

    Cons

    Not a great relationship with media (we don't really have any). There's a lot of false/wrong information out there about our work and not a lot being done to fix that. People tend to get confused with what we do or why we work with certain customers.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2020-02-13
  7. "Fantastic Company - Just the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You will work with some of the most talented and dedicated people in the world - Don't listen to the ill-informed media commentary; the company does a huge amount of good in the world and you get to make a truly meaningful contribution - Lots of responsibility after a brief settling-in period - Great compensation - Best benefits out there and always looking for ways to improve them

    Cons

    - Hard work - Can be slightly political

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2020-01-30
  8. "Good place for great engineering!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting clients, good pay, interesting problems

    Cons

    Travel, reputation, career progression, location

    Palantir Technologies2020-01-30
  9. "Great coworkers, but questionable ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll work with very talented people. You'll get a lot of responsibility and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours. Management and the PCL team claim to engage with difficult ethical questions, but will not draw red lines and work with whoever pays as long as they're remotely allied. Having the company on your CV may hurt your application in some future jobs.

    Palantir Technologies2020-02-12
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Hardware Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super smart people and interesting problems to work on

    Cons

    Low salary and my options from 2017 are worthless

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2020-01-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 317 reviews