OpenText Senior Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OpenText Senior Account Executive Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
OpenText CEO and CTO Mark J. Barrenechea
Mark J. Barrenechea
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Market Leader according to Gartner and Forrester for Enterprise Information Management.

    Cons

    Executive Leadership is very Technology focused, not as focused on Sales.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2016-12-16
  2. "Business development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenText

    Pros

    Good condition and great environment great product

    Cons

    Micro management and better management

    Continue reading
    OpenText2016-05-31
  3. Helpful (5)

    "An organization more intent on growth at all costs, including its customers and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Canadian company with a sound value proposition and valuable partner of SAP.

    Cons

    Constant change. A culture of fear. No focus on account management and development, only on pipeline and results. new leadership with a focus on growth through acquisition versus managing existing clients and growing organically.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2014-04-02
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, training, and benefits

    Cons

    High pressure, and lots of stress

    OpenText2013-08-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging organization to work if you are in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior ACCOUNTS EXECUTIVE in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenText

    Pros

    Your peers are terrific and supportive, great benefits package

    Cons

    Lack of resources to help manage a large territory, unrealistic quotas

    OpenText2012-01-20
  6. "Working for Open Text was very dynamic, exciting, and raucous."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior ACCOUNTS EXECUTIVE in Waterloo, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText

    Pros

    Great Work life balance. Very smart colleagues, core products, visionaries. Wise acquisitions from a growth standpoint. As a sales rep my compensation was fair and I did well based on performance. Great sales culture if you can stay on the bucking bull that is there post-acquisition layoffs. Great education opportunities. Entrepreneurial environment.

    Cons

    Limited resources that are in high demand. Decentralized integration strategy of acquired technologies. Acquisitions breed layoffs of legacy staff that often was doing well until uncertainties. Cliqueish, colleagues become siloed and untrusting if communication not kept in check.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2011-08-17
  7. "The number ONE who acts like ONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best onboarding & sales training I ever experienced. 10 days sharing of information with our companies finest.

    Cons

    Nothing I can come up with

    Continue reading
    OpenText2020-02-04
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Don’t go there if you want to work in an agile environment

    Cons

    No Marketing, No SaaS solution in place, no teamwork, Multi-Layer processes

    OpenText2019-12-10
  9. Helpful (16)

    "The Worst Compensation Plan Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large installed customer base and broad product portfolio.

    Cons

    Management is trying to cheat the field organization. For license deals larger than $2m you only get reduced commission rates. Also the incentive plans is not aligned with what the company is trying to achieve. For cloud deals only 50% of the deal amount is recognized, what a funny thing!

    Continue reading
    OpenText2018-05-18
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Zero innovation, zero morale. Proceed at your own peril."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Account Executive in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText

    Pros

    Impressive customer base, mostly through acquisition. A small handful of smart people doing all the heavy lifting - Hope they dont leave!

    Cons

    Higher staff turnover than punters at a merry go round. The accountants run this circus and they haven't figures out the value of customers on their spreadsheets. Almost no knowledge sharing, no collaboration tools and knee jerk decisions get despatched from a disconnected executive group. Company has a long history of picking up software companies from the recycle bin, milking the maintenance revenue and slashing development and support overheads - Just look at the acquisition history and single digit organic sales growth. Some new customers would be nice. This is not the place for anyone with a degree of free thinking and leave your sympathy for the poor old customers at home.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2017-03-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews