Nitrogen Studios Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Nitrogen Studios President & CEO Nicole Stinn (no image)
Nicole Stinn
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Loved my time here. Sad to hear they no longer exist

    Sep 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun crew and fun projects.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Good

    Aug 28, 2020 - Pipeline Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, Community, Room for growth

    Cons

    hours, pressure, limited resources to learn from

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    I didn't like it. Hire some kind people.... Worst job ever.

    Mar 22, 2014 - Render Wrangler in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I am aware of.

    Cons

    Weird people. I feel like the management doesn't treat everyone equally. They don't pay well at all. The studio is located in a poor locations just outside of downtown Vancouver near Main & Hastings which is the worst area in the city full of homeless people and drug addicts. Very scary. This place is soooooooo disorganized - Oh my Lord. I'm still surprised this place exists. Nicole takes care of the hiring, she's the owner or something but when it comes to picking up the phone - she will never pick it up. Seriously.... This place is just weird. I didn't even make any friends. And people just kept telling on each other behind their back. It kinda reminded me of a kindergarden.... I remember this one time I went to the kitchen to make a tea and I got crap for it because I wan't working and I was wasting my time in the kitchen. HELLLLOOO I was making a tea..... Am not allowed to go to the bathroom ? Do i have to punch out when I need to pee ? and then punch in when I'm done.... Conclusion - this place is a joke...

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good place for working

    Nov 29, 2014 - Junior FX Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working at Nitrogen Studios. They are kind and caring people working there. Pay is average.

    Cons

    It's located in very bad part of the city. There are mostly homeless ppl around there.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Experience

    Dec 14, 2016 - Compositor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talented co-workers with good opportunities for learning and improving skills. I especially like that everyone is encouraged and expected to be responsible for their own work getting done, when any issues arose the senior staff were very helpful, accommodating and considerate to individuals requirements when needed. Flexible relaxed atmosphere with good facilities and general camaraderie amongst the staff. Good spacious working environment and cool projects also.

    Cons

    I did not find any cons working at Nitrogen Studios

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Artist

    Nov 30, 2016 - Animation Artist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked here for a few years and I am very happy. Management has been very understanding when I have had to take unexpected time off work for family matters. The people who work here are all great, and the ones that aren't usually weed themselves out. I enjoy coming to work everyday, and I get paid well.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Better than expected

    May 17, 2016 - Art Department 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great pay - very talented folk to work with - great working space - exciting projects

    Cons

    - contract only (no stability) - location is a bit too secluded - not enough projects to fill the gaps between contracts

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Jan 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy working at Nitrogen, it is an awesome studio with a relaxed atmosphere and it's full of awesome, talented people. Management is approachable and down-to-earth. The projects are really cool. The studio itself is a great office space, full of character - and there's a rooftop patio!

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons working at Nitrogen.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Terribly run studio

    Feb 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hours and a fairly interesting project to work on. Studio is spacious with updated workstations. Location has gotten better with more cafes and restaurants in the area.

    Cons

    Top management has no experience running a studio. Turnover is severe creating a general feeling of instability. Lack of effective planning and no leadership constantly jeopardizes work delivery. Unprofessional behavior by senior staff is tolerated by management leaving artist to fend for themselves. Poorly implemented pipeline holds back artists on a daily bases.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    do your best to avoid this place

    Feb 15, 2016 - Animator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    as in any place, most of the co workers are pretty good people. the work space is nice. there's a large dining room with a pool table which is nice.

    Cons

    company culture is horrible. key characters in mid and upper management are troublesome. people constantly quit this place for a good reason.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Work at Nitrogen Studios? Share Your Experiences

Nitrogen Studios logo
or