Nexonia Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nexonia Inc. Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Nexonia Inc. CEO Bob Neveu (no image)
Bob Neveu
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere to work in along with great people(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "If working at a fast-paced SaaS company was easy, there would be no challenge left(in 4 reviews)

  • "Newly acquired company, good luck with the integration - hope none of you are also let go(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great company! Awesome culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Nexonia Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Fun culture & supportive management.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep all lines of communication open.

    Nexonia Inc.2019-07-30

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    August 15, 2019Employee Success Manager

    Hi there! Thanks so much for your feedback. We have worked so hard over the last year to bring our culture to an incredible place. We love seeing employees succeed and will continue to work towards that. Keep up the good work! Thanks, Ania

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Supportive Leadership Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Nexonia is an amazing place to work if you want your creativity to shine. No need to worry about micro-management and other minor things that hinder progress and choke creativity. Leadership is very open to hearing your views and challenges and the ideas that you have to make things better. They will work with you as well to support your future endeavors. If you're up for an exciting challenge and willing to learn... in a fast-paced environment, this is the place to be!

    Show More

    Cons

    Construction in the surrounding environs.

    Advice to Management

    I think just continue to keep the doors of communication open. A lot of changes are happening very fast and the transparency is definitely needed in these times.

    Nexonia Inc.2019-07-24

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    July 26, 2019Employee Success Manager

    I couldn't have said it better myself, Nexonia is an incredible place to work! We hope that everyone who comes onboard is able to take advantage of all the perks that we offer our employees. Your feedback is so important to our continued success in the spend management space, as we continue to grow our office with different brands open communication continue to be the key to our success. We encourage everyone to take their careers at Nexonia as an opportunity to learn and become outstanding professionals. Keep up the great work! Thanks, Ania

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not impressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Good way to launch your career if you just graduated Laidback atmosphere with friendly coworkers Decent benefits and free perks at work like snacks

    Cons

    Mismanagement. Issues don't get addressed and it seems like management 50/50 ignores/doesn't understand obvious issues Lack of transparency. Difficult to get any insight how or why decisions are made. if you ask for more information you usually get a bunch of jargon High turnover. People treat this company as a stepping stone and many leave after 1-2 years so all their experience goes out the window and their... department has to scramble to catch up when they leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People don't feel comfortable coming to management with issues that affect their day to day work. Nexonia talks the talk of being open to employee feedback but doesnt walk the walk. Suggestions fizzle out or are waved away. If you as a company want your employees to feel supported then make an actual effort to hear them out and remove obstacles that affect their work. Otherwise you are just making them more likely... to go looking for opportunities elsewhere

    Show More
    Nexonia Inc.2019-07-29

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    August 15, 2019Employee Success Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback on Nexonia. We really do have a phenomenal group of employees. Please take advantage of ask leadership sessions and all hands meetings to get more insight into the company and direction. We have seen a significant improvement on the retention rate in the past 6 months. Our employees continue to embrace change, one of our core values, and our management team is actively seeking to address the challenges and work toward solutions. I encourage you to talk to the employees success team if you feel like you need more support with getting your suggestions heard. Thanks, Ania

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Can be much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good learning platform for new employees just entering the labour market

    Cons

    poor decisions by management, too much micro management, no bonus, no promotions.

    Advice to Management

    start over

    Nexonia Inc.2019-07-12

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    August 15, 2019Employee Success Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review with Nexonia. I am sorry to hear that you have a negative outlook on our company. There are so many amazing things happening in our company at the moment. I encourage you to talk to a member of our Employee Success team to talk about ways we can get you more involved. Please also come talk to us about your manager as we work really hard to ensure that all employees are being managed appropriately and would love to improve your relationship with your manager. Thanks, Ania

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nexonia Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and opportunities for advancement. Nexonia (and the parent company) does believe in hiring from within whenever possible. Very generous with kitchen snacks, beer on Fridays and other perks. There is also an excellent RRSP matching plan.

    Cons

    Can't think of many at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Nexonia Inc.2019-02-15

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    February 21, 2019Employee Success Manager

    We love seeing employees grow and develop, hiring them internally is a great way for us to do that. Additionally, we truly believe in supporting our employees through various perks and incentive programs. Keep utilizing those! We look forward to seeing you grow your career at Nexonia. Ania

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Expert in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nexonia Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nexonia is a very friendly and amazing place to work at. The whole team made sure I felt welcome from the day i started work and helped a lot as I was new in town. Everyone I had worked/interacted with was very friendly,resourceful and always ready to help beyond expectation. The leadership team is a great example for others to follow in terms of interaction, access and guidance.

