Oliver Wyman Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Oliver Wyman Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
92%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Oliver Wyman CEO Scott McDonald
Scott McDonald
230 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time

    Pros

    Very apprenticeship driven and great people

    Cons

    Lots of travel for those located in smaller offices

    Oliver Wyman2019-11-06
  2. "Great compensation, ok work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation Great culture Fast paced

    Cons

    Weak worklife balance Company is getting too big

    Oliver Wyman2019-10-28
  3. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible & fun culture, interesting projects, transparent staffing, strong focus on professional development

    Cons

    Long hours, extensive travel, not present in select industries,

    Oliver Wyman2019-01-03
  4. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time

    Pros

    Great development opportunities for all levels

    Cons

    Sometimes you will have to work long hours

    Oliver Wyman2018-12-17
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Dynamic, growing, entrepreneurial place with great people

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenge with frequent travel but this is more industry than company thing

    Oliver Wyman2018-10-11
  6. "Love my colleagues, strategy work, not great WLB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time

    Pros

    Points from travel, colleagues are awesome, opportunity to work on strategy work across the globe

    Cons

    poor work-life balance, a lot of travel

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities to improve work-life balance - eg ensure that weekends are sacred

    Oliver Wyman2018-08-04
  7. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rapid growth and accelerated career development

    Cons

    Poor brand awareness Company is international rather than truly global. New York and London get most of the attention and investment

    Oliver Wyman2017-12-18
  8. "OW Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Work, Steep Learning Curve

    Cons

    Not Experienced-Hire Friendly, Not PhD Friendly

    Oliver Wyman2017-12-04
  9. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver Wyman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fast tracking opportunities (common to management consulting) - Down to earth culture, we don't take ourselves too seriously - Very competitive salary and bonus structure

    Cons

    - Challenging travel requirements and long hours (common in management consulting) - Under valued brand outside of Financial Service compared to MBB despite high quality of work and mandate complexity - Some mandates are closer to staff augmentation and not as high profile as I thought when I first started - No control on assignments (although this is part of the management consulting model) - MBA sponsorship... used as a retention tool, management don't really encourage this path - Weak manager training due to consultant-driven (instead of post MBA) recruiting model. Training and culture doesn't provide tools required to become a good manager

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Invest more in producing white papers and get our name out there... - Allocate higher spend per head on learning and development for consultants coming from smaller offices

    Oliver Wyman2017-09-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Intership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver Wyman

    Pros

    The pay I received was more than fair. Generous even. The atmosphere was very comfortable and there was an open door policy with senior management.

    Cons

    The workload when from nothing to very busy. Some of the younger senior consultants seemed defensive and possibly intimidated, making for an uncomfortable dynamic by times.

    Oliver Wyman2016-08-08
Found 646 reviews