PagerDuty Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PagerDuty Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
PagerDuty CEO Jennifer Tejada
Jennifer Tejada
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance is 100% there, for me at least(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good management who are always open to new ideas, catered lunch, great people with lots of enthusiasm, helpful mentorship(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains as the company scales(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly and we're far past the point of being able to know all the people and what they're working on(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Love the values we have and are encouraged to embody such as taking the lead. - Lots of autonomy and great opportunities for growth. - Great Work/Life Balance. - Great supportive culture. No finger pointing or blaming. Truly feel like I work in a team. - Amazing place to get experience with proper engineering practices - PagerDuty has become an industry leader when it comes to that. - Down to earth CEO with... great energy and passion. - Free catered lunches everyday (+ breakfast on Wednesday) and lots of snacks!

    Show More

    Cons

    No clear cons that are noteworthy

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in making sure there are no communication gaps as the company grows further.

    PagerDuty2019-10-26
  2. "Struggling to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly culture, good ERGs, benefits, and volunteering events

    Cons

    High risk of burnout, build fast and sell product mandate, more sales driven initiatives then innovation

    Advice to Management

    Invest in design management to evolve the product, not just sell more new addons

    PagerDuty2019-11-21
  3. "Proud to work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company culture - awesome perks like catered lunch daily, lots of snacks, beer on tap - competitive pay -Management is supportive, goes to bat for you and has your back - great benefits, sick days, and 3 weeks vacation to start, 4 after 1 year -excellent product, best in market, continuing to innovate -diverse group of employees, slightly less in sales but focus to fix that

    Cons

    -growing super fast and with that comes some pains -some processes in place are broken, the good news is they are being looked at -complex product that can be challenging at times to position

    Advice to Management

    keep listening to your people and making changes quickly for the better, continue to hire diverse employees, and keep the culture alive as we grow rapidly!

    PagerDuty2019-10-22
  4. "Great Culture and Autonomy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy Great Work/Life Balance Collaborative teams Proud culture - software devs building product for other software devs

    Cons

    None that I can pinpoint at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep it Up!

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  5. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Great leadership Free lunches/amazing perks Culture focused

    Cons

    rapid growth brings new challenges

    Advice to Management

    Continue to lead by example!

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  6. "PagerDuty has everything you'll want to start your career in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture - Flexibility to make mistakes and try new things - Strong leadership at every level - Technical product and many use cases - Free lunches every day - Senior Leadership transparency

    Cons

    I love working here so it's hard to think of anything in particular.

    Advice to Management

    We did John Barrows training and I think more external development opportunities would be helpful to the company. Additionally, providing more opportunities for departments to intersect via work and leisure.

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture and values - Clear career growth trajectories - Free Lunches (lots of snacks) - Great Product - CEO is inspiring - amazing executive leadership team

    Cons

    None come to mind. Management is always receptive to new ideas and adapting to new challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  8. "Best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food, snacks, relaxed atmosphere, friendly people, culture of learning, priorities on people, can work from home, hours are long but flexible

    Cons

    Growing quickly so there's a lot of change, work is intense but rewarding

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the friendliness, fun vibes, visibility, and pushing for the best :)

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  9. "PagerDuty's inclusive culture is second to none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PagerDuty walks the walk when it comes to building and maintaining a diverse workplace, and I seriously have never worked anywhere that has managed to succeed as much as PD has done. Add to that the challenges of a growing company, tricky technical problems, and the need for PagerDuty to be up when everything else is busted, and it's the best place for me to be.

    Cons

    Growing quickly has its problems, including that what used to work can rapidly stop working. While PagerDuty strives to adapt as needed, it doesn't always succeed, at least on the first try.

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  10. "Great company to work for 💯"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Great People - Talented and hard-working team • Culture - Fun, Social, Diverse and inclusive • Compensation and benefits - free snacks & lunch, flexible hours, work from home, etc • Growth potential - lots of room to grow along with the company!

    Cons

    If you're not used to being in a company this size (that is growing), it can be a little overwhelming at times.

    Advice to Management

    • Keep up the transparency. • Keep being aggressive and intentional with our path forward! I think you've done a good job motivating the team and we all want the company to thrive!

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
Found 162 reviews