OLG Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

OLG Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 171 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
OLG CEO Stephen Rigby (no image)
Stephen Rigby
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Law Student in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic Team and interesting work

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this position

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    OLG2019-05-22
  2. "Good pay & Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cage & Coin Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Pension. Lots of layers to allow for promotions.

    Cons

    Everything takes for ever. Because there is a manager, senior manager and VP of everything it takes for ever for decisions to be made.

    OLG2019-08-12
  3. "CSR/Ambassador/business developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, meet new people,

    Cons

    Political parties decisions effect Government agencies directly

    OLG2019-08-06
  4. "Happy with the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing - Gaming in North York, ON

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management in my particular line of business had some excellent leaders. Opportunities did present themselves to move around and gain valuable experience.

    Cons

    Red tape of a crown corporation made some work redundant or needless. It's an office job. There is a lot of sitting at desks often at cubicles. It's not necessarily a "con" but a fact that it isn't the best thing for one's mental or physical health.

    OLG2019-07-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst and biased Management and Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Such a biased environment. No flexibilty in terms of Work from home. It is just for Name sake

    Cons

    They talk about change but they don't want to change. They bring employees onboard and then just talk about how they want the employee to change and if the employee asks questions or give feedback, they either demote them or fire them.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to bring change then learn to change yourself first

    OLG2019-09-01
  6. "great pay! depressing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLG part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay and great learning experience with room for growth!

    Cons

    patron activity is very depressing

    OLG2019-07-28
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible work, great work pace, good salaries

    Cons

    lots of red tape

    OLG2019-07-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Government funded but privately run, no need for experience as they'll promote you if you're connected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing team in my department, great benefits, minimum 3 weeks vacation, flex work week

    Cons

    long hours, you have to be in a clique to belong, monthly parking for employees is expensive, pay is low

    Advice to Management

    it's sad that experienced people who are qualified for a role get overlooked because someone with no experience knows the hiring manager or is well connected; shame on upper management to turn a blind eye; stop wasting government money on foolish appointments, hire according to experience - I would have stayed if it didn't operate as a private company

    OLG2019-08-02
  9. "Great Compensation But Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Slot Operations Supervisor in Brantford, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OLG part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money, benefits, some of the people

    Cons

    over-reliance on precarious employment, dishonest, bullying management very clique-ish, not customer-focused, people

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, eliminate the bullying culture and deal with real not "the game"

    OLG2019-07-27
  10. "Making an effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OLG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit package and pension plan

    Cons

    Not very progressive or innovative

    OLG2019-07-12
Found 171 reviews
</>Embed