Oxford Learning Center Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Oxford Learning Center Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Oxford Learning Center CEO Nick Whitehead
Nick Whitehead
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay compared to other tutoring positions(in 6 reviews)

  • "If one student cancelled, she somehow rescheduled the session, completely ignoring the tutors time(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Oxford is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center part-time

    Pros

    Great staff, great support. Great feeling getting to help kids.

    Cons

    Nothing to report. They are great.

    Oxford Learning Center2019-06-04
  2. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Oxford Learning Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides systematic training to their employees

    Cons

    Having 3 students per table can be stressful

    Oxford Learning Center2019-09-17
  3. "Good Environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, Good environment, Well organized

    Cons

    nothing I can think of

    Oxford Learning Center2019-08-06
  4. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford Learning Center full-time

    Pros

    None that can be beneficial.

    Cons

    Low pay, terrible management that have no background in education.

    Oxford Learning Center2019-09-06
  5. "Just decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford Learning Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    dynamic environment, location in the first place

    Cons

    advancement opportunities not great, benefits

    Oxford Learning Center2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Education Coordinator in Sherwood Park, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford Learning Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job, wonderful program and workplace culture, fantastic training, great PD and learned skills,opportunity to become certified to administer world-wide academic assessments

    Cons

    Long hours (split shift), owners may be remote but normally still very supportive, program must be followed as-is - very important to do stay consistent with program delivery

    Advice to Management

    Offering more incentives for training opportunities to owners, having education directors who are also owners

    Oxford Learning Center2019-06-30
  7. "Wonderful team and excellent curriculum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Director 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Working with passionate educators - Seeing the positive impact the program has for your students - Helping parents work through difficult times with their children - Working with students K-12 at all stages of life - Long winter holidays

    Cons

    - Late hours and weekends - Low pay no matter your qualifications - Negative attitude towards sick leave - Constant exposure to viruses - No respect for mental health

    Oxford Learning Center2019-06-25
  8. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tutor 

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours small work load

    Cons

    low pay compared to other tutoring positions.

    Oxford Learning Center2019-05-07
  9. "Only suited for working students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center

    Pros

    - There’s a sense of fulfillment and joy when you’re on the same page as the kids and you know they’re learning well - staff have all been very friendly and welcoming

    Cons

    - managed by individual franchisees, has been a mess at location every location I visited - no proper training; only expected to complete an online training that involved learning the company’s vision and learning strategies - thrown into teaching without much support - insane amount of multitasking, no real focused teaching time - no room for growth - unstable hours; I often would be scheduled for x amount of... hours and be sent home early

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Implement a proper training system for people who have no experience teaching or working with young children. There was no sense of support during the sessions.

    Oxford Learning Center2019-04-21
  10. "Rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford Learning Center full-time

    Pros

    Excellent learning environment for kids and staff alike.

    Cons

    N/A, based on my experience.

    Oxford Learning Center2019-04-03
Found 75 reviews