Nordstrom Rack Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nordstrom Rack Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1401 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Rack CEO Blake W. Nordstrom (no image)
Blake W. Nordstrom
668 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relatively good pay for an hourly customer service job(in 105 reviews)

  • "20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount(in 64 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time

    Pros

    Excellent training and work experience

    Cons

    No cons, perfect retail environment

    Nordstrom Rack2019-09-18
  2. "Garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Vaughan, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros except for pay

    Cons

    Garbage environment, horrible management, long hours with little reward

    Advice to Management

    Be more straight up with employees, we aren't stupid, so many need to know basis situations arise and employees are left in the dark. Horrible way to run a business because you never know what's happening in the store.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-08-12
  3. "Service Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time

    Pros

    - Wonderful managers who actually can help you grow within the company, if interested - work/life balance - co-workers are all friendly (depending on location) - no "at work" stress, laid back but still fast paced and continuous amounts of work to do - talk to nice customers (1 out of 8 customers tend to be not as nice, but nonetheless you get great customers) - very social and interactive position - employee... discount (works in Nordstrom Full-Line Store as well) - get to see what is heavily discounted before most customers

    Show More

    Cons

    - a few moments of micro-management, but depending on who is the MIC that day - towards holidays it can get extremely busy - the uniforms can be more appealing

    Nordstrom Rack2019-04-02
  4. "Busy retail store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Experience Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time

    Pros

    Can find good deals, decent employee discount, and great managers

    Cons

    You can have no life. You can be mentally and physically drained at the end of a shift

    Nordstrom Rack2018-12-05
  5. "Huge favouritism, minimum break, work hard and no life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good pay for for retailer

    Cons

    -they expected that the company will be your house - disorganized: many people teaching you different things in different ways - a lot of managers of nothing - favouritism - long time working with minimal breaks -everything happens at the same time

    Advice to Management

    -decide how to do internal processes in the same way. Do not be contradictory

    Nordstrom Rack2018-11-13
  6. "Best in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack

    Pros

    Compensation is competitive, promote from within structure.

    Cons

    High expectations, must have schedule flexibility.

    Nordstrom Rack2018-07-12
  7. "Great casual environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Experience Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Easygoing work environment - Great staff leaders, opportunities for promotions - The only uniform is the green shirt, you can pair with a nice jacket and shoes - 20% off employee discount at Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack

    Cons

    - No strict policies against customers, one employee standard may differ from another when it comes to accepting returns - Very busy location on weekends, becomes crowded and messy

    Advice to Management

    Keep better track of employee schedules/break times that way we don't become understaffed or end up working overtime.

    Nordstrom Rack2018-05-08
  8. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    well organized, nice to every employees

    Cons

    too far away from my house

    Nordstrom Rack2018-03-15
  9. "NR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time

    Pros

    Very fast paced retail industry

    Cons

    Customers can be rude

    Nordstrom Rack2019-10-11
  10. "Friendly Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Srvice Experience in Flushing, NY

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The managers are very friendly Flexible schedules Opportunity to grow and learn more about the retail world Supportive staff

    Cons

    Not really bad cons, just a personal experience because of my hectic schedule. It can get overwhelming, but everyone is there to support each other <3 Managers may or may not push about application you to convince customers about applications, but in return managers are very helpful when it comes to difficult times.

    Advice to Management

    Relax and take it easy.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-10-08
Found 1401 reviews