Nordstrom Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nordstrom Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10949 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 672 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 440 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns that hurt your commission(in 705 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing and no flexibility in schedule(in 579 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom, benefits, location, and it’s just a fun place to work

    Cons

    Not being in Thailand

    Nordstrom2019-06-03
  2. "A lot of responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Agent 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good coworkers - Decent pay - Learning and growth opportunities

    Cons

    - Long hours - Hard to have a work/life balance if you have to stay late

    Nordstrom2019-08-18
  3. "Handbag Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met many great people through this job

    Cons

    Goals can be unrealistic

    Nordstrom2019-08-13
  4. "Great company to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary + high commission rates Lots of opportunity to grow with the company They offer decent benefits and have a great pension plan Employees are recognized for their hard work and success. Overall, it's a really great place to work,

    Cons

    Retail Hours The high commission rates make it a fairly competitive work environment, which occasionally causes conflict to arise between employees.

    Nordstrom2019-08-09
  5. "Need strong skin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist Assistant in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Room for advancement Amazing events

    Cons

    Stylists could treat you bad Made you work overtime a lot High turn over rate

    Nordstrom2019-08-12
  6. "YSL -L’Oreal - Counter Sales & Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing management, friendly and lively atmosphere. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Inflexible scheduling and no structured schedules

    Advice to Management

    Help employees with scheduling

    Nordstrom2019-07-24
  7. "An OK company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time

    Pros

    Good team culture, appropriate structure.

    Cons

    Low pay, commission structure isn’t worth it , management has favourites.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time on POS training as well as development in building clientele.

    Nordstrom2019-07-31
  8. "Great for Hard Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    Ability to grow your own business and make your own pay cheque. All the managers really want you to excel and make as much money in your pocket as possible. I was able to work 3 days a week and still built my business to the size I wanted it.

    Cons

    Not a lot of down time, customers can be demanding and don't respect person time off. However, if you're willing to answer texts from customers at 2am because they say some shoes online you can build a client base that will be repeat customers. Returns can be hard if you don't work at them and the off seasons can be really brutal if you only want to rely on foot traffic.

    Advice to Management

    I found the training of new employees on how to build connections and build a businesses was lacking. Also help out employees with their sales without taking some of it.

    Nordstrom2019-07-15
  9. "Great but super boring when nobody ever comes into your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the competitiveness it has, it's not hard to reach your sales goal when you do your job properly. I worked in women's apparel i forgot the department name hehe but it was with coats and affordable clothing. I meet different people from new students looking for affordable interview clothing, working women who want to spice up their closets or men who need help finding the perfect gift.

    Cons

    When they put too many workers on the floor when it's super dry like a Sunday morning...... why do we have 4 employees on the floor of the same department ... when only 5 people have walked in during my 7-hour shift..... also I worked full time and worked so much omg bye

    Advice to Management

    shes cool.

    Nordstrom2019-07-13
  10. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Stylist 

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time

    Pros

    If you buy in to the company you can move up

    Cons

    No transparency, extremely high sales goals, if you don’t make the targets you lose benefits

    Nordstrom2019-07-24
Found 10949 reviews