Oshkosh Corporation Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 of over 553 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Oshkosh Corporation President and Chief Executive Officer John Pfeifer
John Pfeifer
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "People first culture is evident(in 111 reviews)

  • "People first culture put people first(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some SR leaders fail to recognize that as well as not living the CEO's vision of people first(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work life balance struggles In job(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic company

      Jan 14, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Tillamook, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong values flow from the top down. Big focus on ethics, development, and well being of team members. Great people and work life balance.

      Cons

      Nothing major I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Rock Solid, Highly Sustainable Company with a PEOPLE FIRST Leadership Style

      Jan 24, 2021 - Vice President, Global Customer Financial Servoces in Rockaway Beach, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership integrity and character, excellent salary and benefits, very good work life balance

      Cons

      Limited cross business unit career development

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company. Great Vision. Great Purpose.

      Oct 5, 2020 - Digital Technology in Stockton, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fantastic purpose. I feel proud everyday I walk into the office which is something a lot of companies I have worked for fail to do. This company saves lives and serves the community. -People first culture provides great work life balance and helps you succeed in your role. -Very high tech groundbreaking work. -Tons of opportunities for training and furthering your education. -Senior management is very open and honest. -Great work facilities. -Handling COVID19 extremely well. -I have always had fun at work since day one. -My manager has cared about my success since I was an intern and has provided constant support and work life balance while I was in school. They truly reflects the people first culture. -CEO Wilson Jones is fantastic. Spends time meeting with interns and people on the ground floor of the company constantly. Inspiring leader who truly cares about this company, the people here, and everyone's success. -Continuous improvement is constant. Every single day this company gets better.

      Cons

      -Since I have been here there have been a lot of management change ups and sudden reorganization going on. These changes were necessary however it left several of my coworkers in positions they may have not wanted to be in or were not passionate about. -Middle management has been distant. I could walk past the CEO and he would know my name but management two or three levels up may not know who I am or what I do. -Wish there was more opportunity for remote work as it helps me save money and have more time with my family.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      A great place to make a difference and have an impact

      Aug 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Tillamook, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance, caring senior mgmt, Can do attitude, ascending not descending

      Cons

      Locations look bad on the map, but are enjoyable once you experience them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place to work

      Oct 2, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Hagerstown, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, people, many more pros

      Cons

      Work life balance struggles In job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor Management

      Dec 28, 2020 - Human Resources in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The new building is nice

      Cons

      work/ life balance Management is very political

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Definitely don't go into the IT department

      Jul 28, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The CEO is really someone you want to get behind. - The industry is one of the most stable in the US right now - The CEO really does try to make the company a great one to work for - The people on the ground doing the work really are great and most people are nice to work with that aren't in Leadership positions. - The company is big, so there could be more career opportunities if you find your interests move, IF you're in Wisconsin (not so much if you're not). - Work/life balance is one of the best I've ever had.

      Cons

      - There is a hyper focus on Wisconsin. If you're an employee not in Wisconsin or one who works mostly remote, the Leadership seems to look at you as less than and your ability for promotion is greatly reduced. - The IT department is abysmal and run by Leadership who does not have the same care and "people first" mindset of the CEO or Leadership in other parts of the organization. - There is an "old boys" mentality in Leadership, not just in IT. They rely heavily on scratching the backs of those they've worked with and "outsiders" are seen as that for an extremely long time. - Very few true Leadership opportunities for minorities or women (outside of the stereotypical HR positions). Biggest take away: The IT department has taken an almost adversarial response to the rest of the organization. The focus not just of the CIO but also of his new hires has been on profit and nothing else, and he has very little interest in the employees on his team or how to engage with them. He (and the people he has hired since taking position) are extremely resistant to counter opinions and sees any dissent as a reason you're expendable. The department is poorly run and people who have worked here for decades are seriously unhappy for the first time in a lifelong career. It's disheartening and no one at the top seems to be listening. There have been several complaints to HR that are dismissed, and there is no feedback loop to get to the good Leadership at the top to let them know what's happening. I think that's why people are turning to Glassdoor - in hopes the feedback sees the light of day. - The healthcare package is well below the standard for a company of this size.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 6, 2020 - Anonymous in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team work and community engagement,

      Cons

      Work life balance at times can be challenging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Military Friendly, People Focused

      Oct 14, 2019 - Senior Project Leader in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First employer that I feel truly embraces a culture focused on its employees' development and welfare ("People First"). -Strong Military connection in product and people, engaged employee Military Network, growing military focused recruiting, and continuous support of veterans in our communities (supporting the Honor Flights, Army 10 Milers, Wounded Warrior campaigns etc) -Inspirational leadership: Wilson Jones is approachable, humble, and an "in-the-trenches" type of leader. You will experience many opportunities to see and speak with the CEO and other higher level leadership. -Employee action groups centered around development and inclusion: Women's Network, Military Network, Abilities Network, Young Professionals Network - Community focused: 8hrs of paid Volunteer time, and so many company sponsored opportunities to help around the community. I, personally, was given an opportunity to put plan a fundraising event for our local back-to-school fair. This event, alone, raised $2,500 to help local students-in-need. This is an example of the many, employee-led initiatives the company supports on behalf of bettering our communities. There is also an Oshkosh Cares program, where our donations are used to support employees when disaster strikes (ex Hurricane relief) -Feed Forward teams: an opportunity to join other employees on initiatives to make an impact either internally or externally -Opinions Matter: Annual engagement survey's, frequent "You said, we did" communications about how our suggestions have gone into place -Flex time opportunity to assist with work/life balance -Strives for innovation: There is an annual innovation competition in Engineering called the "Musky Pond" and annual company wide "Oshkosh Excellence Awards" for many categories including innovation, community support, etc. -Great Benefits: Health insurance plans based on single, adult and child/children, and family. Benefits such as long/short term disabilities, accidental death paid by company, competitive maternity leave program (and possibly paternity plan in the works), comparable health, 401k, dental, vision, dependent care flex savings, HSA, etc benefits. -Products with impact: from Fire Trucks, Military Vehicles, Public Service Vehicles, to Construction vehicles...our products are built to protect! We are constantly innovating new ways to overcome threats and obstacles in all the areas our vehicles serve. Note: there is a difference in Shop/Office benefits and experiences. This review is based on Full-time, Salary/Office employee.

      Cons

      -Certain areas have limited career growth or paths are unclear. There are initiatives to create/communicate job "pipelines" in the works. Engineering offers job shadowing opportunities. -Health plans could be more affordable -Communication is improving between all segments and departments

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      moving forward

      Jun 9, 2020 - Assistant Manager After Sales in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      travelling, meet new people, challenging, wonderful experience

      Cons

      management, work, life balance, stress, support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Oshkosh Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Oshkosh Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    Oshkosh Corporation logo
    or