Nordstrom Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nordstrom Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11138 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom CEO Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
235 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with the best customer service team(in 679 reviews)

  • "Great company morale employees work as a team to help each other(in 450 reviews)

Cons
  • "Returns that hurt your commission(in 716 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing and no flexibility in schedule(in 596 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Stylist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom, benefits, location, and it’s just a fun place to work

    Cons

    Not being in Thailand

    Nordstrom2019-06-03
  2. "Great and always occupied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Menswear Support in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Coworkers -Always occupied -Nice environment and treatment of employees

    Cons

    -Certain times lacking organization among managers

    Advice to Management

    Management could be more organized.

    Nordstrom2019-10-12
  3. "relax environment, competitive, good corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relax environment, competitive, good corporate

    Cons

    pay can be low initially

    Nordstrom2019-09-30
  4. "Job environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work and staffs are nice

    Cons

    Cutting hour. Traffic is not busy

    Nordstrom2019-09-26
  5. "Great Restaurant, Bad Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Etobicoke, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly is regular, not server minimum Great food Good hours Money can be good (tips) -- especially during Christmas Accommodating for students Great discounts on clothes and food

    Cons

    Bad management and HR can't do anything about it Understaffed Overworked Manager doesn't trust staff, treats us like we are incompetent No sympathy or empathy for staff but expects us to have it for him

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Nordstrom2019-10-10
  6. "0"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to work part time

    Cons

    i don't have any for now

    Nordstrom2019-09-24
  7. "Great place to learn bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quiet bar with generally nice people coming in to eat. Customers typically also shop at Nordstrom so they expect a certain quality of service.

    Cons

    Bar itself doesn't see too much action. I averaged $10 in tips per hour, with my best days being $20 per hour in tips and my worst being $4 per hour. Your take home will change seasonally.

    Nordstrom2019-09-16
  8. "Profit driven, but great community of staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at Nordstrom part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers expect excellence in sales, push you to achieve results, supportive community, upbeat environment

    Cons

    Can be overly profit-driven, with competition among sales associates

    Nordstrom2019-09-25
  9. "Psychological warfare. Scandal. Window dressing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with some pretty amazing people that I'm still friends with! If you love to drink the kool-aid, you'll go far in this company.

    Cons

    Lack of integrity from management. Lack of professionalism to the employees from management. Cattiness from upper management. Favouritism. Company doesn't acknowledge when the economy is down and the pressure is unbearable. It isn't this bad at other retailers.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Trust me, the customers can tell when the company has pushed for higher sales. It's uncomfortable as a shopper and it's uncomfortable as an employee. Attitude.

    Nordstrom2019-09-20
  10. "Too much favouritism and no career movement if you’re not liked. It’s not based on experience or the hard work you do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits xx Made good friends Pay rate was ok

    Cons

    Non transparency Favouritism No career movement Inexperience management No HR support at all, clearly not there for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Why bother giving advice!!! They’ll do nothing to protect the front line associates. It’s all about the mighty $$$

    Nordstrom2019-10-09
Found 11138 reviews