OnDeck Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 311 of over 321 reviews

4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
OnDeck CEO David Fisher
David Fisher
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "OnDeck is a great company to work at and gives you great exposure to the Small Business FinTech space(in 47 reviews)

  • "Fun and chill culture, very good work/life balance, pretty good benefit package, solid comp(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The work environment was a bit chaotic(in 8 reviews)

  • "The company is going through its share of growing pains at the moment(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great work environment, very employee-focused

      Feb 23, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great team with multiple events to bond - Incredibly customer-oriented, best at it in the market, feels like you are actually making a difference for the clients - Highly flexible and open communications within the department - Very easy to get started as the training available is really well-handled

      Cons

      - Communications between departments is lacking but has been improving - Hard to get ideas/suggestions across

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place and Location

      Jan 14, 2020 - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing sales coach !

      Cons

      Hours seemed long, sales were very hard to get.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ondeck review

      Sep 25, 2019 - Sales Representative in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great sales coach, very dedicated to teaching us

      Cons

      Very repetitive, felt like time passed slowly

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OnDeck Response

      Company Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback as we are always happy to hear from former employees. Your comments have been shared with our sales team and we will continue to work hard to coach and provide ongoing feedback to employees as well as continue to make ongoing effort toward expanding our outbound sales roles and market reach.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      It was alright

      Dec 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      well, the good part was you didn't really need to dress up or be on time

      Cons

      you can get fired at a moments notice

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      OnDeck Response

      Head of People Operations

      Thanks for your review. OnDeck also has a casual environment, so team members are encouraged to come to work comfortable, yet professionally casual. Our working hours are also flexible to allow team members to meet personal commitments that may make it difficult to arrive to work under a rigid deadline. And, while all of our US offices operate in at-will states, we do not have a practice of terminating employment without a compelling reason. I hope you're enjoying success in your new role.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the same company it used to be

      Feb 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trendy office Casual dress code Nice working environment Office has a stocked kitchen

      Cons

      They have zero loyalty to their staff. Even prior to the massive layoffs, there is rampant favoritism and the best and brightest regularly move on and others who don't fall in line are fired frequently. There is zero job security.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Very bad time

      May 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They really love to put their logo on stuff

      Cons

      You need to be comfortable with predatory lending and lying to customers

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      OnDeck Response

      SVP, People Operations

      We are sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. It is important though to explain our commitment to our customers around transparency and service. OnDeck is fully committed to a fast, flexible, and transparent online lending experience. In May 2016, we partnered with fellow online lenders to form the new Innovative Lending Platform Association (ILPA), a group committed to advancing small business online lending education, advocacy, and best practices. In partnership with the Association for Enterprise Opportunity (AEO), we launched the SMART Box initiative, which stands for Straightforward Metrics Around Rate and Total cost. SMART Box is a model disclosure that provides standardized pricing metrics and common terminology in an easy-to-understand format. It tells credit seekers the clear teams for their loan, including rates and fees. You can learn more about ILPA and our SMART Box initiative at http://innovativelending.org/. In addition, all employees of OnDeck are required to adhere to our Code of Business Conduct and Ethics. We have zero tolerance for employees or partners compromising our promises to customers, starting with being fair, truthful, and transparent in all interactions. Best of luck in your future endeavors.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jun 10, 2021 - Customer Service 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive Culture and fun work environment

      Cons

      Difficult to schedule conference rooms

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place to work

      Jun 3, 2021 - Partnerships Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fair pay and good benefits

      Cons

      I dont have anything bad to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I used to love working here

      Nov 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, great co-workers, interesting work

      Cons

      Before the acquisition by Enova, I would have told you that I loved my job, I loved where I worked and that I wouldn't be looking for another job. Unfortunately, that's no longer the case for me. Enova is a pay day lender (do yourself a favor and do some research on pay day lending) and this kind of practice is at odds with how I know OnDeck operated before the acquisition. Pay day lending punishes the poor and vulnerable people in our society. It preys on people that are in extreme financial hardship. OnDeck would not have offered a product like this at all. On top of that, there have already been a lot of re-orgs. There's been very little communication from Enova about what was/is happening - at least to the people that are on the ground working. Maybe they're communicating to senior leadership - I'm not sure. They are cutting people that they no longer need, based on roles that already exist at Enova. From what I hear, they are giving severance. Losing your job in the midst of a global pandemic is my worst fear. Had it not been for this acquisition, I would have rated OnDeck much higher but all I can give here are two stars.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So Much Growth Potential at OnDeck!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atmosphere, Culture, Education System, Work Life Balance

      Cons

      A lot of moving parts due to company growth. You can get overwhelmed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 311 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OnDeck Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OnDeck? Share Your Experiences

    OnDeck logo
    or