Ontario Green Savings Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ontario Green Savings CEO Saeed Torbati (no image)
Saeed Torbati
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very open and friendly work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "So much room for growth and opportunities(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "6 day work(in 4 reviews)

  • "They will not pay you and you will be scamming other innocent people(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Positive Environment - Knowledgeable Management

      May 5, 2021 - Financial Controller in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've now been working here for 8 months and have learnt a lot about the company. •Despite some of these unfavorable reviews, I think the company has done fairly well based on their age. It is still a start up company but has a faster growth rate than some commercial businesses and it all stems from the very top leaders here. They're dedicated to support their employees in any way possible and believe in the TEAM. •I report directly to the VP of Finance and the CEO. They're both highly educated and experienced in running a start up. They work hard to secure the future of our jobs through growing the firm. •HR Policies and Procedures are reasonably straight forward... don't be late, do your work, no negativity, no drama, collaborate, communicate, and help... •Overall experience has been one nothing short of a great startup environment and the awards they've won is a testament to it.

      Cons

      I didn't personally experience anything that I didn't like

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ontario Green Savings Response

      HR

      Thank you for the detailed feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The journey at Ontario Green has been very rewarding

      May 3, 2021 - Digital Marketing Manager in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have graduated from a Marketing Program and have worked for different agencies/companies in the past. The difference here is the inclusion, the attention to your growth, the stimulation of your intelligence through challenges, and the overall open-concept work environment in the company. Everyone will have different ideas and opinions and some will have a negative outlook about this company but any fast-growing or large company has a handful of negative reviews on Glassdoor, so it is reasonably expected that "You can't make everyone happy". What really counts do is that the company does its best to be on the right track and is doing what's right by its employees through bonuses, recognitions, organizational development, leadership programs, and other processes that are designed to help develop your career. I worked in a team of 3 who were reporting to the Director and was please with the leadership style and the open communication system. There are many positive points to mention but this is my take on the company... Fast Growing, Bright Future, Great Leadership.

      Cons

      It's hard to not have downsides in any company. This company is not a place where you can become complacent. Not having the work ethic to push every day will definitely get you in hot water. You might get infractions, warnings, performance reviews and etc... lots of these 1-star reviews are from the people that I worked with. They would be inconsistent, would not show up, would be late, would not finish their tasks, and got booted out. Once terminated, they complain about the company because it did not meet their unrealistic expectations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Opportunity

      May 3, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with OGS for 2 years now and truly have had the best time of my life. I have come to recognize that OGS is always looking for ways to improve the Customer Experience and be the best and the only choice for consumers today. We have an amazing team from the top down and I believe that these collaborative efforts are showing in tremendous growth and opportunities for employment and $$$$$. The pure enjoyment of helping people with their needs also comes with some tremendous earning potential. We work very hard but we get compensated better then any other job I have had or yet to hear of. I have been in the industry for over 2 years and have found this to be the most exciting and most diverse job I have ever experienced. There is no doubt in my mind that I will finish my career with this awesome company. KUDOS OGS and Thank you for having me as a part of your team.

      Cons

      I don't have anything negative to comment about. " I love what we do"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      6 Months Experience with the company

      May 3, 2021 - Energy Management Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started with them 6 months ago. Like many people I was not too sure of what the job was all about and decided to give it a shot anyway. I completed my interview and was invited to the 1 day orientation about the company, its products, how it helps the environment, its customers and employees. I had a conversation with a team lead after and got paired up for the training which lasted about 2 weeks and was fully paid. They use what's called a University/Academy to train you on everything before you start working with customers. I learnt how to conduct energy assessments and started to make a well above average pay based on their rewarding compensation plan. 6 months later I have gotten promoted with raise 2 times and have recently started to train others on the job. Overall the company has some ups and downs like every other growing company but seems to be well financed and a friendly workplace. I worked from the same office as the Senior Leaders and the CEO himself. Eventhough I saw remarks about them, here's my personal experience and what I witnessed. The CEO is established and seems to be driven to grow. He does have flashy cars like the other reviews mention but during my employment I see him work 7 days a week. He was the first in the office everyday. Everyone is pleased around him. His bonuses are beyond generous. He pushes everyone to grow and read books. He talks about his struggles in the business in the past 10 years and how with the help of his team he was able to handle then. I witnessed him finish a Harvard diploma and run the company during the pandemic at the same time with huge growth. He has organized a core team of capable individuals that work like clockwork. So ultimately, you will be working with a team of such driven entrepreneurs that you've probably never seen before. This is their competitive advantage.

      Cons

      As expected with any driven organization, you need to meet high level of excellence in everything you do. There's no room for laziness. Mistakes and errors are normal but lack of work ethic will cause them to coach you out of the company and to a different career.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The excitement while working in this fantastic group.

      Apr 16, 2021 - Marketing in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ive been working here for more then a year now, and everyone I work with are super friendly, when we have any issues or questions we are able to ask them without any judgment. There is a lot of opportunities given and a lot of positions we are able to work towards. every morning our marketing manager let us know how appreciated they are to have us and how we are a huge impact to the companies growth.

