Original Joe’s Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Original Joe’s Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Derek Doke
6 Ratings
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Serving is so dependent on the staff you work with. With a good staff, you will LOVE.

    Cons

    You can't choose who you work with. People make all the difference. Low-ish bills compared to some other restaurants, but overall decent money!

    Original Joe’s2019-03-12
  2. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -One free meal. -Easy to request days off. -Manager was awesome. -Staff Christmas party was awesome.

    Cons

    -Some waitress were not nice and management didn’t do much about it. They tipped way too little.

    Original Joe’s2019-04-18
  3. "Okayish?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Original Joe’s part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with short shifts so it would be a quick and busy shift most of the time..staff was friendly most of the time but when they got stressed it was hell.

    Cons

    As a hostess you litteraly do most cleaning in the front. All dusting of lights, wall art, seating areas. Sweeping and mopping at the end of your shift along with cleaning the washrooms spotlessly. Plus you are always minding the front, seating people, bussing tables of plates and drinks, and helping out customers when they ask for refills or food..its not a pretty job and its definitely not rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    I saw huge issues at the store I worked at in terms of management and cleanliness. Expectations are high for a $11 an hour job with a 1% tipout (that I didn't even get a few times which really floored me). I would only ever recommend being a hostess here if you are 18 and wanting to learn about being in a bar before becoming a waitress.

    Original Joe’s2019-04-14
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at Original Joe’s part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people and awesome management.

    Cons

    Alot of girls who have seniority, but typical of this industry.

    Original Joe’s2019-03-12
  5. "Tip outs are always delayed, no free meal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Duncan, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Original Joe’s full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Discounted meal, 30mins break time

    Cons

    Poor management, Tips are always delayed and no free meal to the kitchen staff. People come and go and sometimes you’ll end up closing the kitchen by yourself.

    Original Joe’s2019-01-28
  6. "A Short Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Original Joe’s full-time

    Pros

    Great team members, active and engaged store managers. The Corporate management team was always available to help you succeed.

    Cons

    The target numbers for Management bonuses were almost impossible to achieve.

    Original Joe’s2018-10-05
  7. "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Joe’s for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great management, supportive staff, good customers, great food

      Cons

      Easy to get lost in the shuffle

      Original Joe’s2018-08-21
    • "Pretty good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Joe’s for more than 2 years

      Pros

      -uniforms aren't sexist -fair expectations -family feel -helpful -care about you

      Cons

      -strict closing time even if it's not busy -upper management a bit rude

      Original Joe’s2018-06-14
    • "Enjoyed my time there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Lead Line Cook in Victoria, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Joe’s full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The staff there were welcoming and close-knit, which meant it was a very enjoyable place to work.

      Cons

      Management was at times disorganized and communication between FOH and BOH staff could break down very easily.

      Advice to Management

      Stress open and clear communication, at all times.

      Original Joe’s2018-03-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Awful management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Joe’s full-time

      Pros

      Fantastic group of friends that become your family Amazing regulars and beautiful summer time patios

      Cons

      Awful management No room for growth

      Advice to Management

      If someone works for a company for almost 5 years, have more respect for them. When you fire them don't say "it's time to cut ties"

      Original Joe’s2018-03-26
    Found 29 reviews