OpenText "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OpenText Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 28 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
OpenText CEO Mark J. Barrenechea
Mark J. Barrenechea
954 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great personal & Work Life Balance. Salary is good Good Benefits

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of right now.

    OpenText2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Manager in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    constant learning, constant change and company growth

    Cons

    no work/life balance, no clear direction or expectations

    Advice to Management

    honesty, open, clear direction,

    OpenText2019-06-11
  3. "Good starter company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenText for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance; most engineers work decent hours and are not worked tirelessly. - Work is nice and slow. - Company values employees.

    Cons

    - Technology can be a bit boring. - Some skills learned aren't particularly transferrable to other companies (i.e. OpenScript proprietary programming language).

    OpenText2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Waterloo Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time

    Pros

    - View is nice - Free coffee that actually tastes good - Able to meed some quality people who will remain friends beyond OT - Free parking - Good area for errands during lunch break

    Cons

    This USED to be such an amazing company to work for. The CEO is focused on acquiring as many tech companies as possible so fast that it's hard to keep up with them. Once acquired, everyone from that company gets fired and they bring everything to Waterloo without hiring the additional headcount to take it on. There used to be a work/life balance but now you are forced to work unrealistic amounts of overtime... in order to meet your deadlines. Constantly being mistreated and disrespected by other teams. Being told we need to be faster and more accurate when we have already reached the companies internal goals (while being understaffed and overworked). The dynamic has changed where people are constantly fighting - the amount of petty drama and belittlement amongst these middle aged people is completely unprofessional and extremely disappointing. Quite frankly, worse than anything I've ever experienced over my lifetime. Open Text doesn't value their existing employees. The only way you can make more money is by being a new employee. After being with the company for almost 10 years, and having excellent performance reviews - new hires are coming in making $5k more than I currently make. Open Text is not paying us market value for our jobs. Raises (if you get one) are a joke and do not reflect your actual value.

    Show More
    OpenText2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Finance department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Department in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people, treat you with respect. Buildings are nice, good cafeteria offering variety of food at decent prices, free Starbucks coffee, teas, kombucha. Company is always acquiring companies and restructuring which means it is a very fast pace environment, you learn a lot of things every day, which at times could also be frustrating. Due to the size of the company your responsibilities are concentrated in only one... small area, but there are opportunities to move and growth. Benefits are average of a big corporation, however, education assistance and wellness benefits has been the same amounts for the past 6+ years.

    Show More

    Cons

    No training, basically you sit down and start asking co-workers how to do things, but managers expect you to deliver things on-time. The number of Directors had increased but not staff, too many executives with no knowledge of the area causing additional work or non-value added tasks to their staff. Salary is way below market, benefits are not great, work-life balance was good but not so much right now.

    OpenText2019-03-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Needs improvement but it works for now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time

    Pros

    Relatively good work life balance. Friendly environment and supportive culture.

    Cons

    There is room for improvement in the compensation department. Doesn't hurt to earn slightly more given that there is no growth prospects here.

    Advice to Management

    Actually focus on your human capital then sing about it in your company calls.

    OpenText2019-03-01
  7. "Privacy Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Privacy Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work-life balance provided

    Cons

    Not in Toronto, not enough networking opps there.

    OpenText2019-02-21
  8. "HRBP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRBP in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    not many. things are great........much better than previous employers

    OpenText2018-12-17
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Sr. Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home

    Cons

    No work life balance, raises are non existent, no direction from upper management.

    OpenText2018-08-29
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Proposal Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenText for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and work life balance

    Cons

    Salary was a little low but comparable to the market.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to share at this time.

    OpenText2018-08-13
Found 299 reviews