      Cons

      it is a competitive environment, meaning our performance matters, but thats only after you have worked here for a couple weeks. They do train you thoroughly before they decide if its the job for you.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great environment

      May 4, 2021 - Energy Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with a lot of amazing and success oriented people! if you put your effort, financial issues won’t be a problem

      Cons

      I don’t think there’s any! Based on my experience so far. :)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good opportunity

      May 4, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good duties and to learn how to work under pressure

      Cons

      sometimes people want to be called after 5pm or before 11am so the time schedule may create difficulties for the clients

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 16, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working in this company for past 6 months and its been great. Friendly atmosphere, no pressure. Management is always helpful and always checking up on you. Great company to make good money. Lots of Opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      Haven't experienced any so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good business concept; unfortunate execution; not all the right people.

      Apr 30, 2021 - Undisclosed Management Position in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good business concept that supports tertiary industries in the green energy sector and helps foster mindset shifts towards supporting the overall green economy and supporting the regulatory environment (both domestic and in terms of international standards, regulations, and goals), while of course helping itself. — On the nature of the business and disgruntled employees: As a lot of our positions are performance based, we did pay minimum wage plus commissions, and this was communicated clearly, not so much in job descriptions (in order not to deter applicants), but during interview and intake processes. For many people, a commission-based job is new territory, and not everyone is cut out for it. For this reason, naturally some people would would feel a little bit salty about negative outcomes and being let go. This is not a judgment upon their character or their ability to thrive or succeed in life, but simply that this job wasn’t right for them. But it also should be acknowledge that there were people who were genuinely happy or at least satisfied with the arrangements here. For those with the right drive, and motivation, many of our employees can and did do well. However, often times that meant being judicious in holding back information from potential clients, and employees having to be rather entrepreneurial in their tactics on misrepresenting or under-informing clients before signing contracts. I am not here to make a value judgment on this as this is rife throughout the industry and similar businesses and any business would have every incentive to maximise their gains, but it definitely ate at me over time, like it did many others. I can’t tell you the number of people who told me that when they went home at night they felt like a greasy used car salesman selling snakeoil and no matter how many showers they took, they just couldn’t get it out. However, it’s not fair for them to say they were lied to or it was not what they were expecting. If you take a look at how we run our intake orientations and training, these trainees were appealed to based on their greed and desire to be “rich”, so they are partially to blame for being “hoodwinked”, even ogling the CEO’s Maclaren as proof that it’s all real. It’s not necessarily fake or a lie either. As for our sales methodologies: Yes, they are slippery and borderline unethical to the point where customers could probably file a complaint with the Better Business bureau (BBB). But they are not illegal. If I could illustrate it really simply though, you could probably make a great picture CBC Marketplace undercover report here. Remember that one about the Bell salespeople or the Indian call centres?

      Cons

      Note: this review deserves at least two stars, but I am doing 1 star to compensate for the number of coerced positive reviews on this site. - somewhat questionable sales practices that require acclimation and indoctrination, and less focus on values-based decision making - unstable management of appearances against what the company actually is; it must own up to and be true to itself; no one should have to make excuses for earning a living or making money, even if it means taking advantage of people Pay Issues: It is true, we have had pay and HR issues, including backlogs. And yes, COVID has had an impact on our company and operations. Not everyone is understanding, and there is a balance, as in any start up company (and even a “fastest growing company”), between ensuring that we remain liquid and manage our burn rate while also aspiring to as much transparency with our employees as possible, while also maintaining morale and the continued functioning of day to day operations, and keeping investors calm and happy. On the accusations of fake reviews posted here: I will state it here and unequivocally that yes, beginning in earnest in October 2020, in order to counter the negative average rating for the company, we did ask current on-strength employees to write reviews for us (many of which appear on or around November 13, 2020), and to be fair while we did not directly insinuate we wanted them to be positive, we did ask them to send us screenshots of them. So although they were not necessarily pressured, it is reasonable to assume that they still would have at least fallen under their own pressure to want to be in the good graces of the company and their supervisors, and so you can clearly infer how that may affect the integrity of the reviews. So as a reader, use your own judgment and discretion in how you value the reviews. But I think an easy way to tell a real review from a fake one, generally speaking, is how boilerplate some of them sound. Would someone come onto Glassdoor to make one or two simple garden variety bullet-pointed Pros and Cons that you could read about almost any company? Or would they have more substantive motivations for writing a review? “Long work hours”, “the heater is always on”, “it’s cold”, “too much work”, “have to pay for parking” all sound like pretty harmless cons, don’t they? The intention was that their inclusion would make the reviews seem more authentic. This is a company that genuinely aspires to be like other start ups out there, with an open concept workspace (a la tech start-up), modern pastel decor, etc. (i.e. “yada yada yada”), and really wants to be part of the big boys’ club, without realising that being it is actually easier than expending all of one’s efforts on charlatan mimicry. You simply cannot sit at the adults’ table if your actions (“which speak louder than words” as the HR rep puts it) refuse to separate yourself from the kids’ table. I have every hope that we will get there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great environment and culture

      Apr 23, 2021 - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -learning new marketing skills - great environment -nice , clean office - great mentors

      Cons

      no parking downtown office repetitive tasks noisy weird hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ontario Green Savings Job Seekers

    Outbound Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Dispatcher Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Energy Management Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Care Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Ontario Green Savings? Share Your Experiences

    Ontario Green Savings logo
    or