Pacific Blue Cross Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Blue Cross President and CEO John Crawford
John Crawford
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "of the type of data that PBC handles(in 8 reviews)

  • "Politics and clashes in a heavily unionized environment make for a negative work environment that I would hesitate to recommend(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome organization & equally amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager, Information Security in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Agile adoption has helped IT & Business to work closely Amazing cross functional teams & enthusiasm

    Cons

    Things may seem a bit slow but that would be because - of the type of data that PBC handles - regulations that need to be taken into account - all relevant stakeholders need to be cosidered

  2. "Claims examiner"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Examiner in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - union - easy work - decent pay

    Cons

    You start at the lowest of seniority as there are a lot of people ahead of you

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for providing comments about your experience working at PBC. The foundation of PBC 80 years ago included a group of medical professionals and union members that wanted to make a strong health care option in BC. Fast forward 80 years and we now have many unionized roles and non-unionized roles that candidates can apply for. We promote staff from within when able, and continue to have success promoting over 40 staff last year.

  3. "An organization that cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PBC possesses a good number of reasons to be a preferred organization to work. Its leadership team is very much committed and caring. The environment is healthy and people are cooperative. Their HR team gave me quite a great support during my recruitment process. I found them very sincere while replying to all of my queries and concerns. Its office building is in a serene location which makes it my favorite place to work.

    Cons

    I am too new to find the cons of an organization and I am liking every day.

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for providing some background about your new role with PBC. For our staff, we have a great referral plan that allows staff to be paid for bringing strong contacts within their network to work for us. Keep this in mind as a great way to earn extra money and to have people work at PBC that you think would be a great fit. We want to continue to build a team that is committed to our members health.

  4. "PBC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, onsite gym & cafeteria

    Cons

    Union vs exempt culture. Difficult to advance. Lower than average pay for some jobs

    Continue reading

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    June 18, 2020

    It is great to get this feedback! Thank you. PBC continues to look for ways to engage our employees with meaningful additions to the workplace. Our strong benefit plans, onsite facilities, and the current work from home ability are key items for our staff. We also offer the opportunity for staff to join committees that make a difference in the community (health and safety along with diversity committees are two great options to join).

  5. "Glass Ceiling"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great work/life balance

    Cons

    Although benefits are good, pay is well below the market rate and strangely not disclosed at the beginning of the interview process. The lack of transparency during the interview stage is also a bit strange. I found it odd that the recruiter made me call him for the initial call. Growth opportunities really don’t exist. Politics and clashes in a heavily unionized environment make for a negative work environment that I would hesitate to recommend.

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for this feedback. Through doing market analysis, PBC ensures that salaries are within the competitive range of our market area. We will continue to review salary structures on an ongoing basis to ensure that we remain competitive and can provide a top of the line benefits plan as a not-for-profit organization.

  6. "No career development, no future"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Workload is not heavy kind of work-life balance

    Cons

    One thing I really don't like there is the political atmosphere. The management team only care about if you could finish the projects, but never cares about employees' career development. The company's data system fell behind a lot, leading to tons of manual work, which can be handled by everyone. Why do they want an actuary to do such kind of work?

  7. "Going Downhill."

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent wages and benefits. Cafeteria.

    Cons

    Management unaccountable. Union unsupportive.

    Continue reading
  8. "I do not recommend this place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Non-union Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, some work life balance

    Cons

    Union vs management mentality creates a toxic work environment. Promotions and hiring is based on “who you know / who are you friends with” and not on merit. Very low wages as opposed to industry standards

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    February 5, 2020

    PBC has a lot of flexibility in how to grow a career within the organizaiton. We have many unionized roles that have a great structure for advancement and allow employees to move up based on what they have learned in their role and the continued education that they take on. As a not-for-profit organization, PBC has put together compensation, benefits, paid vacation and pension contributions that are standard within the lower mainland while being able to directly impact the health an wellbeing of members across BC.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly Positive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Start Time Convenient Location Mostly Friendly Staff

    Cons

    No Flex Schedule for Exempt Staff No Work from Home Policy Culture, Direction and Team Building are Lacking Very Pro Union

    Continue reading

    Pacific Blue Cross Response

    February 5, 2020

    It is always great to get feedback from staff about how to increase the engagement level at work. Having flexible start time, a gret location, great staff, a work place with a lot of great amenities like a fitness centre, cafeteria, sit-stand desks, fitness classes all help to create a great work environment. We're always looking to increase the engagement level and looking at a work from home option is an area that will be looked into further.

  10. "Politics trumps all"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good health and dental benefits

    Cons

    Certain contractors can get away with any sort of behavior, bullying and incompetency due to their contacts in the organization.

    Continue reading
Found 97 reviews