PagerDuty Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 of over 239 reviews

4.2
75%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
PagerDuty CEO Jennifer Tejada
Jennifer Tejada
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is what you make it but here it's better than most(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good management who are always open to new ideas, catered lunch, great people with lots of enthusiasm, helpful mentorship(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is maturing and experiencing some growing pains as a result(in 15 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly and we're far past the point of being able to know all the people and what they're working on(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Mar 11, 2021 - BDR Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great learning opportunity for anyone seeking technical experience

      Cons

      Career trajectory needs work to retain talent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Accountability for programing

      May 13, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The commission structure across levels can be quite lucrative. - Great benefits - Market leading product - Supporting colleagues and a great culture

      Cons

      There is very little accountability on leadership for the programs being run in the sales org. Individual contributors are the only ones held accountable while many of the programs to support us drop the ball. This is made evident by the overwhelming level of churn that the sales org has experienced. Over the last year we've lost more talent than usual. The most notable example is the BDR org, who recently lost all their tenured members.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      PagerDuty Response

      Thank you for your review. As a rapidly growing company, we are continuously improving upon how we work, and strive to always communicate clear expectations and accountability. Specifically within the Sales organization, we are working on new programs to ensure individuals and teams are set up for success. We value your input and encourage you to reach out to your manager and your HRBP to further discuss your feedback. Thank you!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Software Engineering culture

      Mar 4, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A strong technical reputation, interesting architecture and opportunity to learn a lot. Individual contributors are empathetic and talented. There’s a very strong culture of operating what you build on production. Jen is an amazing CEO and role model to all. Some of the technical stuff we're building on top of we take for granted but are pretty amazing. You'll be oncall for what you build and work on interesting scaling challenges. Engineering leadership at all levels respond to feedback with decisive action. They make sure there's a team who owns each problem, and generally do a good job making tough calls about hiring and firing.

      Cons

      We had distributed engineering teams in mostly two cities before the pandemic, but adapting to fully remote has been hard. We have microservices and a drive for autonomous well-formed teams but it's more tangled than anyone would like. We sometimes have a bias for inaction via committees and councils. This is improving (see managers respond to feedback). We're working on diversity at the senior engineering level.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      On the decline

      Oct 16, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Policy wise the org cares about your physical and mental wellbeing. Covid policies have been reasonable and empathetic and leadership has been communicative and transparent Working with lots of smart people Good brand awareness among tech, many companies use the product Work-life balance is what you make it but here it's better than most. Be aware that on call load varies greatly between teams so be sure to talk about that with the hiring manager before signing on

      Cons

      Compensation is below average and the stock is going nowhere Diversity is fantastic at lower ranks but diversity in senior ranks is as abysmally low as the rest of the industry if not below average Depending on which team your on the environment can be incredibly toxic and there aren’t many teams with exciting work to switch to. Leadership demands GSD but doesn’t pave the way for that to happen- product development is anemic as a result and there's a strong risk of being overtaken by competition You’ll waste a lot of time and energy needlessly struggling with "strong personalities" (ie a-holes) in order to feed their egos rather than working together to find solutions and ship quality work Shocking meeting load even for individual contributors because the company thinks the more meetings you have the more “agile” it is

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Meh

      May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The product itself has lots of potential and it's a great product overall. Good benefits and additional days off to focus on mental health and downtime.

      Cons

      Upper management however is a different case.

      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent Company

      May 17, 2021 - Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive organization, great engineering talent

      Cons

      Uninspired Product team, Some difficult personalities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great growth company with solid core values.

      Dec 8, 2020 - Senior Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture Decent work-life balance Smart and talented people Awesome product Good vision / roadmap Logical / smart acquisitions

      Cons

      Undergoing a transformation Company is maturing and experiencing some growing pains as a result Lack of clarity on direction and strategy on how to execute on that vision Product siloed and slight disconnect with customer-facing roles

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      PagerDuty Response

      Talent Operations

      Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. Championing the customer is one of PagerDuty values and we strive to keep their experience top of mind. This year we have a renewed focus on product-led growth, and we want to encourage a bias towards action and risk taking, so that we can focus on delivering outcomes that solve our customers’ biggest challenges. Please continue to let us know how we can improve and create more synergy across our departments!

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent Company, Growth and Execution Challenges

      Jul 7, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Superb compensation plan - Product is industry leading - Customers want to learn about and buy the product; lots of inbound interest - Excellent marketing function; helps drive pipeline - Opportunity to grow professionally; promotion or transfer into new roles - Fantastic diversity and inclusion; no one ever feels left out - Learn from some of the industries best DevOps people - Really awesome perks like free lunches, ESPP, and wellness programs - A place where you can really come into your own as a software sales professional

      Cons

      - Below average sales operations; takes way too long to send/edit quotes to a customer - Lack of enablement and coaching; not a lot of feedback or direction on where to improve so you consistently feel stuck - Lack of execution and alignment; probably the biggest con. The sales org hops from one thing to the next without actually executing on anything; makes it more difficult than it should be to be successful - Could be a more encouraging environment, quite negative at times

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Truly inclusive employer that lives it's values

      Mar 11, 2021 - Senior Program Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      truly inclusive ambitious in it's goals growing market leader

      Cons

      ad hoc not always successful in being transparent slow decision making

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PagerDuty Response

      Talent Operations

      Thank you for your review! We are focused on creating an inclusive environment in line with our PagerDuty values so that is great feedback. As we scale, we are reviewing and revamping processes we may have outgrown. To your point, this fiscal year, we are encouraging quick decision making and a bias towards action to free up time and deliver outstanding customer outcomes. Please feel free to reach out to us at recruiting-ops@pagerduty.com, or your HRBP. We value your input and would love to hear how we could do better!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Caring culture, great learning experience

      May 7, 2020 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Engineering managers who actually care about your career growth. Career ladder is clear and reasonable (at least at the earlier levels, that I can speak to) - Interesting and challenging work (may vary between teams) - More than just lip service (for the most part) when it comes to diversity and building a positive and open culture - Flexible work-from-home policy - Incredibly supportive policies, especially seen during COVID-19 crisis

      Cons

      - Company is still trying to develop strong messaging/product. We're the biggest in our space but there are others catching up so we need to be more agile - Can't speak to culture in other departments. I don't think we're as good as we could be about inter-departmental collaboration and communication - There are a few "strong personalities" in eng, despite the "no a--holes" rule. - Pay is reasonable, but not comparable to the big FAANG-type valley salaries

      3 people found this review helpful

      PagerDuty Response

      People Team

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We love hearing that you're enjoying the wonderful culture we have here at PagerDuty! Our culture is so important to us and ultimately is what makes working at PagerDuty so unique. In this period of hyper-growth, we are committed to ensuring that Dutonians across all levels feel empowered to take ownership of their work so they can see themselves, their teams, and PagerDuty be as successful as possible. If you'd like to chat more, please reach out to a member of our People Team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 218 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PagerDuty Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PagerDuty? Share Your Experiences

    PagerDuty logo
    or