Oxford University Press "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Oxford University Press Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Oxford University Press CEO Nigel Portwood (no image)
Nigel Portwood
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Holiday car pay Work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "A nascent focus on change and digital transformation is going to make OUP an exciting (and career-defining) place to work for many people(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need more investments in the publishing operations if OUP is going to be an active participant in the new publishing environment(in 64 reviews)

  • "Low pay and slow career progression(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I'm one of the lucky ones..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    OUP (Canada) was a company I specifically wanted to work for, and I'm one of the lucky ones who can say they've achieved one of their large career accomplishments. My experience has been largely satisfactory. While my salary is probably below industry standard, the benefits package has looked after me and my family to our satisfaction. I work for an amazing Director who has guided and encouraged me through the development of my career. Pros: - Sense of pride in my employment - Representing a quality "brand" in the educational publishing sector - Opportunity to develop my career - I enjoy great relationships with most of my peers and managers - Very understanding of personal life and events, good work/life balance

    Cons

    I can't disagree with the other reviewer that there is an air of negativity and patronization which seems to hover over parts of the company. There seems to be an attitude amongst top management at OUP that we will not be market leaders in exploring "new media" and publishing for the electronic age....as long as we keep up and keep clawing out some market share, that will be okay. This in part negatively affects the "sense of pride" aspect posted in the Pros. Cons: - More reactive than proactive to changes in publishing and new media - Limited internal career opportunities due to small size of company Tough to list any more specific cons...I've been fairly happy here.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2013-05-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Literally caused me to have a nervous breakdown."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Editorial Representative - Higher Education in Guelph, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    company car, fantastic benefits. The perks of the position were great. The work was interesting. Met a lot of great people.

    Cons

    too much work. too much travel. too much pressure. Working 9 hour days on top of driving 4+ hours a day and going home to 2+ hours of paperwork is impossible to keep up. Working all day Sunday to write a report means you litterally only get Saturday to yourself. WORST WORK LIFE BALANCE EVER!

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2012-11-01
  3. "Making necessary transitions, but it's a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Still values the importance of the scholarship we publish in a very challenging marketplace. Good work/life balance, which is very hard to find. Opportunities to move around, though admittedly requires having a champion.

    Cons

    The balance between not-for-profit leader in scholarly comms is very often at odds with the requirements to return a profit to the University. Need more investments in the publishing operations if OUP is going to be an active participant in the new publishing environment.

    Oxford University Press2020-03-04

    Oxford University Press Response

    March 31, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, and we’re pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience at OUP. We are always keen to find out what we can do to improve, so if you would like to tell us anything else about what we’re doing well, and where we can do better, please do get in touch via glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holiday car pay Work life balance

    Cons

    Territory size, commission, job progression

    Oxford University Press2020-01-07

    Oxford University Press Response

    January 20, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and we’re really pleased to hear that you would recommend working with us. You can tell us more about your experiences by emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  5. "Professional Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Madrid
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent exposure to the educational services industry. Very open and friendly staff in a bilingual officespace. Flexible working day. Opportunities to get involved in meaningful work are widespread if you have the confidence to approach people.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is non-existent as an intern. The office is far from the centre of Madrid making it a long commute for many employees.

    Oxford University Press2019-12-14

    Oxford University Press Response

    January 20, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    It’s brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your time as an intern, and we really hope it has benefited you in your future development. We also appreciate your comments around work-life balance and will pass this onto the team that look after our internships. If you want to tell us anything else, please consider emailing us via glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  6. "Meaningful mission with wonderful, cash-strapped colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioning Editor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong mission, great colleagues, good work-life balance, brilliant location

    Cons

    Salaries do not reflect cost of living

    Oxford University Press2019-11-20

    Oxford University Press Response

    December 12, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re really pleased to see that you’re enjoying your time with us. We know so many of our colleagues are proud of our mission. It’s also great to hear that you have been able to achieve a good work-life balance; it’s something we want to help all of our people achieve. If you would like to share any further feedback, please email glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  7. "Positive place to work with good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Editor 

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Great team Good work/life balance Onsite gym Excellent manager

    Cons

    Slow progression Can be bureaucratic

    Oxford University Press2019-10-14

    Oxford University Press Response

    October 17, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We delighted that you had a good experience of working at OUP, and that you were able to achieve a good work-life balance. We know how important that is to our people. If you feel like sharing more detailed feedback about your time here, please do get in touch by emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Stay Far, Far Away - Operating On Name Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on books, I guess Coworkers

    Cons

    Management HR Claim to promote work-life balance but any sign of a disability and suddenly your work is up for debate. Stellar performance reviews prior to that be damned. Obvious favoritism. Some people allowed to work remotely from other states but others aren't allowed to work from home while grievously ill. In short, they don't care about their employees, they're unwilling to pay them a competitive salary and when push comes to shove you're replaceable. They didn't even have me work another full week after I gave my notice. Idiot management wastes time on stupid meetings on nonsense topics rather than working with clients.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-10-07
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Get in. Get experience. Get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people: OUP hires so many hardworking, passionate, driven people. You will make great connections that last even when those people leave the company. OUP has a high employee turnover, so it's a great place to get that first publishing job. They have to replace people so often that it's a good place to find open positions. Turnover also causes a lot of assistants and coordinators to do work that is well above their job responsibilities. You will gain experience that can help you find a new job at a company that takes better care of their employees. Lots of happy hours since everyone quits!

    Cons

    OUP will teach you the hard lesson that the company you work for does not care about you. Your workload, work/life balance, mental health, career progression--none of that matters to senior management. Oxford will inevitably make you feel like you deserve to be mistreated, under payed, overworked. Be sure to leave before you start accepting the blatant corporate abuse that is tolerated in the office.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-08-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Warsaw
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good as your first job, just to have experience and put it in your resume. If you want to gain experience to find a better job, OUP can be good for you, but they will teach you a hard lesson.

    Cons

    Problems with work life balance, poor benefits, huge territories and too many clients per rep. It is difficult (impossible) to get help from a manager. They pay is below market . Workload - if you report it, no one cares, you can even get more work and tasks that should be done asap. Toxic culture, no transparency, no career progression, no integrity,

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-09-28

    Oxford University Press Response

    October 2, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We are concerned by many of the points you raise in your review. It’s really important to us that we have the right working culture, and that our employees feel valued and supported. We would welcome the chance to find out more about your experiences, to enable us to improve in the future. We hope you’ll consider getting in touch with us to tell us more: glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
Found 75 reviews