Northland Power Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 29 reviews

3.5
75%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Northland Power President and CEO Mike Crawley
Mike Crawley
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Positive experience overall

    Jun 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary, benefits, great rrsp matching plan. Fairly positive workplace culture and supportive management/colleagues.

    Cons

    A few growing pains as the company expands, but the growth also provides opportunities to gain experience in new areas.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Growing Company

    Apr 3, 2022 - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great corporate culture - Great people, very helpful - Fast growing company so lots to learn - Opportunity to rise in ranks - Good name in the market - Fair compensation with decent benefits

    Cons

    - Due to high growth, human capital thinly spread, leading to difficult work-life balance - Could do much better on compensation and benefits (2 weeks leave for managerial level is quite low)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Work life balance

    Apr 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good industry to work with

    Cons

    No work life balance there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    make an educated decision

    Feb 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    really good benefits - outstanding pension match. head of Board of Directors was previous CEO. most people are really nice, driven, smart. Pauline & Wendy are very smart & taking the company places.

    Cons

    expect long hours, odd hours & little to no work-life balance. in the words of the chief people officer "long hours are expected and the nature of the work we do". jr or sr, does not matter, you will likely work in asia, the eu and the americas. you will have to work extra hours to get the work done b.c. teams are small. if you want to work here b.c. you think the things northland does are cool, really negotiate for a good salary before you go in. you won't have much time to socialize with coworkers w.o. making up the time later. every team is different, but i found this was the experience across the board. verdict: if you are very career-oriented, northland may be perfect for you. if you want a 9-5, look elsewhere.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Good software, bad training

    Jan 27, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good salary, good benefits, good software

    Cons

    micromanaged, bad training, impatient attitude

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent

    Aug 25, 2021 - Maintenance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair wages and good benefits.

    Cons

    Too lean with man power.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Culture, good pay, good benefits. Can be hard to advance.

    Aug 12, 2021 - Finance Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Salary Good Benefits RRSP contributions above average Good culture, great people to work with (many I consider friends) Some very hard working people at the company Senior Management very approachable and appreciate input Management understanding of personal issues (especially curing COVID) Safety and Mental health for employees is important Still has a smaller company feel given its size

    Cons

    Can be slow to make important decisions Can be slow to advance career even if you have strong talent and are a team player (especially when senior managers in are area of interest are not good leaders or managers). Vacation time standard in Ontario (nothing special) Growing pains with the company becoming more global Development teams can be overly optimistic on projects just to get them pushed through which in the long run will not benefit FCF. Lack of accountability in certain departments which sets up others to fail. A small few senior managers should not be in those roles due to incompetency Meetings get in the way of other priorities that require a sense of urgency. (Need better delegation from Senior Management if they are too busy with other objectives)

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    No real direction

    May 26, 2021 - Accounting 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some people are ok/ nice. Opportunity does exist to gain experience in different departments.

    Cons

    Money and benefits are below competition, especially at the manager and below level. People are overworked and poorly rewarded for it and wonder if they enjoy what they are doing. There isn't a real direction or company objective, it just seems they want to acquire, acquire without any real concern for a plan of how it all fits together. Some managers are very rude and not inclusive of others in their language and actions. Limited diversity at manager or higher level, especially in front office/ external facing positions.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Northland Power Response

    Talent Partner

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback! I note your points regarding pay and benefits and while I cannot provide specific details, our reward strategy is important to us and is a key focus in our 5 year plan. We are looking at different ways to evaluate and reward skills, experience, and behavior and will cascade further details through our Management teams as we develop our strategy. I also note your comments regarding your experience with your Manager. We are currently developing some employee feedback tools so that we can listen and respond to our colleagues feedback. Once again, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    good company

    Jan 10, 2021 - Risk Analyst Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My colleagues are really nice, and my manager is a very patient teacher

    Cons

    Didn't see any cons since I'm working from home this year

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    none

    Oct 28, 2020 - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    no pros at all to mention

    Cons

    too many negative culture and micro managing

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Northland Power Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Northland Power? Share Your Experiences

Northland Power logo
or