Owens Corning Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Owens Corning Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Owens Corning CEO Brian Chambers
Brian Chambers
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Steady no stress career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent hours, lots of overtime opportunities, above average rate of pay, reasonable benefits package, great vacation time if you get to +10 years under your belt, 12-hour shifts, career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Nearly always understaffed in multiple departments, a massive lack of communication from management/safety/HR team to the production team, no team building/out of work/family activities arranged by the management, plant nurse only works part-time.

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate more with your staff and listen to our ideas regarding plant improvements and safety, just because something has been done a certain way for so long doesn't mean it can't be improved. We need to be on top of maintenance and not just wait for things to break - Mechanical upkeep will lead to increased production!!

    Owens Corning2019-03-15

    Owens Corning Response

    August 23, 2019Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a good company to work at.

    Cons

    Too many to name. No loyalty to employees.

    Owens Corning2019-06-25

    Owens Corning Response

    August 23, 2019Owens Corning Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The feedback you provided is valuable because we are always looking for ways to improve.

  3. "Creel Operator Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creel Operator (Summer) 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Owens Corning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty high pay for a summer job. Lots of benefits and freebies from management. Once you learn the job it is easy as pie

    Cons

    Hard shift changes, toxic atmosphere because the factory was moving, management didn't relate to the workers. The job is quite difficult and many people failed.

    Owens Corning2016-01-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Owens Corning

    Pros

    Good people in manufacturing.....meet some really great people, compensation, promote from within, decent benefits,

    Cons

    Short sighted, not very supportive of those actually making products, very financially motivated company

    Owens Corning2014-02-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A step back in my career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Owens Corning

    Pros

    family/work balance (not able to say more than that)

    Cons

    lack of career development, unused talent, lack of empowerment, terrible communication

    Advice to Management

    Have a closer look at who you have running your manufacturing facilities. There isn't enough energy put into ensuring the right managers are in place. You are paying big money for salaries of employees who focus solely on themselves and there job security, rather than doing what they need to do in order to keep you profitable. Focus more on the people and the profit will follow.

    Owens Corning2013-09-24
  6. "Operation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary on time Transportation Gym Canteen Dispensery Sports section Trainings for various topics

    Cons

    Lots of physical activity are involved in production work.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Owens Corning2019-10-18
  7. "Good culture, lots of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Considered for people at all levels

    Cons

    Lots of work, very thin structure

    Owens Corning2019-10-09
  8. "If you like money!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Converter Operator Class I in Summit, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay for the area, great benefits such as 401k, healthcare, stock purchase plan, quarterly bonuses. Steady hours

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, degrading managment, crumbling facility in need of repairs, hours, lack of job atability.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they give advice. Stop firing numerous employees leaving the rest to suffer and carry 60+ hr work weeks in the elements.

    Owens Corning2019-10-16
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Leader in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freedom to do what you do best. Opportunity to grow in responsibility and learn. Feel like you are listened too by leadership. Company wide focus on growth.

    Cons

    Like many larger companies, lot's or organizational changes. Though moving to less, too many high priority home run projects diluting efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Less projects = more focus, less "Oops", and better outcomes.

    Owens Corning2019-09-29
  10. "It is a good journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Owens Corning full-time

    Pros

    People are very easier to work with

    Cons

    Too much paper work to go through

    Owens Corning2019-09-27
Found 455 reviews