Online Business Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Online Business Systems Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Online Business Systems President and Chief Executive Officer Charles (Chuck) Loewen
Charles (Chuck) Loewen
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent professional development opportunities; annual budget(in 35 reviews)

  • "Leadership is supportive and involves input from all Onliners(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Parking can get expensive, but only 3 blocks from major bus routes and many consultants work at the client site(in 8 reviews)

  • "Being away from the main office is hard when you're isolated at a client site with no other Onliners or only a few(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Six great years and counting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People here are team players - I am very fortunate to work on a team that truly feels like family. We celebrate each others successes and we support each other whenever we run into challenges. Career Mentor (CM) Program - This program has been extremely valuable to my growth and development, both personally and professionally. I am grateful to not only have an amazing CM, but also for the informal mentorship that I receive from other Onliners. We have so many intelligent and fascinating people who work here and you can learn a lot by starting up a conversation. Social Events - Its great to get to know your coworkers outside of work - I really enjoy attending our golf tournament, holiday party, team meetings and summer BBQ's. Challenging and Rewarding work - I get to focus on work that I find rewarding, which means a lot to me. I have a boss who encourages me to step out of my comfort zone and supports me along the way. Thank you Online for a great 6 years, looking forward to many more!

    Cons

    Last time I wrote a review, I was hoping we would introduce a retirement plan, and we now have one. Nothing else to mention!

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-06-04

    Online Business Systems Response

    June 24, 2019Chief People Officer

    It sounds like we are the lucky ones to have you! We are glad to see that you participate in all Online has to offer. Online provides many opportunities to connect and socialize, especially if you reside in one of the cities where we have an office. Getting involved really does help build a sense of team. As your probably know the RRSP/401K match was in response to what we were hearing from Onliners. We are glad we were able to introduce this benefit last year. Thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is amazing.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Online Business Systems2020-01-24

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 29, 2020Chief People Officer

    We are glad that you highlight our culture because we also think it’s one of our differentiators. Thanks for the review.

    Continue reading
  3. "People who believe in the core values are happy to work together to achieve great things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are all go-getters, intelligent and want the best for the people around them, Clients and themselves. Consultants are above average in skills and almost all live by aligned core values. The office environment is friendly, extremely clean and well maintained. Great East Exchange location full of interesting restaurants and bus service opportunities for coffee and lunch meetings.

    Cons

    Several years into a strategy that needs strong leadership to move forward in a positive way. Communication across the different offices and practices can be a challenge and some feel really connected while others don’t. Sometimes for consultants working off-site it’s challenging to feel connected. Overall good.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2020-01-22

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 29, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for providing feedback. You are reading our minds. While we know we have the most amazing people working at Online, we are also cognizant of the fact that as we grow we need to be mindful and purposeful in our efforts to ensure people feel connected across practices. Our focus is very much on being “one Online,” which means that where you reside or what Practice you work in is irrelevant. We are looking for ways to make introductions and increase communications across all communities. As an example, we recently rolled out our Leadership book club which has a dual purpose. One is to help bring together team members who are likeminded in developing their leadership skills and the second is to create teams of Onliners that typically might not interact with one another. I also encourage you to reach out to our CEO or myself with any suggestions you may have. Insofar as developing our next generation of leaders, we agree that this requires ongoing commitment. One of the initiatives underway for this year is an HBO (How to be an Onliner) program for Career Mentors that will focus on development of leadership skills for this core group of team members. Beyond that we encourage all team members to bring great ideas to the table to showcase forward thinking and initiative and continually grow their skills through our professional development program.

    Continue reading
  4. "Amazing professional development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Online Business Systems is a place that I am encouraged to get involved in work which I feel passionate about and am supported in the process. Excellent professional development opportunities; annual budget.

    Cons

    Consultant salary ranges are unknown and appear arbitrary

    Online Business Systems2019-12-20

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 8, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for submitting feedback. We feel it is important to promote a culture of growth and development. It benefits our team members, our clients and Online. While we do not publish salary ranges, we do have internal salary guidelines for each role and skill, that are based on market salary surveys and market intelligence. As part of our annual focal review we spend significant effort to ensure each team member is paid fairly relative to the market and their peers, while taking performance into account.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Online Business Systems is doing everything it can to keep its consultant happy, they know there are a lot of options out they know we are a very mobile workforce. They make sure to keep salary in line with the industry, they also have a very interesting Professional Development program where we can have up to 2 weeks of courses paid by the company and they actually encourage us to take that time. The career mentor program is also a great way to drive leadership within the organization.

    Cons

    Although they started a program of company-funded RSP, the rate is still pretty low.

    Online Business Systems2019-12-19

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 8, 2020Chief People Officer

    We recognize that the market is competitive and that to retain great people we need to ensure we are creating an environment where people can thrive and feel supported. That has been our goal since day 1. Insofar as the RRSP/401K match, it is very much on our radar, and we will be doing a review next year to see how we might be able to enhance this plan. Thanks for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Excellent company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guidewire Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything is great about Online Business System. Very good Atmosphere Professional Development (PD) budget is great. Competitive Compensation

    Cons

    I worked there for more than 3 years. I can't think of any.

    Online Business Systems2019-12-04

    Online Business Systems Response

    December 13, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to submit feedback, as a former Onliner. If you ever decide you want to return, we would love to add you to our list of boomerangs!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work culture and employee centric company .

    Cons

    employee benefits are not so great

    Online Business Systems2019-12-04

    Online Business Systems Response

    December 13, 2019Chief People Officer

    It is always great to hear from a former Onliner. We are glad to be remembered as having a great work culture and being team member centric. That has not changed. Insofar as benefits, we continually review and refine our benefits to be competitive in the market. Some (such as our professional development program) are well above market while others will continue to receive our attention.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relationship Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with great, intelligent people and there is a fantastic work culture here and everyone I've worked with is happy to collaborate and contribute in meaningful ways.

    Cons

    No company is perfect but there are no cons that come to mind.

    Online Business Systems2019-11-19

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 21, 2019Chief People Officer

    We are glad to hear that your first year has been a positive one and that you see the same attributes in Onliners that we see and that we value. Thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work variety, culture, PD benefits

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Online Business Systems2019-11-08

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 21, 2019Chief People Officer

    We know that the work, the opportunities for growth and learning, and the culture are top of list for many our team members. Your pros suggest that we are aligned on that front which is great! We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "The complete package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment fosters the strength of individual employees and leverages this in collaborative environment for the realization of client goals 150% commitment to the professional and personal development of employees, core competencies and subject matter expertise The Management tier has found the perfect balance between empowering staff while still providing guidance and mentor-ship Provision of the resources required for all work streams The culture is representative of the company's online presence .... we're a supportive family

    Cons

    None that I have discovered to date.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-09-13

    Online Business Systems Response

    October 1, 2019Chief People Officer

    Our goal has always been to create a work environment where Onliners feel valued, and encouraged to continually grow and develop. While our “Driving your Career” mantra puts ownership on each of us to focus on our own growth and development, our Career Mentors and leaderhip teams are there to support Onliners in that journey. We are encouraged to hear you say “ we are a supportive family”, as that is exactly what we strive to be. Thanks for feedback!

    Continue reading
Found 133 reviews