Northrop Grumman Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4429 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working the 9/80 schedule is wonderful, because you have 3 day weekends every other week(in 344 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance when there is no schedule pressure(in 326 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 121 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman

      Pros

      Very good place to work

      Cons

      No major issues come to mind

      Northrop Grumman2018-07-03
    • "Human Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Northrop Grumman for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Decent base pay and benefits

        Cons

        Continuously changing policies and procedures and changes don't always add value.

        Northrop Grumman2015-08-19
      • "Good job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Military Trainer in Fort Huachuca, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good manager, good benefits, good company.

        Cons

        Your Program manager can make or break your career. It has nothing to do with the company, just your local head honcho.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-17
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Lots of options, good starting job after college

        Cons

        Difficult to promote within department

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-17
      • "Awesome team to be on!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Field Service Representative in Sacramento, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Travel plus per diem on a regular basis is fun, and a flexible schedule is great for family life, and my sanity. Also, my leadership is awesome and supportive.

        Cons

        If you've ever worked for a large company, some of the same cons pop up. With Northrop Grumman, my only complaint is that the benefits are nothing to write home about.

        Advice to Management

        At least for the team I'm on, I will say to keep doing what you're doing! A sign of solid leadership is 0% micro-management, and full trust in the members you selected for your team. Our work quality is so great because we are allowed to do things our own way essentially.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-16
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great company, poor benefits, below industry standard payscale"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Security Coordinator in Rolling Meadows, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Cutting edge technology for one of the top defense contractors in the world.

        Cons

        Below average pay scale compared to industry standard. Healthcare plan options are very expensive. Promotion opportunities from within must apply like external candidates. You have to pass an HR pre-screen, then a phone interview JUST to be considered for a role for a team you are already a part of.

        Advice to Management

        Pull talent from your current pool of employees, if no one fits the bill, then look to external candidates. Invest in your employees compensation wise. Just because the midwest has a limited # of qualified candidates is no excuse to pay below industry minimum.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Decent Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Electro-Optical Engineer 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Stability and benefits are good.

        Cons

        Outdated work environment with little onsite employee perks.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-13
      • "Northrop Grumman"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Logistics Management Analyst in Midwest City, OK
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great Pay, Benefits and People

        Cons

        My Contract does not offer any sick leave, just PTO.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-15
      • "Awesome company to start engineering career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Electrical Engineer 

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

        Pros

        Good Pays, work environment and benefits

        Cons

        Lack of good management, bad at compensating employees

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-12
      • "Good Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Analyst in Leavenworth, KS
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Work-Life Balance, Benefits, reasonable salary

        Cons

        Limited opportunities for advancement. Distant corporate headquarters with different outlook regarding remote sites.

        Northrop Grumman2019-07-09
      Found 4429 reviews