PBS Systems Employee Reviews about "pbs"

Updated Apr 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 87 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
PBS Systems President David Bradley (no image)
David Bradley
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are also periodic staff lunches, and cookie day on the last Wednesday of every month(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No downside at pbs every thing is great(in 9 reviews)

  • "Unless you are family/friends, you will go nowhere (that's expected)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "pbs"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place if you're motivated to be great!

      Apr 28, 2020 - Developer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good sense of team unit - love the people I work with. I feel like I've always had the ability to make a difference for customers and impacting my work experience. I have seen great people rise quickly and create opportunity for themselves and others. There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths

      Cons

      There's been a lot of growth and hiring in the past couple of years... starting new means you have to shine to get accelerated career growth. That said, I've seen the people who invest themselves get rewarded.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us with a five star and an honest review of PBS Systems. I can really relate to your reference to PBS promoting a “good sense of team unit” within the work environment and the sense of community that PBS creates – it makes PBS a great place to come to work. PBS has grown over many years and as we continue to expand, we are continuously working to improve our process and growth for the company’s success. We want to ensure that PBS is a place where every employee receives the attention or recognition that they deserve as an individual and as a professional. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Dec 20, 2019 - Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Over the last year, I’ve read many reviews posted here and would like to add my comments. I think that the people posting negative reviews do not have a lot of experience working for growing companies. The majority of the negative comments/complaints here are found at any corporate office. I have been fortunate to work for PBS for many years, in several positions, over my 10+ years with them. I am proud to work for a company who continues to grow every year. Yes, there have been challenges with the rapid growth, but the challenges I’ve seen are comparable to other companies I’ve worked for. The grass is not greener with another company, and actually, in my opinion, in many cases, upper management has been ahead of the game when making changes. PBS continues to hire experts in their fields so that the culture continues to successfully grow with the advice and guidance from these experts. If you work hard, PBS does recognize and reward you. The comment that only family or friends get promoted or favored is not true. PBS is a family-oriented business. Family started the business and other family members came on board. Over the years, employees have suggested to their family members to apply for positions, because PBS is a great company to work for. That shows that employees believe in PBS and enjoy working here. There is a huge number of people who have worked for PBS for over 10 years. Of course, these employees develop friendships with the owners and executive staff. These family and friends value PBS and believe in its vision, so they will work and go above and beyond to reach goals.

      Cons

      Limited parking some days, due to the company's growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us with a five star review and giving great insight into the company. We really enjoyed reading all the things you had to say about PBS. Yes, PBS has grown over the years and as we continue to expand, we know that keeping up with the growth can be challenging but we are continuously working to improve our processes. With the continuous growth one of the biggest challenges we face is parking. At our current facility, we have purchased extra parking spots within walking distance. However, once the new Calgary HQ is in operation, all the employees will have a guaranteed parking spot within the facility compound. We’re now less than 12 months away from completion. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any questions or concerns please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, of HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good people, good environment.

      Jun 18, 2019 - Communications in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PBS is a good place to work. There is room for upward career growth, and they will move people around between departments to find the best fit for an employee. Staff who show initiative, or constructively challenge the status quo are realized by management. Compensation is fair, but the big benefit is the culture.

      Cons

      The company is moving fast, and occasionally the process to handle things is outdated or has bottlenecks. Choose your department within PBS carefully - some are more structured than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Marketing Operations Manager

      Thanks for the constructive points. I am so glad you pointed out the 'good people.' i think that is PBS' greatest asset. Process review is constant at PBS. We understand that we can always do things in newer and more streamlined ways. Hopefully since you're aware of this you're one of the many staff that comes up with the enhanced processes. It definitely keeps us on our toes and keeps things fresh and fun. Seamus G Marketing

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work & Build a Career

      Jun 18, 2019 - Communications & Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for advancement and growth - you can even try different roles to get experience and find the right fit Team-centered work environment Family owned and run, with a great corporate culture PBS is a growing business, which means that it's an exciting time to work at PBS! New offices, new employees, plenty of opportunity to get involved, etc.

