OpenText Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OpenText Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
OpenText CEO and CTO Mark J. Barrenechea
Mark J. Barrenechea
932 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Minimum Learning, Work life balance is bad for Support teams(in 44 reviews)

  • "No cons to say About open text(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Best training ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales AE in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for Opentext for just over 8 weeks. As a Sales Executive, I have been through lots of sales training. Different methodologies such as SPIN, Challenger, etc. I just returned from Sales University at Opentext and without a doubt, this is the best training I have ever received. The company sent 10 solution/industry experts to spend two solid weeks with us trainees. In depth presentation skills, product knowledge and how to access the multitude of team members was incredible. The experts spent time away from their "day" jobs to teach us, often one on one, about the tips and tricks of being successful at Opentext. This is a great company with so many solutions to offer our customers. The training has confirmed it, I have landed at my dream job!! Challenging but very rewarding.

    Cons

    The one small con I have about the company is that creating a quote/proposal and deal for a customer is very complex and time consuming, especially when proposing a cloud deal.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2020-02-02
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Salary not that great compared to the industry.

    OpenText2020-03-14
  3. "benefit is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    unlimited sick leave, 100% coverage of health and dental, 50% for orthdontics up to $3000, unlimited snacks/juice in the cafeteria

    Cons

    the senior management team is not stable

    OpenText2020-03-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Unstable and full of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some cool people but they don't stick at OpenText for long.

    Cons

    Salary Politics Quarterly Layoffs Non existant Performance "reviews" - there is always an excuse why it was not done, year after year Massive layoffs Job Security Management Did I mention constant layoffs?

    Continue reading
    OpenText2020-03-24
  5. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenText full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very professional workplace. Senior management is first class. Excellent office facilities.

    Cons

    No cons. Great place to work.

    OpenText2020-02-12
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at OpenText full-time

    Pros

    good pay structure and work culture

    Cons

    location of office located in

    OpenText2020-02-11
  7. "Can you multitask and work under pressure?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at OpenText full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job in itself is not difficult. It's a real 9-5 atmosphere. No-one expects you to do any work outside of work hours. The company does offer very nice benefits, but the cultural activities are often off-limits to CSRs due to time contraints.

    Cons

    After 4-6 months, it becomes very boring. There is constant time pressure and you have to be "on" non-stop. Also, it's quite obvious that the company is slowly replacing this position with employees abroad.

    Continue reading
    OpenText2020-02-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Culture is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn. Work is interesting

    Cons

    Where to start? Benefits are sub-par, increases non-existent, CEO a tyrant, VPs lack back-bone, restructuring constantly, HR leaders that don’t stay, executive team in constant turn over, workers that are miserable

    OpenText2020-03-14
  9. "Lots of good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President 

    I worked at OpenText full-time

    Pros

    high paced with lots of interesting professional development

    Cons

    high pace with high demands and work life challenges

    OpenText2020-01-27
  10. "Loved my time at OT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenText full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast passed, lots of opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    No cons when I was there.

    OpenText2020-01-22
Found 1540 reviews