Nordstrom "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nordstrom Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom CEO Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 684 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 453 reviews)

Cons
  • "Commission can get messed up with returns(in 724 reviews)

  • "Could work long hours/ be asked to stay longer(in 604 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Great company culture! Management gives many opportunities to succeed if you want to. Good benefits for full-time employees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Nordstrom2019-01-25
  2. "Great Company, But on the Sales Floor it's Very 'High School'."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company has impressive values - Company has a great reputation - Ability to create your own pay cheques (but only if your commission is higher than your hourly wage). - HR was very friendly. - Very organized company. - Impressive Training Process. - (Some) Really great co-workers. I truly believe this is a great company with very strong and wonderful values. Once it gets down to the sales floor,... things start to deteriorate.

    Show More

    Cons

    To be clear, I can only speak for my experience at one store and in my department(s), I cannot speak for all of Nordstrom. - Department managers and assistants do not seem fit for management and are very unprofessional. They gossip about employees to other employees right on the sales floor, they choose favourites and treat employees differently, the top sales people are exempt from tasks that are expected and... demanded from other employees. - (Some/most) Top sellers get away with everything, because they are making the company money. A few of them were rude to co-workers, aggressive competitors (not healthy competition), often stole sales from co-workers or tried to, had a poor attitude, were great with customers and made great sales but were not team players and did not put in the effort that other sales associates did. - In the training process you are told to deal with minor employee misunderstandings/conflict on your own before bringing it to management. Which makes sense. You handle your business like a mature and responsible adult. I ended up doing this when I felt it was needed and I was treated differently and rudely by the employee and management. - It was a very 'high school' environment. Lots of gossip, drama and special privilege.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention to who you're promoting to management and pay closer attention to your employees and their experiences. - Only 1 out of 4 department managers and assistants I dealt with daily was a great manager. - Being a top seller does not mean they're "being the best team". If everyone in the department has had a personal issue with this top seller and they have a bad attitude towards co-workers, why are... they being rewarded?

    Show More
    Nordstrom2017-08-07
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with a supportive structure

    Cons

    Friendly competition can cause an environment of envy due to commission based structure

    Nordstrom2017-05-03
  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom

    Pros

    great company, i would recommend

    Cons

    hours are long, discount isnt high enough

    Nordstrom2017-03-18
  5. "Seasonal Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Commission based, great company culture, good training, paid training

    Cons

    Small discount, worked overtime on Christmas eve, commission varies depending on department

    Advice to Management

    Make commission the same throughout departments, get door codes to employees quicker.

    Nordstrom2016-10-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Vancouver Flagship-- not worth the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company to be a part of-- I helped open their flagship - Staff are friendly in every department, great team gatherings - Very high dedication to customer service

    Cons

    - Middle management did not feel supported, therefore the staff did not feel supported by managers.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the staff that are experienced and are making great sales. Don't just focus on problem solving with the staff that are complaining all the time.

    Nordstrom2016-10-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Selling Department Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -discount (even though it is not that good...33% for managers, 20% for sales people) -idealistic goal of company culture -great company to work for if motivated by money -promote from within philosophy -pays well

    Cons

    -managers are ill prepared for the amount of work asked of them/no support when things go wrong-will just get fired/demoted -American company operating in Canada with an American attitude -people are pushed into jobs they are not ready for and then demoted -zero work life balance -the only way to get ahead is to push other people down

    Advice to Management

    to give more support to employees that is actually useful. there are too many managers who dont know what they are doing and are too afraid to ask for help at risk of being fired for not being ready for their job. there needs to be a sense of support and community. It cant be that only the mean/strong survive/get promoted.

    Nordstrom2016-10-02
  8. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Overall company culture and atmosphere is amazing.

    Cons

    Like all retail hours, they are not the best.

    Nordstrom2019-11-04
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, great management

    Cons

    Certain teams can have a political feel

    Nordstrom2019-10-21
  10. "Great opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company culture - so many opportunities to move up in the company and get involved in store events - HR was so easy to work with

    Cons

    - sometimes it was hard to get scheduled a full 40 hours during holiday seasons but other than that nothing bad to say

    Nordstrom2019-09-27
Found 453 reviews