    Cons

    Cant think of any from my experience

    Advice to Management

    The friendly and approachable environment makes it a great place to work along with a fantastic workforce. Best of the talent deserves to be rewarded more often in my opinion.

    Nexonia Inc.2019-01-10

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    February 21, 2019HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our people are our biggest asset, we look forward to your continued success in our company. Please continue to be open about your experience and we look forward to improving our reward programs to be more valuable to our employees. Ania

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Nexonia Team is a warm, friendly and hard-working bunch. I was made to feel at home from day 1. The SLT are demonstrably interested and invested in making sure that they are accessable to their employees and that their employees have the tools they need to thrive and grow within the company. Everyone I've worked with has been friendly and willing to help however they can. This is a team that works hard and... has fun doing it.

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Nexonia Inc.2018-09-20

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    October 3, 2018HR Generalist

    Thanks for sharing. Our team is really our best asset, the people who work here are fantastic and incredibly resilient. Their warm welcoming attitude really helps new employees feel at home. Keep up the great work. ~Ania

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Layoffs in Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nexonia Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues- We were a big family of tech professionals working together. Everyone of us was working for the company’s best interest.

    Cons

    Unstable company. Self-centric SLT. No vision. The big layoffs from Montreal were handled poorly. People treated without dignity and respect after they dedicated many extra hours to the company.

    Nexonia Inc.2018-09-24

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    October 3, 2018HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing. As you may know these layoffs happened almost two years ago, I am really sorry to hear that you experienced them. It's taken some time, but we've managed to come out those dark days with a very strong engineering culture. Lead by an outstanding VP the Montreal team is really supported and extremely focused on best practices to ensure that those types of layoffs never happen again. All the best, ~Ania

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great company; great team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexonia Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having left a very corporate culture after having been there for a very long time, I am pleased to say I have found an awesome work-home in Nexonia. The team is great; there is always a good time to be had in this office. Management has always looked out for my best interests since I started--I've been quite vocal about stating my goals and none of them have shied away from helping me get there; in fact, I've been... encouraged to push forward. It's not always work and no play at Nexonia - we have a great social aspect too: Social Fridays, plenty of after work activities and company-wide recognition once a month.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working for a company undergoing a growth phase can be a bit scary, but I can assure you, I've always known where I stand since I got here. The open door policy our company has makes it easy for me to ask any questions about how changes will impact me and I trust that they have always provided the best answer.

    Advice to Management

    I had been working for a very well established company before coming here - the change was a big one for me as I had been comfortable for so long. I just want to say a very sincere thank you for making me feel at home here so quickly and for making yourselves available anytime I've asked; it has not gone unnoticed.

    Nexonia Inc.2018-08-29

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    October 3, 2018HR Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your experience thus far. We really do make sure that our team gets a chance to socialize and unwind after the day ends. We are planning some fun Friday events for the remainder of the year so keep an eye out for those. Our employees are our most important tool in growing the business, without your hard work we would not be as successful as we are today. Thank you for all your dedication and we look forward to seeing you shine within the company. ~Ania

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A dark side of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nexonia Inc. full-time

    Pros

    The start was encouraging. A few smart and humble leaders along with a promising future. Short experience.

    Cons

    Regardless the extra hours, leaders would always have a way to show that the work we put in was not enough. That the software was collapsing because we were not structured enough. We were not good enough. The changes were stressful and we were afraid for our jobs. Being the only financial provider in my family I was very dedicated to my job. The lack of communication put my entire family under pressure. Because... leaders were promising too much, I did not look for a new job. My mistake. I should have done that and protect my loved ones from going through a though time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Act with maturité. I am a part of the layoffs. Because of them I suffered from depression for 6 months. I could have started a légal action against the company. My lawyer had many wonderful ideas to put me in a winning position but I preferred to focus on my future and not on this horrible company. A former colleague, who knows about my struggle, told me about the immature response from hr in regards to the... layoffs and I just want to wish only pleasant expériences to whom is writing these messages. I hope you’ll never have to struggle like I did and I hope next time you write a message, you will show more compassion. Don’t forget that you are humans working with humans for humans.

    Show More
    Nexonia Inc.2018-10-15

    Nexonia Inc. Response

    October 25, 2018Director of Employee Success

    We’re sorry to hear that you experienced the layoff while at Nexonia. We certainly do feel empathy for anyone that has had to go through such an unfortunate occurrence. We continue to grow and learn from our past. As such, there have been many changes in the company since that time and we continue to work towards creating positive experiences for our employees. Again, we’re sorry that you went through this event and do not want to downplay its significance. Best, Danielle

    Show Less
Found 73 reviews