      Cons

      Employee perception of the company tends to vary, depending on a person's role in the organization Minimal paid vacation time Basic benefits and compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      This review made my day. I can really relate to how 'exciting' it can be to work here. With all the growth and opportunities to travel and learn new skills it is a pretty fun place to be. Compensation packages are in almost constant review. We recently upgraded/updated the benefits package and it has been really well received. I hope you're benefiting from the upgrades. Peoples attitudes do vary but we see that as real life. I'm known as pretty cynical so everybody takes me with a pinch of salt. As for vacation, I'd suggest speaking with your manager or HR, hr@pbssystems.com. I've taken extended leave for some travels and the company made it work for me. So go and talk to them and visit somewhere exciting! Seamus G Marketing

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Service support analyst at pbs

      Oct 9, 2019 - Service Support Analyst in Milton, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a very good company

      Cons

      No downside at pbs every thing is great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on Glassdoor. We are glad that you see PBS as a ‘very good company’, and we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that image within the industry. In the future, if you encounter an event that could reflect as negative or even positive towards the company, please reach out to HR: HR@pbssystems.com. Thank you again for your positive feedback! Kira T - Communication Administrator

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with plenty of opportunities if you put in the work!

      Feb 19, 2019 - Team Lead in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked with this company for almost 6 years now; and if you put in the proper dedication and work into your job and work with the company, there are plenty of opportunities for you. It's a family run company that doesn't make me feel like I work for "Corporate America", but rather that I'm part of a Family and a Vision. I'm proud of the work I put out, and I've been given many opportunities to grow and expand in ways that someone in my field normally wouldn't ever get. I see a great future for PBS and with it, I see a great future for myself. The opportunity to grow and expand and allow me to help shape that future.

      Cons

      I always believe that there's room for improvement, hence why I rarely rate anything 5 stars. With any company, of course, there are always office politics and of course, benefits could always be better. But unfortunately we don't live in paradise, and you need to take the good with the bad, and the good far outweighs the bad. What could be improved upon is cracking down on the employees with negative attitudes, that doesn't necessarily give off a team vibe. Or cracking down on those employees who are hurting the company rather than contributing to it. These people sometimes hurt PBS rather than help it by bring negative attitudes and having others need to do extra work for them.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Marketing Operations Manager

      Thank you for this thorough and constructive review. It is exciting to hear that you see a 'great future' with the company. I've passed your suggestions along to our management team. If you ever want to talk in detail about any of your points please contact our HR team , hr@pbssystems.com. I Have to say i really enjoyed reading your review I have shared a similar experience with the company. Emma C Communications

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Marketing Assistant

      Dec 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Worked there for several years, and appreciated the company culture and opportunities to grow. This company is growing very quickly which is positive and an indication of their strong products. As a result, lots of opportunities to move up within the company to those who work hard. Had recommended PBS to several qualified friends, and all who were hired are still working for the company and thriving. Highly recommend PBS!

      Cons

      Parking can be a challenge.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Do your Home Work

      Jun 25, 2019 - Support Services in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much, it's like any other job, regular paycheck.

      Cons

      It's funny to see PBS posting Fake Reviews to boost star rating. IT's just a crappy place to work, as most genuin reviewer mentioned. Now the VPs and their rat buddies are creating fake accounts and post FAKE "great to be part of family business" BS. Makes me laugh. Just shameless!!!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am really sorry your experience at PBS does not live up to our intentions of being a truly rewarding place to work. I can assure you that we do not in any way condone ‘fake’ reviews. The goal is always to take feedback, both the positive and negative, from Glassdoor and strive to improve the experiences of all employees. We are proud that PBS has such a strong staff and family centered culture, however, this does not directly impact the management selection process. Positions at the company are assigned based on ability, merit, tenure and industry experience. As for ‘friends,’ when you work anywhere long enough, it’s almost impossible not to make friends. We do encourage staff relationships for company events and we see this as one of our greatest positives. We do not want anyone to feel like working here is just a ‘regular paycheck.’ If you would like to share more about your experiences, please contact HR, hr@pbssystems.com. We always encourage discussion if it helps make PBS a better place to work. I hope you find satisfaction going forward, either here or any future endeavors. Thank you again for your feedback. Seamus G Marketing

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Proud to be a part of a growing family business!

      Mar 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my role, I am fortunate to work closely with the owners of the company and I pride myself on the work I am able to do and be a part of, especially as the company continues to grow. I feel like a true part of the family business at PBS. Because the company is family owned and operated, there are some nice perks for employees, including gym access, free parking and staff lunches. All of these things add to the warm culture of the organization.

      Cons

      My commute to work in the south from downtown Calgary isn't always ideal, but this is manageable.

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love This Company

      Mar 6, 2018 - Marketing Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family business, family feeling, lots of opportunities

      Cons

      Every job has downsides if you concentrate on them, so I do not have any specific to PBS.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PBS Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PBS Systems? Share Your Experiences

    PBS Systems logo
    or