Original Joe’s Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Original Joe’s Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Derek Doke
6 Ratings
  1. "Good place to learn corporate service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Server 

      I have been working at Original Joe’s full-time

      Pros

      Boss was amazing, could get time off whenever, fun staff for the most part, good to advance

      Cons

      The kitchen staff was moody,

      Original Joe’s2019-06-29
    • "Tips delayed, more training, ..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Chilliwack, BC

      I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Quickly learn more about a bar atmosphere restaurant -if your really lucky, on an extremely busy day, can walk out with a decent amount of tips(if you have cash - they give you your tips if you don't walk out with them in cash, on the next shift)

      Cons

      -Better training - the most part of training is at lunchtime, and the atmosphere for lunch and nighttime is very different. Happy hour changes the menu, make sure you put things in correctly, as manager on shift watches everything you enter into the pos. -Make sure that even when other servers put in food for you that they put it in correctly. There are a few times when other servers with seniority would put food in...

      Show More
      Original Joe’s2019-07-08
    • "Bar Tender"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Tender 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      This is a fun and dynamic atmosphere

      Cons

      Tips aren't as good as other places

      Original Joe’s2019-07-04
    • "It's an alright place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Line Cook in Kelowna, BC

        I worked at Original Joe’s full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Staff was super nice , foh and boh worked together well

        Cons

        Repetitive work , no room to be creative , late night hours , skeleton crew which meant lots of o/t

        Original Joe’s2019-06-09
      • "Poor Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cook in Duncan, BC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Original Joe’s full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Management gets free meals, Free uniform (shirt and cap)

        Cons

        This is the only Oj’s I have worked that doesn’t give a free meal. Management needs a lot of work and unity, Racism exist in this restaurant that means if you’re a foreign worker you are not allowed to speak your language while on shift. 14 for a start even if you had lots of experience. There are 4kitchen supervisors, 1KM and 3line cooks in this location :). Most of the time tips are done 7-8pm every other Friday.

        Original Joe’s2019-06-10
      • "Hostess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -One free meal. -Easy to request days off. -Manager was awesome. -Staff Christmas party was awesome.

        Cons

        -Some waitress were not nice and management didn’t do much about it. They tipped way too little.

        Original Joe’s2019-04-18
      • "Okayish?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess in Saskatoon, SK
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Original Joe’s part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fast paced environment with short shifts so it would be a quick and busy shift most of the time..staff was friendly most of the time but when they got stressed it was hell.

        Cons

        As a hostess you litteraly do most cleaning in the front. All dusting of lights, wall art, seating areas. Sweeping and mopping at the end of your shift along with cleaning the washrooms spotlessly. Plus you are always minding the front, seating people, bussing tables of plates and drinks, and helping out customers when they ask for refills or food..its not a pretty job and its definitely not rewarding.

        Advice to Management

        I saw huge issues at the store I worked at in terms of management and cleanliness. Expectations are high for a $11 an hour job with a 1% tipout (that I didn't even get a few times which really floored me). I would only ever recommend being a hostess here if you are 18 and wanting to learn about being in a bar before becoming a waitress.

        Original Joe’s2019-04-14
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Server in Surrey, BC
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Serving is so dependent on the staff you work with. With a good staff, you will LOVE.

        Cons

        You can't choose who you work with. People make all the difference. Low-ish bills compared to some other restaurants, but overall decent money!

        Original Joe’s2019-03-12
      • "Server"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
        Recommends

        I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people and awesome management.

        Cons

        Alot of girls who have seniority, but typical of this industry.

        Original Joe’s2019-03-12
      • "Tip outs are always delayed, no free meal"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Line Cook in Duncan, BC
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Original Joe’s full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discounted meal, 30mins break time

        Cons

        Poor management, Tips are always delayed and no free meal to the kitchen staff. People come and go and sometimes you’ll end up closing the kitchen by yourself.

        Original Joe’s2019-01-28
      Found 34 reviews