PSAV Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PSAV Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
PSAV CEO Mike McIlwain
Mike McIlwain
446 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food at some locations and reimbursement for suits(in 32 reviews)

  • "Nice, modern and clean facility, Good people to work with and for(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life Balance can be tough, but that is the nature of the hospitality industry(in 72 reviews)

  • "You sometimes have to work long hours(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PSAV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid Back and relaxed. Friendly staff You get free food

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    PSAV2019-03-28
  2. "Underpaid, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AV Technician in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PSAV part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent work with high turnover means many chances to be promoted

    Cons

    Heavily underpaid compared to market rate, management is incompetent at most properties, high turnover means a lot of friends you make at work leave for better opportunities and lastly a lot of work is done in an unsafe way and while upper management preaches about safety middle and lower management are almost always more concerned about getting stuff done on time instead of safely

    Advice to Management

    Pay people more, train us, give us opportunities to move up and use our skills.

    PSAV2019-10-21
  3. "On the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Event Technology in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PSAV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    networking, new opportunities to grow, PSAV University

    Cons

    lack of local senior management, lack of client-centric approach

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your people so they can focus on your clients

    PSAV2019-08-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Busy environment, old technology, low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PSAV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    not that I know of

    Cons

    to many cons, no work life balance.

    PSAV2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "OK Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at PSAV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people Nice venues / hotel staff Decent benefits package

    Cons

    Poor management False promises

    PSAV2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "They bought the competition and now own the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PSAV full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Seasonal work for technicians. Indoor work for managers.

    Cons

    Offices are just desks in storage areas. Constantly moving the goalposts for the incentives. Technician bonuses are based on heavily subjective and variable survey results. For example, 94.4% is considered a failure of service and makes the property ineligible for bonuses. Recently, PSAV reduced the sales commission program due to the success of sales managers. Commission rates are 0.7% - 1.5% with the top tiers... out of range due to budget goals that include +20% growth year-to-year. Yes, really. Incentives are generally placed out of reach, so plan to work for your salary/wage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Morale is down. The rah-rah attitude of your self-promotion does not extend to the venue locations. Our RVP can only filter out this drive for useless metrics so much.

    PSAV2019-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start, bad place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audiovisual Technician in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PSAV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of hours Good training Great for networking

    Cons

    Bad management Dangle the carrot for promotions to get you to do more than your role for no more pay

    Advice to Management

    I understand you're not given much to work with in terms of budget but treat your techs like the people they are rather than a means to and end

    PSAV2019-07-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Event Technology in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PSAV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can not think of a single pro.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, awful training, hotel egos, mismanaged, hotel management a joke, old equipment, no support, high expectations for low pay, out of date computer software, awful all around.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees better. Have higher standards. Train people to do their job (this should be a no brainier)

    PSAV2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No Concern for Employees - DON'T WORK THERE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PSAV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many. Worked with some good people but most of them were treated equally as poorly.

    Cons

    Horrible leadership with absolutely no concern for employers. Arbitrarily reduced or denied commission payments without informing employees. We find out only when we don't get paid. Management changes affecting staff are not communicated. No concern for workload. Discussions for promised additional support simply ignored. It is a management group with very little concern about their employees. Leadership is... extremely self-centered and self-promoting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Someone at a senior level needs to realize what is going on or maybe they simply aren't that interested. Glad to be gone!!

    PSAV2019-04-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "PSAV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PSAV full-time

    Pros

    A good place to lern the ropes and get you ready for a career at another company

    Cons

    Management is a bunch of talking heads

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    PSAV2019-02-14
Found 1131 reviews
</>Embed