Nile Academy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nile Academy Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Saadettin Ozcan
7 Ratings
  1. "Happy working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nile Academy full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, everybody are helping each other. Administration take care all staff.

    Cons

    Overload and carrying multiple job titles and functions on one persons shoulder is making it hard to work.

    Advice to Management

    Support your team fairly

    Nile Academy2017-11-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Human Rights Violations -avoid!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nile Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other new teachers became friends

    Cons

    At the boys’ school, female teachers faced daily sexual, verbal, and emotional harassment from the students and the management victim-blamed them and told them to “wear longer skirts” (longer than knee-length). Male teachers are respected and are allowed to get away with behaviour (yelling at students) that the women were swiftly penalized for. Toxic environment for women -avoid!!

    Advice to Management

    Learn to appropriately support female teachers and stop being sexist

    Nile Academy2018-12-02
  3. "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nile Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, like one big family, positive work environment, supportive administration. Great place to start your career. I worked there for 2 years and I miss it!

    Cons

    It's a non-profit organization so you can't expect a huge salary.

    Nile Academy2017-10-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Science Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nile Academy

    Pros

    Very friendly environment. Administration is very suportive, and will try everything to help you out along the way.

    Cons

    Some students are new to English and it can be challenging at times to communicate or teach.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Nile Academy2015-03-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Supportive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nile Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am part of the administration at Nile Academy. I have had a wonderful experience with this school. The staff is supportive and understanding. These are the best hours I have had at a full-time job. Some of the students can at times be taxing on ones patience but I suppose that would be the case at any school. Overall though the students here are polite and well-behaved. They make the work here fulfilling. The team...

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay could always be better. Even though there aren't the usual benefits of healthcare and such the management is very understanding and tries to help as much as possible.

    Advice to Management

    A clear cut method of dealing with student disciplinary issues will be a great plus at the Academy.

    Nile Academy2015-01-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for begginers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nile Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I needed some teaching experience to find a job at TDSB. Private schools are best to get experience to start to a career.

    Cons

    School was small and students were kinda hard to manage first months but at the end I got it done.

    Advice to Management

    More wages if possible, and may be closer to the staff!

    Nile Academy2015-01-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great working environment but the wage is too low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nile Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The administration is willing to support any teacher that is committed to Nile Academy and the teaching profession. I am shocked at some of the comments that have been made. These are a few disgruntled teachers who have chosen teaching because they did not have any other choice. Everyone was made aware of what they would earn. To use this and attempt to tarnish the reputation of the school is not cool. I know that many...

    Show More

    Cons

    - You are expected to be at the school up uptil 4:30 - 5 pm to provide additional assistance to students. - Wages are not very good (roughly net monthly income is around $ 2500-2900).

    Advice to Management

    They need to build a stronger relationship with their staff.

    Nile Academy2014-08-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Happy to teach here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nile Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    students and parents respect teachers. administration has an open door policy. they conduct weekly school improvement meetings. a lot of social activity programs for teachers and employees. small classroom sizes.

    Cons

    no benefit, a bit less salary.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the communication with employees, teachers like it.

    Nile Academy2014-05-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible administration with no communication among them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Nile Academy

      Pros

      None - Don't be fooled for the school's "beautiful" exterior. it's all a front and it's fake.

      Cons

      This is more of a business than an actual school. Minimum wages for the teachers and expects the teachers to work over time with NO pay! It's a zoo of a school.

      Advice to Management

      If you treat your teachers like crap, you'll be treated like crap. Learn to control your children and respect for your staff.

      Nile Academy2014-01-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Very Friendly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Nile Academy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Teachers, and administrators are very friendly. Small classroom sizes gives you an opportunity to interact with all students in the class. Apparently, this year for the first time ESL students and students with special needs are being addressed individually. I liked how during the Interview the employers put all the conditions in front of you so there are no surprises later.

      Cons

      Mostly here at Nile Academy everything is ok, the students here are more respectful, However some of the need a little extra attention and assistance on their academics. More hours on ESL and Spec Ed. would be perfect.

      Advice to Management

      To work closer with the teachers, i. e. a close Communication is very important.

      Nile Academy2013-04-01
    Found 11 reviews