PagerDuty Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
PagerDuty CEO Jennifer Tejada
Jennifer Tejada
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance is 100% there, for me at least(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good management who are always open to new ideas, catered lunch, great people with lots of enthusiasm, helpful mentorship(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains as the company scales(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly and we're far past the point of being able to know all the people and what they're working on(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company, Growth and Execution Challenges"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Superb compensation plan - Product is industry leading - Customers want to learn about and buy the product; lots of inbound interest - Excellent marketing function; helps drive pipeline - Opportunity to grow professionally; promotion or transfer into new roles - Fantastic diversity and inclusion; no one ever feels left out - Learn from some of the industries best DevOps people - Really awesome perks like free lunches, ESPP, and wellness programs - A place where you can really come into your own as a software sales professional

    Cons

    - Below average sales operations; takes way too long to send/edit quotes to a customer - Lack of enablement and coaching; not a lot of feedback or direction on where to improve so you consistently feel stuck - Lack of execution and alignment; probably the biggest con. The sales org hops from one thing to the next without actually executing on anything; makes it more difficult than it should be to be successful - Could be a more encouraging environment, quite negative at times

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Caring culture, great learning experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Engineering managers who actually care about your career growth. Career ladder is clear and reasonable (at least at the earlier levels, that I can speak to) - Interesting and challenging work (may vary between teams) - More than just lip service (for the most part) when it comes to diversity and building a positive and open culture - Flexible work-from-home policy - Incredibly supportive policies, especially seen during COVID-19 crisis

    Cons

    - Company is still trying to develop strong messaging/product. We're the biggest in our space but there are others catching up so we need to be more agile - Can't speak to culture in other departments. I don't think we're as good as we could be about inter-departmental collaboration and communication - There are a few "strong personalities" in eng, despite the "no a--holes" rule. - Pay is reasonable, but not comparable to the big FAANG-type valley salaries

    PagerDuty Response

    May 11, 2020People Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We love hearing that you're enjoying the wonderful culture we have here at PagerDuty! Our culture is so important to us and ultimately is what makes working at PagerDuty so unique. In this period of hyper-growth, we are committed to ensuring that Dutonians across all levels feel empowered to take ownership of their work so they can see themselves, their teams, and PagerDuty be as successful as possible. If you'd like to chat more, please reach out to a member of our People Team.


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Struggling to evolve"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly culture, good ERGs, benefits, and volunteering events

    Cons

    High risk of burnout, build fast and sell product mandate, more sales driven initiatives then innovation

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 25, 2019Recruiting Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It's very important to us that every Dutonian's voice is heard. At this time, we are laser-focused on improving processes for all departments and individuals. We will keep a sharp eye out to ensure our employees are equipped with the proper resources and feel they are receiving the support they need to succeed. You're hearing a lot about this in our All Hands and "Ask Me Anything" sessions hosted by leadership. Together, with trust and open dialogue, we will continue to innovate across our products, teams, and culture.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Love working here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Love the values we have and are encouraged to embody such as taking the lead. - Lots of autonomy and great opportunities for growth. - Great Work/Life Balance. - Great supportive culture. No finger pointing or blaming. Truly feel like I work in a team. - Amazing place to get experience with proper engineering practices - PagerDuty has become an industry leader when it comes to that. - Down to earth CEO with great energy and passion. - Free catered lunches everyday (+ breakfast on Wednesday) and lots of snacks!

    Cons

    No clear cons that are noteworthy

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    We love that you are working here too! We are so happy that our company values reasonate with you, and that our leadership and culture here at PagerDuty give you the confidence to take the lead in your work. Along with fun perks and great benefits, we are definitely proud that all of our Dutonians trust and support each other, and create a friendly and inclusive work environment. As we continue to grow communication will be essential in ensuring our success., and we will definitely share your insights with our leadership team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review!

  5. "Proud to work for this company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company culture - awesome perks like catered lunch daily, lots of snacks, beer on tap - competitive pay -Management is supportive, goes to bat for you and has your back - great benefits, sick days, and 3 weeks vacation to start, 4 after 1 year -excellent product, best in market, continuing to innovate -diverse group of employees, slightly less in sales but focus to fix that

    Cons

    -growing super fast and with that comes some pains -some processes in place are broken, the good news is they are being looked at -complex product that can be challenging at times to position

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback for us! We're very proud that with the help of every Dutonian we have been able to create a fun and inclusive work environment here at PagerDuty. As we seek to innovate how the world works, we lean on our team for their hard work and amazing ideas. Our leadership team is committed to rewarding them for this in fun and sometimes unexpected ways. Updating our processes and best practices is definitely at the forefront of our agenda as we continue to scale, and so we thank you for comments!

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Step through the looking glass"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good market and corporate vision. Accessible senior management. Earnest, well meaning corporate values.

    Cons

    Poor execution. Lack of accountability. Short-term flip-flopping moves by senior management. Young, entitled employees are spoiled and enabled by an immature corporate culture that would rather throw a party for vegans than hit the quarter number. As an employee it's best to detach yourself from reality when you walk through the door to the SF HQ, the worst of the bunch. It helps deflect the angry children who believe HR should tend to their emotional baggage and enforce their political alignment.

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At PagerDuty we feel very fortunate that our senior management continues to go above and beyond to create a welcoming and inclusive environment for their teams, so that they can share their ideas and grow within the organization. Our core values are central to every decision our leadership team makes, and every process we put in place. We are very sorry to hear you feel they aren't being represented throughout the organization, and will definitely share your feedback with our leadership team. If you'd like to chat more, please reach out to a member of our People Team.

  7. "Highly Recommend working at PagerDuty!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -your voice is heard -great work life balance with the flexibility to experiment and try something new -Work with a diverse team and collaborate with others extensively -Great pay and benefits (includes daily lunches and snacks) -Opportunity to grow into new roles

    Cons

    -no real cons if you like being in the tech industry working with an amazing product!

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It's incredibly important to us that every Dutonian voice is heard. It's our team's amazing ideas and hard work that have gotten us to where we are, and will be what takes PagerDuty to another level. Thank you for being a part of our team!

  8. "Great Culture and Autonomy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy Great Work/Life Balance Collaborative teams Proud culture - software devs building product for other software devs

    Cons

    None that I can pinpoint at the moment

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are very proud to offer great work-life balance for our Dutonians, and know that this is an essential part in asking them to bring their best selves to work every day. We really appreciate all of your hard work and are so happy to have you with us on this journey as we continue to solve for what's next!

  9. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Great leadership Free lunches/amazing perks Culture focused

    Cons

    rapid growth brings new challenges

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback! Our amazing leadership team has definitely led the way to ensure that even as we scale, that PagerDuty's culture remains fun, inclusive and open. This rapid growth has definitely brought with it new and exciting challenges for our team, and so now more than ever we are soidifying our best practices and focusing on communicating these across the organization.

  10. "PagerDuty has everything you'll want to start your career in sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture - Flexibility to make mistakes and try new things - Strong leadership at every level - Technical product and many use cases - Free lunches every day - Senior Leadership transparency

    Cons

    I love working here so it's hard to think of anything in particular.

    Continue reading

    PagerDuty Response

    November 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are always so happy to hear our Dutonians shout out the awesome culture here at PagerDuty. Doing epic things means encouraging our team to take risks and bring new ideas to the table as often as possible, and we really appreciate you highlighting this! We want our team to grow without limits, and so we will share your feedback regarding organizing more external development opportunities for our team with leadership.

Found 176 reviews