PACCAR Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PACCAR Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 499 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
PACCAR CEO Ronald E. Armstrong
Ronald E. Armstrong
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good compensation & benefits (including pension and 401K), work-life balance(in 47 reviews)

  • "Stable company with good growth perspectives(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dress code formal for engineers(in 33 reviews)

  • "Old school, old systems, not open to H1B sponsorship(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Powertrain Calibration Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PACCAR full-time

    Pros

    I got good pay in Paccar

    Cons

    Sometimes I feel board of my job.

    PACCAR2018-07-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience, not enough to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PACCAR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My internship at Paccar gave me experience that came in handy when I graduated university. It pays more than most other internships and I worked with great people.

    Cons

    The company is very conservative and is an older, stale environment to work in. I wasn't given enough to do in my intership and was bored a lot of the time. Was ok for an internship but I would not come back.

    PACCAR2019-02-03
  3. "Coordonateur Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PACCAR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    dynamic, well administrated and many opportunities.

    Cons

    Plants decisions at corporate management

    Advice to Management

    Give more decision control to local management

    PACCAR2016-03-12
  4. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Mirabel, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PACCAR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great learning environment and lots of freedom to experiment and try to improve processes. great product with dynamic workplace

    Cons

    limited progress in the cost centers. tough framework with somewhat restrictive conditions. engineering lacks in speed and proximity to the assembly line

    PACCAR2015-06-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly planned system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PACCAR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to learn new things

    Cons

    Work-life balance is non-existent, employees work hard with no acknowledgement from management, "at least you get paid" attitude from management, pushing for numbers at the expense of demoralized and over-worked employees.

    Advice to Management

    Train and understand the importance of happy an army of happy employees. This is applicable to the CEO and trickling down. Asking supervisors to appeal and understand their employees, yet pushing them to achieve numbers with an already demoralized, workforce is counter-productive. Your employees will leave you, and knowing how long it takes to successfully train someone, your business will shut down the moment 4 of... your top employees leave.

    Show More
    PACCAR2014-08-05
  6. "Worst Employer ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PACCAR

    Pros

    Fair compensation, good employees trapped in a terrible work environment. Not much else can be described as a good place to work

    Cons

    Worst management team ever. Bad morale amongst employees, stuffy,outdated atmosphere, no recognition of holidays, no communication whatsoever amongst management and staff.

    Advice to Management

    Change your stuffy autocratic way of doing business. Give managers management training, they could sure use it, treat people with respect and give work, life balance. Recognize good accomplishments.

    PACCAR2011-12-18
  7. "Worst employer ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PACCAR

    Pros

    Not very many. Fair compensation. Good employees to work with but the most incompetent management and autocratic style ever worked with.

    Cons

    Terrible unfeeling managers. Do not know how to communicate with employees. Very stuffy atmosphere and very unwelcoming employer. Mislead you to believe a good place to work. No recognition. No Christmas parties, birthdays absolutely nothing. Understaffed and treated poorly.

    Advice to Management

    Give managers management training. They sure need it. Give people work life balance. The worst I have ever seen. Acknowledge good behaviour not just bad. Loosen up a bit. Nobody wears ties in this day and age especially in a trucking firm.

    PACCAR2011-03-04
  8. "Old school culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PACCAR full-time

    Pros

    Stable company and pay check

    Cons

    Very old school. High pressure

    PACCAR2019-09-02
  9. "Good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Accountant 

    I have been working at PACCAR full-time

    Pros

    Good team, happy to work together.

    Cons

    Salary could be better than others.

    PACCAR2019-07-28
  10. "fleet manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PACCAR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, career advancement

    Cons

    Very conservative, no jeans, from the top down management

    Advice to Management

    Less conservative, more casual days, work from home options

    PACCAR2019-08-02
Found 499 reviews