Old Navy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Old Navy Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Old Navy CEO Sonia Syngal
Sonia Syngal
105 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Wish I was trained more in presenting Old Navy credit cards(in 420 reviews)

  • "Some turnover with part time employees(in 206 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People there are nice and understanding

    Cons

    Sometimes the schedule they give you does not conform to the disponibilities you gave them

    Old Navy2019-06-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Associate in Kanata, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the time I got the days I wanted off, pay was ok.

    Cons

    Priotitzed clients over workers. One week a month I'd get to work 5 days a week, other times it was 1-2 days a week. Where I worked, we had 60 employees. Got yelled at for not going into work, but I was not book and I never got a schedule change.

    Advice to Management

    Act like you care about your employees, not just your clients. Don't have 60 employees, give them each 1-2 days a week and expect them to stay.

    Old Navy2019-10-30
  3. "Working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time

    Pros

    fun team, flexible, good managers,

    Cons

    short hours, lot of workers, pay rate 14

    Old Navy2019-10-16
  4. "fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Associate 

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Environment was fun and fast paced. It teaches you to multi-task, and strengthen interpersonal skills.

    Cons

    The customers are rude and difficult to deal with

    Old Navy2019-10-16
  5. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - employee discount was 50% off the regular price and 30% off clearance - Includes all Old Navy's other brands including Gap and Banana Republic

    Cons

    - Early hours - Inconsistency in shifts (literally once a month sometimes) - Management was not informative at all - Had way too many people on pay roll - Training was not as informative as it could have been

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire me if your only going to bring me in once a month! Complete waste of my time and one of the managers would get angry if you didn't know how to do something. If you want you employees to know how to do something, then bring us in a little more often.

    Old Navy2019-10-26
  6. "Good place to start in retail, easy-going environment and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - flexible hours - easy to learn and get used to responsibilities

    Cons

    - hectic during Christmas season - not enough hours given during summer

    Advice to Management

    Make more of an effort to seek the opinions of all workers, including part-time workers.

    Old Navy2019-10-07
  7. "Ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, they really care.

    Cons

    Over demanding staff, they want you to try too hard and run too fast.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing people so hard

    Old Navy2019-10-21
  8. "Good summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time

    Pros

    Good part time job while in school

    Cons

    Management puts you down constantly

    Old Navy2019-10-19
  9. "good for starting retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Women's Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Navy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good school, work, social balance

    Cons

    will schedule you out of availability or ask you to come in

    Advice to Management

    hire and train better employees

    Old Navy2019-10-02
  10. "Fun place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Old Navy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can only speak for the location I worked in, but I had a great time. I was working part time while I went back to school and found the job laid back but never boring. I started out in logistics, putting the product on floor, and then got moved to floor customer service where I spoke with clients and worked the cash. The people I worked with were great and I honestly had fun being there.

    Cons

    On a dead day, it could feel very long, but there's always plenty to do to keep you busy. Could also take along to move up if your plan is to become a manager.

    Old Navy2019-09-28
Found 5743 reviews