OVO Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OVO Energy Reviews

Updated Mar 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
OVO Energy CEO Stephen Fitzpatrick
Stephen Fitzpatrick
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "free breakfast (toast and cereal)(in 42 reviews)

  • "Ovo Energy cares about their employees(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "A good measure of an employer is how they treat you once they no longer need you, and Ovo was 5/5(in 26 reviews)

  • "Fast paced change can be hard for some people and if you don't enjoy working hard and taking ownership of your own performance then you won't do well(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Smooth interview process and people that care.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    OVO Energy2020-03-22

    OVO Energy Response

    March 27, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for the feedback about the interview process! Welcome to OVO :)

    Continue reading
  2. "Energy customer advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ovo Energy cares about their employees

    Cons

    Na na na na na

    OVO Energy2020-03-11

    OVO Energy Response

    March 27, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for your review - pleased to hear you're enjoying your time with us :)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Once a great place to work for but management got carried away as the company grew."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee. 2% on top of your salary to spend on things like tech vouchers.

    Cons

    * Teams used to be very autonomous and have a great sense of ownership of their projects, that has slowly disappeared as the company grew and silly corporate politics started coming into place, with lots of secrecy and hierarchy.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-03-14

    OVO Energy Response

    April 3, 2020The People Team

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review We offer a 4% flex fund at OVO that employees can spend on a wide range of benefits, and the tech scheme is one of them - glad you were able to utilise it, it is a popular choice. It's sad to hear your thoughts on autonomy within your role. As the company grows, we will continue to progress and adapt our technology offering of products and services for our customers, and the tech team are at the forefront of enabling that to happen. Within tech, there are lots of communication routes that are available such as slack, communities and Village Halls - on top of the monthly company Town Halls. We strive to be open with communication and any changes as soon as they happen. All the best in your new role!

    Continue reading
  4. "OVO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Free breakfast (and lunch on a Friday) Manager who is keen to help with my development Lots of opportunity to iterate Flexible working - WFH is common

    Cons

    None at the moment

    OVO Energy2020-02-25

    OVO Energy Response

    February 27, 2020The People Team

    Hello! Thanks for taking the time to write a review - awesome to hear you're enjoying working for OVO :) We're you're taking advantage of the flexible working policy - we work hard here, and understand that giving a bit of flex with your working hours can help your work-life balance. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  5. "You have to enjoy the journey!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + always lots going on, lots to get involved in, lots of opportunities + Lovely people + strong purpose

    Cons

    - lots of change and uncertainty - still working on getting some of the basics right

    OVO Energy2020-02-14

    OVO Energy Response

    February 26, 2020The People Team

    Hi there, We're so happy to hear you're enjoying your time here :)! It's great to have you onboard to help drive us towards our goal of zero carbon living and giving great service to all our members. We completely appreciate the amount of change we are going through at the moment is huge, and want to make sure you and other employees feel supported in this. If you have any questions please do pop down to have a chat with us or raise a ticket. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Change Analyst in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have created a good culture

    Cons

    Deciding on and sticking to clear objectives

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-02-11

    OVO Energy Response

    February 26, 2020The People Team

    Hi there, It's great to read your comment about our OVO culture and agree with you that our objectives can keep evolving. Our overall mission, to power human progress with clean affordable energy for everyone, is the reason we need to ensure we are able to keep adapting and responding to external factors that will impact our ability to do this. We need to remain agile so that any internal objectives will progress us closer to our misson. If you wanted to read more about Plan Zero you can find it here > https://www.ovo.com/planzero/ The communications team always try to deliver the most up to date information for everyone in the most appropriate way, but if you do have any suggestions for improvement please do pop down and let us know :) Thanks!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met a handful of great people, free cereal and toast for breakfast

    Cons

    Most of it. Started off great with lots of perks to enjoy and encouragement to learn and acknowledgment for doing well. .While I was there for 2.5 years I had no less than 6 team leaders and at one point my team didn't have an appointed team leader at all because they had left. Unorganised and messy processes both for customer experience and staff experience. The office was always micromanaged but that got worse and worse,. The scorecard was constantly adjusted - the reasoning being that we were hitting targets too easily. The strictness on toilet breaks and wrap time was too much and meant that quite often people were punished for normal human behaviour. The 'cliquey-ness' is obvious from the get go. If you are loud, obnoxious and pretty much unbearable to most then you'll go far. If you are genuinely good at your job, but not part of this crowd then unfortunately you won't. Reviews based on 'putting yourself out there' - unfair to people who do not want to dress up at work or go to the local spoons on every single Friday. CEO has often made bad comments in the Town Hall meetings, the joke about redundancies, and another comment where he denied that there was sexual harrassment happening in the office, even after being told there was by a long email.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-03-05
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Coordinator 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the environment, the flexibility

    Cons

    Reactive, No recognition, removed the bonus scheme

    OVO Energy2020-02-10
  9. "A sudden end but a great path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Nottingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge and development Support Work Environment (Head Office,l

    Cons

    Retail channel was closed - but - Fair redundancies paid even to those not legally bound to pay to. A good measure of an employer is how they treat you once they no longer need you, and Ovo was 5/5

    OVO Energy2020-01-24

    OVO Energy Response

    February 20, 2020The People Team

    Hello, Thanks for the review We're glad to hear you had a good supportive experience with us. We will always look to go above what is required, as we really value our employees at every stage of their journey with us. All the best in your new job :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Weird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location, if you can stand it for 6 months you can doss and get paid for the probation period.

    Cons

    Culty, loud and obnoxious attitude is rewarded,

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-02-16

    OVO Energy Response

    February 26, 2020The People Team

    Hello, We're really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the environment you experienced. We work really hard to have a positive, values-driven culture here. People related decisions are based on merit and performance, and supported by the People team. Popularity does not have a place in that decision making. A few years ago when we managed a small number of redundancies, we were careful to ensure the process was fair and sensitive to those who were affected. We do appreciate that the experience of redundancies is always really hard for everyone. We wish you all the best in your next adventure

    Continue reading
Found 193 reviews