PMC-Sierra Senior Design Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PMC-Sierra Senior Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
PMC-Sierra CEO Gregory S. (Greg) Lang
Gregory S. (Greg) Lang
5 Ratings
  1. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra for more than a year

    Pros

    compensation, work, open culture, healthy environment, well planned projects

    Cons

    long working hours, benefits, stocks

    PMC-Sierra2017-04-07
  2. "Senior ASIC engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior ASIC Design Engineer in Tel Aviv-Yafo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra for more than 5 years

    Pros

    best technology, people, atmosphere, experience

    Cons

    doing bad business, lost many markets, weak management

    PMC-Sierra2016-07-05
  3. "Excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PMC-Sierra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly recommend, especially for entry level chip designers. You will do things at PMC quickly that you would not do for 3 to 5 years in other companies. Senior designers will help you. Love it here. Benefits are very good (at least compared to my previous companies).

    Cons

    Satellite offices all over the world can cause interesting conference call times. However the company is sensitive and there is usually a good amount of flexibility when this happens.

    PMC-Sierra2015-11-23
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PMC-Sierra

    Pros

    Latest technology & flexible timings

    Cons

    I don't see any cons...Great place to work

    PMC-Sierra2015-10-22
  5. "Good company but very Burnaby focussed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PMC had some very competent engineers with a good detailed hardware design flow. Good company for freshers to join and learn

    Cons

    It was very HeadQuarter ( HQ) focussed. Satellite offices were never their priority.

    PMC-Sierra2015-08-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not Good in recent times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cab facility is good and have a right work life balance

    Cons

    Working experience in PMC of lately have not been so good. Some technical Manager doesnt understand even the bit of technical stuffs and behave as if they are working in some rocket design centre. Some are so irritating that they have their own piece of understanding which is way behind in time and lack accepting fresh ideas and stick to their legacy (during the era of electronics during which transistors were made using...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure management are made to update to the new market trend and make them learn new technology

    PMC-Sierra2013-11-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Review of PMC-Sierra Inda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Their flows not that bad and there is an emphasis on process which not every semiconductor company has * Their salaries are above par Industry but remember that is to retain/attract good people who would never ever join PMC India

    Cons

    * PMC-Sierra India is one of the most unprofessional organization I have ever seen in my entire career and I would not say this for my other previous employers * Whole of PMC-Sierra India reeks of incompetency and possibly corruption, lies and machinations to hide them from the senior management in North America. When the senior management visits India, India management goes overboard in obsequious behavior to please...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Wake up and send an independent observer to PMC-Sierra India to look into unprofessionalism and irregularities. * As much as India local management would like you to believe, no, not all India Design Centers are incompetent. * People with lack of integrity and poor work ethics do not inspire engineers

    PMC-Sierra2013-08-08
  8. "Very bad place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra

    Pros

    PMC was not a good place to work in. Too much politics . Sr Management was pretty incompetent. Most of the good work was controlled by people in Burnaby

    Cons

    Too much politics All the good work moved to Burnaby Managers were bad at schedules. Though smart engineers,good process etc

    Advice to Management

    Don't concentrate all the work in Burnaby Give competitive salaries Middle managers need to be better at scheduling. More foresight.

    PMC-Sierra2010-09-02
  9. "Too Bad the bubble burst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PMC-Sierra

    Pros

    Very fair environment with interesting technologies and support

    Cons

    As with most, the hours can be long and there are often little amounts of down time between projects to get caught up with life. Our design center was one of the casualties of the "downsizing" efforts following the telecom bubble burst and recovery is still questionable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward!

    PMC-Sierra2009-04-29
Found 9 reviews