PageGroup Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PageGroup Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
PageGroup CEO Steve Ingham
Steve Ingham
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Michael Page Toronto - great sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - trains consultants to be fearless when speaking or meeting prospective clients (CEOs, Presidents, CFO, CTOs) - consultants become very resilient - gain great sales experience esp. for someone coming out of university interested in sales (interning to full time) - training done in one of our north american offices

    Cons

    - long-ish hours (however, management's understanding) - highs are very high and lows are very low (circling back to: this role, you must be resilient)

    PageGroup2019-08-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Struggling office that does not reflect PageGroup's culture, vision and standards."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global: - Great brand and company - One of the top in the recruitment and staffing industry. - Great school to learn recruitment - Upward mobility Montreal: - Opportunity to make big bonuses if you're in the right division (ie. Construction) - 2 good trainings within the first 6 months in a major North American hub - LinkedIn Recruiter licences from day 1 - 360 model: Client and candidate side - Leader... in the Construction industry which is great for candidates in this domain - Good teamwork and collaboration in some divisions - Super cool colleagues - Good benefits (Insurance, RRSP, PTO) - Global mobility as they're present in more than 35 countries

    Show More

    Cons

    Montreal: - Very high turnover (higher than industry average) - Consultants stay one year on average - Lack of leadership, although it got better with middle management that transferred from EU offices - CRM and technology is not efficient - Company culture and vision not applied in the Montreal office - Management does not invest in their consultants wellbeing, success and happiness, and doesn't seem to... realize that a happy employee will be more successful and efficient. Management's only priority is revenue. - Favoritism: Not all employees are treated equally when it comes to flexibility (work from home and hours). This tends to create tensions, especially in a small office. - Upward mobility is tough since it's a small office with only 2 divisions - Not very challenging from an Intellectual aspect (knowledge and learning) as the model is very transactional and no options to move to other divisions or departments. - No trainings after 6 months, you have to be curious and learn on your own - which is not for everyone - Environment is not very fun; no team building events or group activities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should be more proactive and not reactive when it comes to employee's satisfaction, growth and well being. Invest more in your consultants (trainings, activities, perks..) to create a better atmosphere where they will be more productive, efficient and eager to work longer at MP. Montreal office should not be different from the other NA offices. Bringing consultants from abroad for middle-management is a... good short-term initiative but culture has to drastically change to achieve long-term goals.

    Show More
    PageGroup2019-09-05

    PageGroup Response

    September 16, 2019

    Albeit a positive review of the global brand, I am disappointed to read your comments about your experience in Montreal. Please know, all North American offices, including Montreal, invest in tools, resources, and technologies to elevate the skills of every employee. Regarding training, ...

    Show More
  3. "Great Place to grow your career in Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Michael Page Toronto has changed a lot in the past year, in a very positive way. Not only do they offer competitive base salaries, an uncapped commission structure, 20 days vacation, RRSP matching, and a great benefits package. They are truly dedicated to helping develop your sales career and promote internally purely on merit. If you're driven, hungry to grow you career and looking to work with great people, this... is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours are typically 8am-6pm to cater to candidates that are only able to meet before or after work hours, but management is very understanding and flexible.

    Advice to Management

    The investment you are putting into growing your employee's careers really shows. The people that you hire are all truly amazing and keep on investing in company culture.

    PageGroup2019-07-25
  4. "Good Foundation but challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good training - Competitive base - Location

    Cons

    - Poor leadership - incredibly high staff turnover - Lack of growth - Management will turn a blind eye to almost anything if the person responsible is generating revenue. Eg, hostility to other employees, unlimited vacation days, high sickness rate, lateness, lack of effort etc.

    Advice to Management

    Get some leadership infrastructure ASAP and work on the office culture. Equal focus on both talent retention and aquisition.

    PageGroup2019-08-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Candidate, Client or Employee ? Just walk away..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PageGroup is a nice company (mostly in Europe) but their office in Montreal is the worst of all and on all points

    Cons

    Very cheap office Very poor level of management (there is no manager except the director) +80% turnover per year... On a 10 people office... Amateur and unprofessional working methods Negative environment to work

    Advice to Management

    Do your job and maybe it will get better...

    PageGroup2019-07-24
  6. "Good but management needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training Helps you become more disciplined Recognition if you do well - writing name on the board, trips for top billers, champagne awards You will make life long friends here. I mean, Michael Page is a large recruitment firm - they want to set you up for success and they were a huge stepping stone in my career. A couple of management changes would benefit them greatly. But also, don't expect... success here if you don't work hard. Numbers don't lie. It's sales.

    Show More

    Cons

    Makes you work hard not smart Management does not understand how to read office morale Managers are also in production & competing directly with you

    PageGroup2019-06-21
  7. "Good Place To Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young company culture Training 21 days vacation

    Cons

    Long hours Tasks become repetitive High turnover

    Advice to Management

    It's a good place to start your career and learn the sales process as the training is very good. I see it as a stepping stone and not where I want to end up long term.

    PageGroup2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Top company but with management issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - fast paced and international perspective - competitive salary packages - team spirit and fun - Meritocrativ career growth

    Cons

    poor local management who lack listeneing to their employees

    Advice to Management

    involve yourselves more and stop pointing fingers

    PageGroup2019-01-17
  9. "If you do your job you will succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support from management and arguably the best training in the industry on the desk and through initiatives in New York City Clear and concise targets set in front of you in order to hit promotions and bonuses Great benefits and vacation package Surrounded by top performers, and a great culture The ability to make it what you want it to be if you hit your targets you can grow rapidly Team based work and goal... setting

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment is a tough industry not made for everyone. Underachievers complain, and say KPIs are hard to hit, however there is more than enough time in the day to hit them. If you have drive and time management there is nothing to worry about

    PageGroup2018-08-10
  10. "Simply a Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined Michael Page essentially right out of school. As a money-hungry young adult, Michael Page and the leadership team they have provided me with the platform to be successful. One of the best things about the company is our training regiment. The company provides each employee with training in all aspects of the job. They focus on areas like business development, recruiting technique, Process management and... training on our internal software. However, the thing that has always been most important to me is the amount of care the management team has for each consultant Development. As a young professional, it is hard for anyone to adapt to the workforce. Michael Page and the work hard play hard culture we have made the transition much easier. Managers will show individualized attention for those who need an extra boost. Overall my experience with Michael Page has been fantastic and I plan on being here a long time.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con that has stuck out to me is the turnover. However, I do not fault Michael Page for the problem, as it is extremely common in a sales atmosphere. That being said it is never easy to see friends in the office go.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the training and development of employees at all levels going.

    PageGroup2018-08-10
Found 61 reviews