Oxford University Press "oup" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Oxford University Press Employee Reviews about "oup"

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Oxford University Press CEO Nigel Portwood (no image)
Nigel Portwood
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Holiday car pay Work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "A nascent focus on change and digital transformation is going to make OUP an exciting (and career-defining) place to work for many people(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need more investments in the publishing operations if OUP is going to be an active participant in the new publishing environment(in 64 reviews)

  • "Low pay and slow career progression(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "oup"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, social atmosphere, everyone is very nice. Nice office in accessible location with shopping and restaurants around, free parking, and on major bus routes. Work days end at 4:30 which is much appreciated for those who commute around the GTA.

    Cons

    Compensation is an industry-wide issue which OUP does not escape.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2016-06-11
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Outdated press resistant to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Assistant 

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers were amazing, intelligent, and talented people who made every day better. OUP is great at hiring excellent employees; they are not so great at keeping them.

    Cons

    -Creative thinking is discouraged; company obsessed with maintaining the status quo. -Outdated processes. -Poor treatment of entry level employees, leading to a high turnover rate. -Extremely low pay for an extremely heavy workload. -Senior management is awful and clueless, and bad at communication. -Favouritism runs rampant.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-07-15

    Oxford University Press Response

    July 19, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    It was difficult to read your review, particularly as innovation is important to us and we understand the need for our employees to feel engaged and valued. We are actively looking for ways we can improve our processes and keep our talented people, so if you would like to expand on your thoughts we would welcome the feedback - you can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Huge Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press for less than a year

    Pros

    to be a member of the whole OUP family around the world

    Cons

    bad location, no subway, terrible traffic on route

    Oxford University Press2017-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Prestigious and rewarding employer, suffers from inertia."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press

    Pros

    OUP is a very prestigious company to work for, has a lot of history and respect. You can work with some great people there and be involved with some interesting work. Head office is a beautiful building and site.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to react to market or industry developments.

    Oxford University Press2016-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I'm one of the lucky ones..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    OUP (Canada) was a company I specifically wanted to work for, and I'm one of the lucky ones who can say they've achieved one of their large career accomplishments. My experience has been largely satisfactory. While my salary is probably below industry standard, the benefits package has looked after me and my family to our satisfaction. I work for an amazing Director who has guided and encouraged me through the development of my career. Pros: - Sense of pride in my employment - Representing a quality "brand" in the educational publishing sector - Opportunity to develop my career - I enjoy great relationships with most of my peers and managers - Very understanding of personal life and events, good work/life balance

    Cons

    I can't disagree with the other reviewer that there is an air of negativity and patronization which seems to hover over parts of the company. There seems to be an attitude amongst top management at OUP that we will not be market leaders in exploring "new media" and publishing for the electronic age....as long as we keep up and keep clawing out some market share, that will be okay. This in part negatively affects the "sense of pride" aspect posted in the Pros. Cons: - More reactive than proactive to changes in publishing and new media - Limited internal career opportunities due to small size of company Tough to list any more specific cons...I've been fairly happy here.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2013-05-21
  6. "Making necessary transitions, but it's a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Still values the importance of the scholarship we publish in a very challenging marketplace. Good work/life balance, which is very hard to find. Opportunities to move around, though admittedly requires having a champion.

    Cons

    The balance between not-for-profit leader in scholarly comms is very often at odds with the requirements to return a profit to the University. Need more investments in the publishing operations if OUP is going to be an active participant in the new publishing environment.

    Oxford University Press2020-03-04

    Oxford University Press Response

    March 31, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, and we’re pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience at OUP. We are always keen to find out what we can do to improve, so if you would like to tell us anything else about what we’re doing well, and where we can do better, please do get in touch via glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "The worst place you will ever work, in any industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some wonderful, kind people at the assistant and mid-manager levels. All of them have wised up and moved on.

    Cons

    Rampant abuse of lower-level employees (all female) by senior management (all white and mostly male). I was personally bullied and yelled at, and witnessed sexual harassment of other employees. HR is fully aware of this, yet the same senior management team remains in place. Day to day, you are expected to take on the work of 3-4 people with no perks whatsoever, no resources to help you and a computer system that only functions about half the time. There is little to no chance for advancement, which is why most people don't last more than a year or so. The salary is poverty level, and the health insurance is just ok. The bottom line: OUP culture treats its employees (at the lower and middle levels) as valueless and disposable. Even if you want to get publishing experience, it is NOT worth the soul-crushing, toxic environment. If you value your mental or physical health in the least, you'll stay far away from OUP.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2020-03-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OUP is home to some of the best people you'll ever meet.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, many of OUP's entry- and mid-level employees are undervalued by the company, in both pay and recognition. The future of publishing in NY is not looking great.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2020-02-07

    Oxford University Press Response

    February 28, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experiences of working here, and for your positive feedback about our people. We regret to see your comments around reward, and also the impact of business decisions on our people, and would like the chance to discuss this in more depth. We hope you will consider getting in touch with us to tell us more, so please do email us on glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place to work. Managers haven't got a clue. Very hostile work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Earning potential as a rep is high. Time off is good. Benefits are good

    Cons

    Hostile work environment. Amateurish managers (at best). Lots of sniping and very cliquey. Managers play favorites. Inappropriately closeness between managers and some of their subordinates. Complete and utter lack of coaching. Lacking in any kind of real training or coaching in sales, systems etc. Almost all coaching and training is done online, rather than in a face to face teaching environment and is of the lowest quality I have ever experienced in more than four decades of work experience. I worked for OUP for a long time and only put up with it because of the high earnings potential. It was like an abusive relationship. I am glad to be gone from there.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2020-02-15

    Oxford University Press Response

    February 28, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We are concerned by many of the issues you raise in your review, particularly around our culture and learning and development opportunities. We would really like to understand more about your experiences, so we can identify opportunities for improvement, and encourage you to email us via glassdoor@oup.com. Regarding your point about inappropriate behaviours, you can also raise your concerns for investigation by contacting our confidential helpline - SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A place to start in publishing if you really want to explore publishing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good 401k program, OUP NY is located near subway stations, Penn Station and Grand Central.

    Cons

    Too bureaucratic, too many silos, management talks about change but change is not in the DNA of OUP. Lack of transparency and diversity

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2020-01-21

    Oxford University Press Response

    February 17, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. If you would like to expand on any of the areas you mention in your review – positive or negative – or have ideas of how we can improve further, then please do email us at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
Found 100 reviews